We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sychnant Pass Country House
Ranked #4 of 21 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good weekend break”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Arrived late on Friday evening after long slow journey, and were met by Hugh who made sure we sorted our meal as it was nearly 8 and dinner finished at 8. Showed us to our room (11) which was a super room with very large bed, large bathroom with double basin, showers and spa bath, nice lounge area and small kitchen tea making room. it also had a nice balcony with table and chairs but not for us to us on a cool April rainy weekend.
Meal on Friday night was very good if slightly expensive. Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday was fine although the start time for breakfast is on the later side if you wanted to be up and out early.
Altogether and good relaxing weekend break in a quiet well appointed hotel set in a lovely quiet rural location. We used the pool on Sunday morning as breakfast did not start until 9, so had time to swim first. I would stay again but set off from home much earlier to avoid arriving stressed out, and would also look to obtain a better deal if available. Hugh did his best to make sure all went smoothly too.

Room Tip: Room 11 is large and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a review on Trip Advisor and we are glad that you liked your room. It is our best room and so priced accordingly.

As you say, breakfast is served from 8.30am on weekdays and 9am on Sundays, but we are always happy to accommodate people who would like an earlier start time if they want to get off early and we're sorry if we didn't make this clear to you when you arrived. Hopefully, we can remedy this another time.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again and do certainly give Hugh a call as we do like to offer good deals for returning visitors who book with us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    46
    12
    16
    4
See reviews for
50
152
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

What a lovely hotel set in the countryside. We stayed for one night. We stayed in room 3 which had massive king size bed, spa bath in bathroom and private decking with private hot tub!
We had an evening meal which was 5*, could not fault anything, the waitress was lovely and pleasant.
Thanks to Hugh, Janet and Diane for making our stay magical..
Would definitely go back here!
Many thanks again sera and marc

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

What a beautiful house and what a warm welcome! Hugh and Janet are very hospitable making guests feel exceedingly welcome in their home. With the support of Diane (front of house) and Gareth (fab new chef) they create a very special atmosphere that we will have to return to and enjoy again. The children (15 & 11) had such a great time they persuaded us to stay an additional night so that they could make full use of the pool & hot tub.
Many thanks from us all. Sarah.

I would like to thank Hugh, Janet and Diane for a lovely stay. The hospitality was outstanding, food impeccable and setting phenomenal! Now, I can tell you that, as a family we're not big walkers at all, but the walk we went on around the corner, up the road was amazing. Within the first couple of hours of our stay, my brother and I were already planning our return. I recommend Sychnant Pass House to anyone.
AmyBeth, aged 15

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacraeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend whilst my husband was recovering from a stay in hospital.
We were met by the owner Hugh who was very welcoming and helpful to us both.
The weekend weather was very windy and freezing as it was January, but what a joy to be swimming in the lovely heated swimming pool looking out through the windows at the storm.
There is also a gym and hot pool..
The whole weekend was wonderful and the house itself is full of character and charm, especially the log fire, sitting sipping a lovely glass of wine.
We did not have dinner there, as we were meeting friends,but the menu looked superb and hope to try it next time we come.
A big thank you to Hugh and all the staff for making that weekend very special, especially for my husband.
Dont want to tell too many people about this wonderful hideaway, but it very much worth a visit for relaxation.
Best Wishes
Teresa
Liverpool

Room Tip: check rooms on internet before if you need to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
So glad you enjoyed the weekend here. I do remember your stay and hope Kevin continues to do well. We have a new chef now, so it's especially worth your while eating here next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked for two nights between Christmas and New Year. Our room was very spacious and clean. We used the leisure facilities, but the indoor pool was barely warm. Not very inviting. However, the real fun started on the first evening. My wife went to shower before dinner, and the water was cold. We contacted reception who advised us to wait for half hour or so. Which we did but the water was still cold. Time was moving on, and we contacted reception again. We were then given access to another room at the front of the hotel (which apaprently was on a separate boiler to the rooms at the rear). Not exactly ideal, but better than nothing.
When we finally got down for dinner, we were greeted with only three choices for main course (not what I expected for £220 per night cost). To make it worse, we were advised that the pork dish was no longer avaialble, and the choice was either chicken or salmon. We both chose chicken, only to be further advised that there was only one chicken left. When I complained, the waitress said we were down late for dinner!
Needless to say, we cancelled the second night and promptly left the next morning. All in all very upsetting and well below acceptable.
The owner did offer to pay our bar bill on the basis that we did not put a note on Tripadvisor. Sometimes matters have to be aired and it is unfair on others who follow if you don't point these things out

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen-Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We always welcome accurate reviews and, sadly for us, many of your comments are accurate.

It's true that the swimming pool temperature was cooler than we would have liked due to a problem with the heat exchanger. Unfortunately, it was impossible to get the necessary parts between Christmas and New Year but we were able to remedy the situation early in January and the swimming pool temperature is now around the 30C.

We were at a loss to understand why you weren't getting hot water and think that the problem may have been related to the issues with the swimming pool heat exchanger coupled with excessive demand for hot water late afternoon/early evening. The plumber has checked the system since and found no problems. We agree that using a room at the front of the hotel wasn't ideal, but in the circumstances, it was the best solution that we could offer.

We are also very sorry if the dinner wasn't up to our usual high standard. Our 5-course menu changes daily and guests are usually able to choose from a choice of 5 starters, 5 main courses and 5 desserts.

The comment that isn't accurate is the comment that we picked up the bar bill on the basis that you did not put a note on Tripadvisor. This is not our policy and never has been. We picked up the bar bill as some small compensation for the disappointment of your stay. All we ever ask of our guests is that they leave accurate remarks on Trip Advisor.

We are aware that your stay was a disappointment and that the standard you experienced on that occasion was well below what is acceptable. We are sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights for our first anniversary and are already planning on coming back later in the year. The house is set in beautiful grounds with breathtaking views. Hugh and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful, absolutely charming. The evening meal was absolutely delicious. The pool and hot tub were great. Our room was comfy and spacious. We couldn't have picked a better place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliepeed11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your review. It was lovely having you here - you brought such beautiful weather with you that you can definitely come again! (PS you don't have to wait until your next anniversary before you come back. Call us direct for a good deal.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Sychnant Pass with our two young girls. Our room was excellent, the adjoining sitting room turning into a seperate room for the. Lovely swimming pool with first class changing rooms (even down to the heated floors!). Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, very glad we dined in! The cooked breakfast was just the start we needed the next day - one of the tastiest for a long time.

We'll certainly be heading back to Conwy and Sychnant Pass.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
1.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,080 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,462 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
921 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sychnant Pass Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sychnant Pass Country House

Property: Sychnant Pass Country House
Address: Sychnant Pass House Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy LL32 8BJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sychnant Pass Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Edwardian country house is set in 3 acres of grounds with leisure facilities which includes swimming pool, sauna, gym and outdoor hot tub. We have charging points for electric cars and ample off-street parking. Situated in the Snowdonia National Park, we are in the heart of the countryside and yet only 1.5 Miles from the historic town of Conwy and less than 15 minutes' drive from the seaside resort of Llandudno (voted top UK seaside resort on Trip Advisor). We are easily accessible and well placed for both business and leisure stays. Our candlelit restaurant is highly recommended and is open 7 nights as week to residents and non-residents alike. Our seasonal menu offers a choice of starters, main courses and desserts and the food is freshly cooked to order, using local ingredients wherever possible. We can offer a great wine list to complement your food. Our location is convenient for Conwy, Llandudno, Bodnant Gardens, Mount Snowdon, Anglesey and we are a very useful stopping off point for those travelling to the Holyhead ferry terminal. Outdoor pursuits of walking, golf, mountain biking are all on our doorstep and just a short drive away, you will find the longest zip-wire in Europe and the only indoor surf resort at Surf Snowdonia - as well as plenty of other outdoor activities to enjoy. Alternatively, you can just curl up with a good book in our comfortable lounge! A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sychnant Pass Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sychnant Pass House Hotel Conwy
Sychnant Pass Country House Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing