We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sychnant Pass Country House
Ranked #3 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel is billed (and priced) as luxurious, but it really does not live up to it.

We received a very nice welcome and the food was really good. The rooms were large and at first glance looked lovely with mostly nice furnishings, but on closer inspection were in a poor state of repair and clean in some places yet very dirty in others.

We had a Hot Tub on our balcony but it looked so filthy we didn't dare use it. There was a whole labyrinth of cobwebs in the bathroom, the curtain poles where hanging off the walls and the fridge looked like it needed to be skipped. The sofa bed was so very uncomfortable too.

The changing rooms for the pool were lovely with nice toiletries, but often no towels. The pool was rather dirty especially the patio doors, the whole place just felt like it needed a good clean.

We had two pre school children with us who behaved impeccably, but I felt that they weren't overly welcome, there was nothing suitable on the menu for them, the meals time was far too late for them and service too slow. We tried going down 15mins earlier than the earliest 7pm seating, and asked for the children's food to come with the starters, yet still the children got nothing to eat till 7.45pm when they would normally be in bed. At breakfast on the last full day we were offered something different for the children to eat at dinner - a pasta dish, we said yes please, a plain pasta bolognaise would be perfect, but they couldn't do that so they served what tasted like pasta in Heinz tomato soup and they still had to wait till after we had our starters to have it. The kids did enjoy it though!

There were some nice touches, I really liked the cheese board and coffee in the lounge during the late evening and the location is beautiful, remote and great for walkers.

I stay in a lot of hotels with work and for holidays and this was the most expensive I've ever stayed in yet certainly nowhere near the quality of other far cheaper hotels.

If you are an older couple looking for a relaxing, quiet, very traditional get away in a beautiful setting with nice food and you can turn a blind eye to the dirt, this would suit. But it really wasn't worth the cost for a young family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank feebeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay and that you found us in a poor state of repair and "dirty".

We are puzzled by your statement that the "curtain poles were hanging off the walls". We have had problems with the curtain poles in that room but they were repaired some weeks before your visit and I have since checked the room and they are still firmly attached to the walls! I do wish you had mentioned this during your stay so that I was able to see precisely what the problem was and fixed it for you. Likewise with the cobwebs in the bathroom. These are one of the downsides of living in a rural location. We do try to keep on top of the problem, but clearly didn't meet expectations on this occasion. Again, it would have been helpful if you had mentioned it at the time as we could have resolved the problem promptly.

The hot tub is emptied, cleaned, refilled and a new chlorine tablet put in before every new check-in and yours was no exception. Certainly, the cover is a little tatty and has been damaged; we have ordered a replacement and are awaiting delivery of a new one. Our swimming pool is chlorinated and checked several times daily. The "dirt" is probably the minute particles of slate which are deposited in the pool by swimmers. These are unsightly, but harmless. The paint is peeling off the walls and is unsightly. We are taking steps to remedy this too but we have to await the quieter season before embarking on the work required.

All our food is freshly cooked on the premises to order and so will take longer to prepare and serve than pre-packed microwaved food. It is all locally sourced too. We don't have many pre-school children in the restaurant but if booked in advance, we can provide an earlier "high tea" if required. Again, I'm sorry you didn't mention this to us at the time.

I am sorry that you found us expensive. We are competitively priced with our local neighbours and we include with that use of our swimming pool, hot tub, sauna and gym - facilities which other local establishments can't offer. We also have free on-site parking, free wi-fi and three acres of grounds to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed six nights here, but it seemed much longer! It was such a lovely atmosphere, so relaxing, with the pool, gym and hot tub if you wanted them, that the relaxation achieved was like a much longer holiday. And the food....! Just delightful, I think I can truthfully say that I not eaten better meals anywhere. Not huge plates groaning, but beautifully presented balanced dishes that left us feeling fully satisfied and looking forward to the next evening's treat. Hugh, Janet and the staff were all so helpful and friendly without being in the least bit overbearing. They have got the balance just right, which makes for a perfect break away. We'll be back.

Room Tip: A room with your own private hot-tub might be fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were only here for one night but it was enough to know we will definitely be back many more times! The room was exceptionally clean and tidy, the facilities were top notch. This is the first time I have stayed in a hotel where the room (Room 12) had a hot tub and now I wouldn't have it any other way! I can highly recommend this hotel if you want to get away from civilisation but still want a short(ish) drive in to a beautiful town such as Conwy.

Room Tip: Room 12 is very private and very comfortable, It has beautiful views of the heather on the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will_Curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Rm 12 is a popular room and we're glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This time yesterday we were sitting in your hot tub looking out over the hills! Just wanted to say thankyou for a wonderful two day stay at Sychnant pass country hotel, what a lovely place, we were made to feel very welcome by Hugh and the rest of the staff, excellent food and facilities at hotel. Hope to come back soon.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Glad you enjoyed your time here. The views from the hot tub are great at this time of year with the heather and gorse on the hills. They're stunning. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed one night on the 10th of July, cannot recommend this hotel enough. Relaxing friendly excellent food,Huw the owner couldnt do enough for you. Views are lovely,Sitting in the hot tub in the drizzle just total relaxation.Lovely walks nearby as long or as short as you want. Conwy just minutes away .Visited the new Welsh food centre near Bodnant good local produce and not that expensive. Will definitley visit this hotel again best Ive stayed at yet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatlefanAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, General Manager at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay. And we agree totally about the new Welsh food centre near Bodnant - it's a great place to visit for locally sourced produce. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We came away for two nights to Sychnant Pass, and hope to visit again soon. The room was lovely (no. 10), peaceful and felt very private, and even has a mini-kitchen. After a busy few weeks it was just the right place to rest, swim, enjoy lovely local walking and the grounds of the hotel. Not to mention the food...great choices on the menu and obviously a lot of care went into planning it. Even down to little things like the yoghurts at breakfast - sounds crazy, but they are amazing! Diane merits a special mention, she went out of her way to make sure we were looked after. Great room, exceptional service and lovely food, a perfect mini-break.

Room Tip: I would ask for room ten, good size, nice bathroom with jacuzzi and mini-kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry I was't able to be around for your second night, but glad that Diane looked after you so well. I knew she would. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We have been a couple of times now and we always look forward to our returns. We have stayed in room 3 each time and its great. Cant fault the place. The Owner Hugh is a gem. He tries his best and Its working. I know he has plans for the place and is slowly getting through them. The room is always spotless and you do get the feel of being away from it all. But its only a short trip into town and that has its quaintness. But here at sychants pass we have always felt a home from home. He said next time book direct with him (Hugh) and we plan too. Just had a busy few months .... so expect the call.
The hot tub is great and the whirlpool bath. The room is large and has a couple of odd floorboards under the carpet that we think are sweet. The swimming pool and spa are clean and how often do you get to sit in a large hot tub looking at fields. Every time we have gone you do feel like the only guest. But then at breakfast your surprised to see many. Oh breakfast. Nice. Very nice. Any problems er to nit pick.... which I really feel I am. The decking outside in room 3 needs cleaning (which I know is hard) or some kinda surface to stop you slipping.
Me and my partner have not told Friends/ family the details to this place because we want it to ourselves. I think that says it all. It is rare to come across a hidden gem and this is one that I for one want kept secret. Well done to all the staff at Synchants Pass. Well done to you the reader for finding it.
I really cant see how you can be disappointed. Hugh is a man that wants to help and make it a special place. It is.

Room Tip: The extra money for a hot tub is worth it if you want to unwind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasieworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Thank you very much for your posting. I totally agree with your "nit picking" - so much so that back in April, we had the decking thoroughly cleaned and treated with a non-slip solution and it's now looking ten times better - and is much safer too

Er, I have also dealt with the odd floorboards under the carpet - so I hope that doesn't disappoint you when you next visit. Yes, we do have plans for this place - and as you've noticed we are slowly, slowly making improvements. Looking forward to seeing you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
1.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
404 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,792 reviews
3 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sychnant Pass Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sychnant Pass Country House

Address: Sychnant Pass House Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy LL32 8BJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range: £113 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sychnant Pass Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Edwardian country house is set in 3 acres of grounds with leisure facilities which includes swimming pool, sauna, gym and outdoor hot tub. We have charging points for electric cars and ample off-street parking. Situated in the Snowdonia National Park, we are in the heart of the countryside and yet only 1.5 Miles from the historic town of Conwy and less than 15 minutes' drive from the seaside resort of Llandudno (voted top UK seaside resort on Trip Advisor). We are easily accessible and well placed for both business and leisure stays. Our candlelit restaurant is highly recommended and is open 7 nights as week to residents and non-residents alike. Our seasonal menu offers a choice of starters, main courses and desserts and the food is freshly cooked to order, using local ingredients wherever possible. We can offer a great wine list to complement your food. Our location is convenient for Conwy, Llandudno, Bodnant Gardens, Mount Snowdon, Anglesey and we are a very useful stopping off point for those travelling to the Holyhead ferry terminal. Outdoor pursuits of walking, golf, mountain biking are all on our doorstep and just a short drive away, you will find the longest zip-wire in Europe and the only indoor surf resort at Surf Snowdonia - as well as plenty of other outdoor activities to enjoy. Alternatively, you can just curl up with a good book in our comfortable lounge! A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sychnant Pass Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sychnant Pass House Hotel Conwy
Sychnant Pass Country House Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing