We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome, Beautiful location, let down by room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sychnant Pass Country House
Ranked #4 of 21 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome, Beautiful location, let down by room”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Here is a honest review of Pass house

1.Location - set in beautiful gardens and over looking the welsh valleys a well deserved 10/10

2.Welcome- Hugh is a lovely man and gives you the warmest of welcomes, very polite and not over bearing, a true gent 10/10

3.Guest House - Please note this is a guest house not a hotel so there is no bar, or reception but when Hugh is available he is always happy to arrange a drink for you.
Rooms - Now here is the biggest let down we had a family room £185-00 a night and although large, the room is in need of some TLC while the furniture is quite nice but some parts in need of repair, the family room had a cold feel to it, with its dated wall paper and blue carpet, plus cob webs on the main lights,the beds are in need of new mattresses as the main bed is very lumpy and the spare bed mattress is very thin and uncomfortable, also there is earth wires showing in the bath room and the bath room its self is indeed needing a make over plus a stand up shower would be a welcome addition,so I am afraid only a 5/10.
On a positive note the rest of the guest house is of a good standard and Nicely decorated and the pool, plus gym is a very good addition to the house.

4.The Meal- Very good quality and service was very good plus a good selection of wines,breakfast was of good quality with plenty to offer 7/10

All in all this was a pleasant trip and on the room, I am sure Hugh will be updating the family room soon, as he has only been in management of the House for two years, when the room is updated I am sure the stay would be of high quality.

Final word

Would I go back probably not as for £185 I think its a bit to steep as I have stayed in five star hotels at this price,I cannot comment on the other rooms, but on the a positive note Hugh is a Gentleman and the grounds of the hotel are beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    47
    12
    16
    4
See reviews for
50
155
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The setting for the "hotel" is lovely, within easy access of Conwy and another village on the other end of the Sychnant Pass. There were also a couple of walks within a mile that looked quite interesting with the hills around the 1,000ft mark, ideal for a family stroll.

The hotel itself looks wonderful from the road and as you drive into the apparently well kept large front garden of the property. The owner greeted us warmly, explaining a few house rules and then showed us to our rooms and around the various facilities such as smallish but adequate pool, well kitted out if small gym and outside hot tub.

The food during our stay was very good, with a typical cold breakfast selection and waitress service for the hot options which were adequate, although one lovely but rather thin sausage was a touch sparse as part of a full english. The 5 course evening meal was excellent, though the £32.50 cost was a touch excessive for what it was, especially with drinks extra.

The bar or lack of it was a touch quirky, as was the fact everything had to be charged to the room, something that should be an option but not in my view a rule, as at a party or wedding you could possibly awake to a surprise when the bar bill arrives. Drinks were served by the owner from a well stocked fridge in the kitchen, but was a bit inconvenient as you had to find the guy first before ordering a drink.

The rooms were very varied and as it was a group booking we basically had the whole hotel. We were in the cheaper rooms £135 summer and £105 winter and found them to be a touch small, with a corner bath and hand held shower with no shower curtain, not ideal for a 6'3 man. The room was spoilt for me by having a rather cheap looking four poster bed with a hard mattress and soft pillows, taking up virtually the whole floor space of the room and reaching almost to the ceiling, giving a very enclosed feel. The rooms we had, which included a double next door, had french windows opening out onto a patio with table and chairs and a glorious view of the hills opposite.

It is this mix of poor features and little gems that make the "hotel" so difficult to rate and from visiting other rooms the same mix of good and bad was a common feature. With a large investment in decoration and remodelling this could be an excellent "hotel". The public areas are nice, but as soon as you went beyond the carpet and corridors certainly didn't have an upmarket feel. Something that hopefully the owners will rectify with time. The advertised "fast broadband" was also a little flaky, with decent coverage in the lounge but dropping off badly within 20 yards, maybe a few booster units around the "hotel" would improve the experience at little capital cost.

The cost of a "hotel" room is very subjective, especially in an establishment as varied as this, however based purely on the state of the rooms I felt they were expensive, especially the larger ones. To charge £200+ a night for a room outside London or Edinburgh, even with a view and a hot tub means that the room has to be in perfect condition, many of these are not, although perfectly acceptable.

Only having a limited number of family rooms can also increase cost, as we had to take 2 rooms, albeit at a generous rate of £40 per night for the second. Charging £25 per child per night to stay in a larger already expensive room is another cost not really acceptable in this day and age, when rooms are generally priced as a family room with no extras.

Don't be confused by the star ratings, on web sites or indeed from various tourist bodies on the gate to the "hotel", ranging from 4 to 5 stars. Stars are awarded based on facilities, which on paper are excellent and service, sadly the rooms are not anywhere near maintained in a manner that merits a 5 star rating and the lesser priced rooms are of the size and quality of a 3 star establishment.

Most importantly for anyone thinking of staying at Sychnant Pass House, remember it is a house and not a hotel and the owner does by his gentle reminders make you aware of this throughout your stay. Times for breakfast and dinner are told to you on arrival, felxibility is apparently an option but one that is not obvious unless you enquire. The "hotel" would be an excellent option for an older couple or group, who appreciate the owners prescence, rather than for a younger group or party who like the use of a bar and a more relaxed atmosphere.

Finally, the house is relatively old and the sound proofing is abysmal. We were near to the lounge and felt part of the proceedings while trying to sleep, the corridors are noisy as are the fire doors when closing. Just hope you have quiet guests above as in room 1 we thought the people above would be visiting us through the ceiling on a number of occasions.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are small but 1 and 2 have lovely patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gary965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
As you point out towards the end of your review, we are registered as a guest house, not a "hotel" - hence we don't have a reception or a bar area. So our 5* rating is within the guest house sector and we certainly don't claim to have 5* hotel facilities! However, our prices are competitive with others in the area who aren't able to offer swimming pool, sauna, hot tub and gym facilities.

I would just like to clarify the wi-fi remarks. Nowhere have we ever advertised "fast broadband". We have to work daily with the broadband and at best, would describe it as adequate. We are the most distant premises from the local exchange and sadly don't have access to the superfast broadband available to many city dwellers. It is currently only available within the lounge area and we have been professionally advised that booster units would not extend the coverage as the ceilings and walls would interfere with the signal, rendering it virtually useless.

The house is over 100 years old and does not have the solid, soundproofed concrete floors and ceilings found in some contemporary budget hotels. Yes, this can make it a little noisier (depending on who's in the rooms above or to the side) but many think this adds to its charm and character.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel is billed (and priced) as luxurious, but it really does not live up to it.

We received a very nice welcome and the food was really good. The rooms were large and at first glance looked lovely with mostly nice furnishings, but on closer inspection were in a poor state of repair and clean in some places yet very dirty in others.

We had a Hot Tub on our balcony but it looked so filthy we didn't dare use it. There was a whole labyrinth of cobwebs in the bathroom, the curtain poles where hanging off the walls and the fridge looked like it needed to be skipped. The sofa bed was so very uncomfortable too.

The changing rooms for the pool were lovely with nice toiletries, but often no towels. The pool was rather dirty especially the patio doors, the whole place just felt like it needed a good clean.

We had two pre school children with us who behaved impeccably, but I felt that they weren't overly welcome, there was nothing suitable on the menu for them, the meals time was far too late for them and service too slow. We tried going down 15mins earlier than the earliest 7pm seating, and asked for the children's food to come with the starters, yet still the children got nothing to eat till 7.45pm when they would normally be in bed. At breakfast on the last full day we were offered something different for the children to eat at dinner - a pasta dish, we said yes please, a plain pasta bolognaise would be perfect, but they couldn't do that so they served what tasted like pasta in Heinz tomato soup and they still had to wait till after we had our starters to have it. The kids did enjoy it though!

There were some nice touches, I really liked the cheese board and coffee in the lounge during the late evening and the location is beautiful, remote and great for walkers.

I stay in a lot of hotels with work and for holidays and this was the most expensive I've ever stayed in yet certainly nowhere near the quality of other far cheaper hotels.

If you are an older couple looking for a relaxing, quiet, very traditional get away in a beautiful setting with nice food and you can turn a blind eye to the dirt, this would suit. But it really wasn't worth the cost for a young family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank feebeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay and that you found us in a poor state of repair and "dirty".

We are puzzled by your statement that the "curtain poles were hanging off the walls". We have had problems with the curtain poles in that room but they were repaired some weeks before your visit and I have since checked the room and they are still firmly attached to the walls! I do wish you had mentioned this during your stay so that I was able to see precisely what the problem was and fixed it for you. Likewise with the cobwebs in the bathroom. These are one of the downsides of living in a rural location. We do try to keep on top of the problem, but clearly didn't meet expectations on this occasion. Again, it would have been helpful if you had mentioned it at the time as we could have resolved the problem promptly.

The hot tub is emptied, cleaned, refilled and a new chlorine tablet put in before every new check-in and yours was no exception. Certainly, the cover is a little tatty and has been damaged; we have ordered a replacement and are awaiting delivery of a new one. Our swimming pool is chlorinated and checked several times daily. The "dirt" is probably the minute particles of slate which are deposited in the pool by swimmers. These are unsightly, but harmless. The paint is peeling off the walls and is unsightly. We are taking steps to remedy this too but we have to await the quieter season before embarking on the work required.

All our food is freshly cooked on the premises to order and so will take longer to prepare and serve than pre-packed microwaved food. It is all locally sourced too. We don't have many pre-school children in the restaurant but if booked in advance, we can provide an earlier "high tea" if required. Again, I'm sorry you didn't mention this to us at the time.

I am sorry that you found us expensive. We are competitively priced with our local neighbours and we include with that use of our swimming pool, hot tub, sauna and gym - facilities which other local establishments can't offer. We also have free on-site parking, free wi-fi and three acres of grounds to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed six nights here, but it seemed much longer! It was such a lovely atmosphere, so relaxing, with the pool, gym and hot tub if you wanted them, that the relaxation achieved was like a much longer holiday. And the food....! Just delightful, I think I can truthfully say that I not eaten better meals anywhere. Not huge plates groaning, but beautifully presented balanced dishes that left us feeling fully satisfied and looking forward to the next evening's treat. Hugh, Janet and the staff were all so helpful and friendly without being in the least bit overbearing. They have got the balance just right, which makes for a perfect break away. We'll be back.

Room Tip: A room with your own private hot-tub might be fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were only here for one night but it was enough to know we will definitely be back many more times! The room was exceptionally clean and tidy, the facilities were top notch. This is the first time I have stayed in a hotel where the room (Room 12) had a hot tub and now I wouldn't have it any other way! I can highly recommend this hotel if you want to get away from civilisation but still want a short(ish) drive in to a beautiful town such as Conwy.

Room Tip: Room 12 is very private and very comfortable, It has beautiful views of the heather on the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_Curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Rm 12 is a popular room and we're glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Donington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This time yesterday we were sitting in your hot tub looking out over the hills! Just wanted to say thankyou for a wonderful two day stay at Sychnant pass country hotel, what a lovely place, we were made to feel very welcome by Hugh and the rest of the staff, excellent food and facilities at hotel. Hope to come back soon.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Glad you enjoyed your time here. The views from the hot tub are great at this time of year with the heather and gorse on the hills. They're stunning. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed one night on the 10th of July, cannot recommend this hotel enough. Relaxing friendly excellent food,Huw the owner couldnt do enough for you. Views are lovely,Sitting in the hot tub in the drizzle just total relaxation.Lovely walks nearby as long or as short as you want. Conwy just minutes away .Visited the new Welsh food centre near Bodnant good local produce and not that expensive. Will definitley visit this hotel again best Ive stayed at yet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatlefanAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, General Manager at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay. And we agree totally about the new Welsh food centre near Bodnant - it's a great place to visit for locally sourced produce. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
1.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sychnant Pass Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sychnant Pass Country House

Property: Sychnant Pass Country House
Address: Sychnant Pass House Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy LL32 8BJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sychnant Pass Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Edwardian country house is set in 3 acres of grounds with leisure facilities which includes swimming pool, sauna, gym and outdoor hot tub. We have charging points for electric cars and ample off-street parking. Situated in the Snowdonia National Park, we are in the heart of the countryside and yet only 1.5 Miles from the historic town of Conwy and less than 15 minutes' drive from the seaside resort of Llandudno (voted top UK seaside resort on Trip Advisor). We are easily accessible and well placed for both business and leisure stays. Our candlelit restaurant is highly recommended and is open 7 nights as week to residents and non-residents alike. Our seasonal menu offers a choice of starters, main courses and desserts and the food is freshly cooked to order, using local ingredients wherever possible. We can offer a great wine list to complement your food. Our location is convenient for Conwy, Llandudno, Bodnant Gardens, Mount Snowdon, Anglesey and we are a very useful stopping off point for those travelling to the Holyhead ferry terminal. Outdoor pursuits of walking, golf, mountain biking are all on our doorstep and just a short drive away, you will find the longest zip-wire in Europe and the only indoor surf resort at Surf Snowdonia - as well as plenty of other outdoor activities to enjoy. Alternatively, you can just curl up with a good book in our comfortable lounge! A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sychnant Pass Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sychnant Pass House Hotel Conwy
Sychnant Pass Country House Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing