We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and welcome, shame about the hot tub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sychnant Pass Country House
Ranked #3 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a beautifully situated hotel in the hills outside Conwy, and we chose it for its spa facilities and closeness to mountains. The staff are very welcoming - it's no accident that all the reviews mention Hugh and are complimentary about him and his team. We had a very comfortable stay, and the night we ate in we had delicious food. Breakfast was a daily treat. Our dog was welcomed too, and loved our ground floor room with little patio area. We could have done with some more light in the room, especially beside the fourposter bed, and there was a preponderance of voile throughout, but the public area of the hotel was very comfortable.

The downside for us was the spa element. There is a delightful little swimming pool, with the most gorgeous water, and a great sauna. However, the outside hot tub was a big disappointment. Smelling like a boy scout's backpack under its cover, the jets weren't anything like effective, and several of them didn't work at all. As we both have back problems, and chose the hotel for its spa facilities, this was a disappointment. Still, it was a lovely location and a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katebrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

My Husband & I were greeted by lovely Hugh who made us feel very welcome and gave us the grand tour of the facilities and our room which was the Blaenwern which was a deluxe room which was worth every penny and more! We stayed for 3 nights, the breakfast and evening meal was to die for. The Blaenwern room had a lovely comfortable four poster king-size bed, Double shower, double wash basin, Jacuzzi bath, robes, slippers, big fluffy towels and all the little things to make your stay enjoyable.
We couldn't fault it at all, so if anybody wants to spend a quite luxury weekend away from it all we can't recommend this country house enough. SO GET BOOKING!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by Hugh as soon as we got to the door. He's a lovely and funny man with a mischievous sense of humour. He gave us a tour of the room and facilities. We were in the Cwm Rhondda suite with a HUGE bed and balcony and jacuzzi bath and double shower. We went straight to the swimming pool which was LOVELY. There was a sauna but we didn't use it. We then went to the hot tub. Omg I felt like a celebrity :) there were gowns and slippers provided in the rooms too.

We didn't eat there but sorry we didn't now. Next time we will :)

The room had 2 huge sofas to lounge on with a view of the hills outside. It was so relaxing. The bed was so comfy, slept like a log. The jacuzzi was amazing and the double shower was fantastic.

Breakfast was beautiful, the lady serving us couldn't have been more helpful offering us toast and coffee each time.

We couldn't fault a single thing.

The little touches like cotton wool balls on the dressing table and massive fluffy white towels in the bathroom. The welcome pack written with humour and the little kitchen sink with fridge was lovely!!

Can't wait to visit again :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberts074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We would not have come here four times had we been anything other than totally satisfied. The hosts offer the best welcome we have ever received in a country house and this is just one of the things that make the place so special to us. It is in an ideal location for anyone who wants to leave their car and walk in the hills above Conway. There is a pool and sauna after all the exertion and excellent food and a well-thought out wine list. If we fancy a day's touring by car, it is convenient for Bodnant, Great Orme and Anglesey. We think Sychnant Pass House offers us very good value and great contentment - we will return! Note that this place bills itself as a Country House, not as a stereotypical hotel.

Room Tip: Best views from rooms at front of house e.g. Gwalchmai Double showers and jacuzzi bath and balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We went for a 2 night break away location was lovely,,, hotel really needed updating! Didn't justify the £185 a night billing. We had a private hot tub on our balcony which got turned off at midnight with out any notification as we had been out for the day came back had a few drinks an wanted to relax in hot tub didn't get much time to!!! We also tried to relax in the double spa bath but couldn't as plug didn't work an the water was draining,,, over all could do with a revamp don't mind paying the price but just expected a lot better .... Left disappointed!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights whilst on a course nearby for work and wanted a bit of luxury after a hard day, instead of using the local youth hostel! I found the hotel very comfortable with all the facilities needed. My room (4) was nice and big, with a little sitting room which I found really useful for work. It could probably do with a bit of updating if it were to warrant the term 'luxury', though - a lot of the furnishings seemed to be done on rather a budget. The lounge was lovely, with comfy sofas and lovely antiques which really did add to the country house atmosphere.
Breakfast was the usual British fayre and was plentiful and well cooked. I stayed for dinner one evening and that was lovely although a little expensive, but you're paying for the fact that this is billed more as a private country retreat than a hotel.
The best thing about this place is Hugh who is a very genial host who makes you feel like a guest in the true sense of the word. Both Hugh and Diane were really helpful with a couple of work-related tasks.
I used the pool and the sauna which were fine and I had them all to myself, and the changing facilities were large, clean and well-equipped.
The setting and grounds are beautiful as you would expect in Snowdonia!
My only gripe is the gate - it's to be kept shut but this gives an unwelcoming air and when I first arrived I wasn't sure I was at the right place and it seemed rather too private and closed. You also have to wobble your way over the cattle grid to open and close it, unless you can be bothered to go all the way round and through the pedestrian entrance. Maybe an investment in an electronic system would help.
All in all I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank_Tiger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Agree with Paul B of Manchester.
£185!!!!! ... same price as a suite at the Park Plaza
Peeling paint, poor finish to all paintwork
Loud music from the kitchen
Arrived to find the room hot and stuffy.
Although we knew there was no shower (only a bath) there was not even a hand held shower attachment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SBCC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thanks for your review. We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
1.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
406 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,792 reviews
3 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sychnant Pass Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sychnant Pass Country House

Address: Sychnant Pass House Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy LL32 8BJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range: £113 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sychnant Pass Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Edwardian country house is set in 3 acres of grounds with leisure facilities which includes swimming pool, sauna, gym and outdoor hot tub. We have charging points for electric cars and ample off-street parking. Situated in the Snowdonia National Park, we are in the heart of the countryside and yet only 1.5 Miles from the historic town of Conwy and less than 15 minutes' drive from the seaside resort of Llandudno (voted top UK seaside resort on Trip Advisor). We are easily accessible and well placed for both business and leisure stays. Our candlelit restaurant is highly recommended and is open 7 nights as week to residents and non-residents alike. Our seasonal menu offers a choice of starters, main courses and desserts and the food is freshly cooked to order, using local ingredients wherever possible. We can offer a great wine list to complement your food. Our location is convenient for Conwy, Llandudno, Bodnant Gardens, Mount Snowdon, Anglesey and we are a very useful stopping off point for those travelling to the Holyhead ferry terminal. Outdoor pursuits of walking, golf, mountain biking are all on our doorstep and just a short drive away, you will find the longest zip-wire in Europe and the only indoor surf resort at Surf Snowdonia - as well as plenty of other outdoor activities to enjoy. Alternatively, you can just curl up with a good book in our comfortable lounge! A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sychnant Pass Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sychnant Pass House Hotel Conwy
Sychnant Pass Country House Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing