We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace at last!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sychnant Pass Country House
Ranked #4 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Sychnant Pass gave us the quiet get away we needed! Beautiful surroundings, beautiful house, lovely personal service.
Cleanliness was to a high standard throughout the stay, pool and sauna area was nice and clean, pool lovely and warm a very generous 31 degrees!
Room was lovely, we booked the Calon Lan suite, which has the added bonus of a hot tub on the private terrace area. A lovely modern bathroom with jacuzzi bath and big comfy bed.
Food was absolutely amazing, we has 5 course dinner and breakfast -neither disappointed!
We will definitely return here, will not hesitate to book again! Thank you for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaraP215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just had our third or fourth visit to SPCH. Great warm welcome, beautiful room, superb food. Weather was the usual mix of rain and sun, but good quiet location of the hotel helps you ignore the weather. Hope to be back in the spring.

Room Tip: We like room 11, but all the others we have seen have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASG-Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I'm getting a bit weary of so-called "Country House Hotels"
They promise Downton Abbey ....and just don't deliver !!!!
A bin full of umbrellas in the porch does not a make a country house experience.!

Luckily, Sychnant Pass House DOES deliver....and it does it in style!
The major difference is that this is not a country house hotel ,it's the home of Hugh Rees Phillips and his family and you actually get treated like a member of the family rather than as an anonymous guest.
Meeting Hugh is like meeting up with a cousin you haven't seen for a year or two ......funny and warm and a tremendous host, nothing is too much trouble and he works tirelessly to ensure that you enjoy your stay.

We stayed in the Cwm Rhondda suite which has the most enormous bed and a some lovely period furniture to lounge about on. The facilities were first rate and the views over Snowdonia quite something.
But ,for us the focal point of the hotel was the lounge and we spent a lovely evening reading and chatting with our feet up.....and being fed a constant diet of G&T's by Hugh
Another advantage for us is that our dog ,Patch, was actually welcomed ,not just tolerated

We didn't dine at the hotel but other guests told us that the food was excellent....certainly our breakfast was cooked beautifully and served with a smile..

Sychnant Pass House itself is very well placed in the hills just outside Conway giving access to the coast ,the mountains of Snowdonia and the Lleyn peninsula.

Like other reviewers, we did enjoy the pool and sauna and the hot tub is a bit of a faff being outside...but it was OK .

We are usually glad to be on our way after a day or two ,but I would happily spend a week or two at Sychnant House as a guest of Hugh and his family....especially if he kept those large G&T's coming thick and fast!!!!

We will certainly be going back for another stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caterad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a beautifully situated hotel in the hills outside Conwy, and we chose it for its spa facilities and closeness to mountains. The staff are very welcoming - it's no accident that all the reviews mention Hugh and are complimentary about him and his team. We had a very comfortable stay, and the night we ate in we had delicious food. Breakfast was a daily treat. Our dog was welcomed too, and loved our ground floor room with little patio area. We could have done with some more light in the room, especially beside the fourposter bed, and there was a preponderance of voile throughout, but the public area of the hotel was very comfortable.

The downside for us was the spa element. There is a delightful little swimming pool, with the most gorgeous water, and a great sauna. However, the outside hot tub was a big disappointment. Smelling like a boy scout's backpack under its cover, the jets weren't anything like effective, and several of them didn't work at all. As we both have back problems, and chose the hotel for its spa facilities, this was a disappointment. Still, it was a lovely location and a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katebrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My Husband & I were greeted by lovely Hugh who made us feel very welcome and gave us the grand tour of the facilities and our room which was the Blaenwern which was a deluxe room which was worth every penny and more! We stayed for 3 nights, the breakfast and evening meal was to die for. The Blaenwern room had a lovely comfortable four poster king-size bed, Double shower, double wash basin, Jacuzzi bath, robes, slippers, big fluffy towels and all the little things to make your stay enjoyable.
We couldn't fault it at all, so if anybody wants to spend a quite luxury weekend away from it all we can't recommend this country house enough. SO GET BOOKING!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by Hugh as soon as we got to the door. He's a lovely and funny man with a mischievous sense of humour. He gave us a tour of the room and facilities. We were in the Cwm Rhondda suite with a HUGE bed and balcony and jacuzzi bath and double shower. We went straight to the swimming pool which was LOVELY. There was a sauna but we didn't use it. We then went to the hot tub. Omg I felt like a celebrity :) there were gowns and slippers provided in the rooms too.

We didn't eat there but sorry we didn't now. Next time we will :)

The room had 2 huge sofas to lounge on with a view of the hills outside. It was so relaxing. The bed was so comfy, slept like a log. The jacuzzi was amazing and the double shower was fantastic.

Breakfast was beautiful, the lady serving us couldn't have been more helpful offering us toast and coffee each time.

We couldn't fault a single thing.

The little touches like cotton wool balls on the dressing table and massive fluffy white towels in the bathroom. The welcome pack written with humour and the little kitchen sink with fridge was lovely!!

Can't wait to visit again :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberts074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We would not have come here four times had we been anything other than totally satisfied. The hosts offer the best welcome we have ever received in a country house and this is just one of the things that make the place so special to us. It is in an ideal location for anyone who wants to leave their car and walk in the hills above Conway. There is a pool and sauna after all the exertion and excellent food and a well-thought out wine list. If we fancy a day's touring by car, it is convenient for Bodnant, Great Orme and Anglesey. We think Sychnant Pass House offers us very good value and great contentment - we will return! Note that this place bills itself as a Country House, not as a stereotypical hotel.

Room Tip: Best views from rooms at front of house e.g. Gwalchmai Double showers and jacuzzi bath and balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
1.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,268 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,658 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Groes Inn
Groes Inn
#1 of 1 in Tyn-y-Groes
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sychnant Pass Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sychnant Pass Country House

Address: Sychnant Pass House Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy LL32 8BJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range: £115 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sychnant Pass Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Edwardian country house is set in 3 acres of grounds with leisure facilities which includes swimming pool, sauna, gym and outdoor hot tub. We have charging points for electric cars and ample off-street parking. Situated in the Snowdonia National Park, we are in the heart of the countryside and yet only 1.5 Miles from the historic town of Conwy and less than 15 minutes' drive from the seaside resort of Llandudno (voted top UK seaside resort on Trip Advisor). We are easily accessible and well placed for both business and leisure stays. Our candlelit restaurant is highly recommended and is open 7 nights as week to residents and non-residents alike. Our seasonal menu offers a choice of starters, main courses and desserts and the food is freshly cooked to order, using local ingredients wherever possible. We can offer a great wine list to complement your food. Our location is convenient for Conwy, Llandudno, Bodnant Gardens, Mount Snowdon, Anglesey and we are a very useful stopping off point for those travelling to the Holyhead ferry terminal. Outdoor pursuits of walking, golf, mountain biking are all on our doorstep and just a short drive away, you will find the longest zip-wire in Europe and the only indoor surf resort at Surf Snowdonia - as well as plenty of other outdoor activities to enjoy. Alternatively, you can just curl up with a good book in our comfortable lounge! A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sychnant Pass Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sychnant Pass House Hotel Conwy
Sychnant Pass Country House Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing