We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makes one appreciate a studio apartment!”

Smallest House in Britain
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Smallest House in Great Britain is a one up, one down cottage measuring just 72 inches across, 122 inches high and 120 inches deep and is listed in the Guinness Book of Records. Built as an infill between two rows of cottages, it was lived in until May 1900 when it was condemned as being unfit for human habitation. The last tenant was a 6' 3" fisherman called Robert Jones. Quirkily, the owner at the time was another Robert Jones, who, in a bid to save the cottage toured the country with the editor of the local newspaper measuring every other small house to confirm that it was, indeed, the smallest house in the country. The Smallest House is still in the hands of Robert Jones' family
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Makes one appreciate a studio apartment!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't be surprised if people lived in places as small as this - there is after all a place to sleep (a loft) and a separate place to relax. It is probably more spacious than many people had in earlier times. Kids should get a kick out of seeing it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyHawk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    236
    140
    21
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golborne
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Grandsons Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Made the trip to give my Grandsons something unique. They were really taken with it. We were lucky as there was no queue. As only 4 people are allowed in, at a time, it could be very busy but worth the wait; and at £1 Adult & 50p Kids you can't argue at the price for an oddity like this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank roy45Golborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cute little attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Well yes it's tiny but worth a visit it's £1 for adults and 50p for children and worth it. Yes it only takes a few minutes but at least you can say you've been. The welsh lady outside is well informed and adds to the charm.
If in Conwy you may as well visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndonzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A gem in Conwy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a fantastic piece of history. We paid our small entry fee, ducked and entered the building. Two people inside and it was crowded. One seat, a fire place to cook and heat and no microwave. In fact nothing else. Upstairs there is a bed! This wee house is well worth a visit and go inside to see how people lived all those years ago.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful little piece of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I was taken to visit this attraction as a young child and had some memories of the house. I wanted to take my daughter to see the attraction now that she was at an age where she would understand and remember like I did. The house obviously is very small and you only spend a couple of minutes inside but the visit is well organised allowing your individual group private access with enable you to listen to the story take photos etc. There is also a guide dressed in traditional welsh dress outside who is happy to pose for photos and talk about the attraction. This is well worth a visit if you are in Conwy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smallest House in Britain also viewed

Conwy, Conwy County
Conwy, Conwy County
 

Been to Smallest House in Britain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing