We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

One of the best B & Bs we have stayed in. Colin & Monica were fantastic hosts and created a really friendly atmosphere. Conwy is a lovely town with a great atmodphere. The rooms were really well presented with lots of nice touches.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_and_Monica, Owner at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Hi Sid & Sam, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our B&B. Sorry it's taken a while to respond. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Gwynfryn B&B and your visit to Conwy North Wales. Receiving such wonderful reviews and meeting such lovely people makes all the hard work worth while. We look forward to seeing you both again at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast during your next visit to Conwy. Thanks Colin & Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    33
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
324
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordes-sur-Ciel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Finding somewhere to stay in Conway that met the high standards of my clients was a challenge.
Gwynfryn proved a gem. Colin and Monica Boutillier had thought of everything. The rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean. Tea tray, TV, internet, hairdryer etc were all to hand. Breakfast was exactly what was needed from fresh fruit and yoghourt to the full English breakfast.
Parking was available for the car just around the corner and Colin was at the ready to carry our bags.
Close by were all amenities from fish and chips to Watsons Bistro. The Bistro offered a delicious menu and we enjoyed a memorable dinner -the best wild mushroom soup I have tasted- at a very competitive price.
Enjoy the Castle and town walls which are two minutes from Gwynfryn as is Plas Mawr, a very interesting Tudor Merchants house.
We were sorry to say good bye to Gwynfryn after three very comfortable nights spent there

Room Tip: I cannot speak highly enough of this B&B. Colin will see that you have the appropriate room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My partner and I have just got back from a wonderful trip to Conwy staying in the gorgeous Gwynfryn bed & breakfast. Everything about the stay was perfect - the rooms are beautiful and amazingly spotless! The owners Colin and Monica were very friendly and went out their way for us helping us park the car and carrying our bags. The breakfast was gorgeous too. We will definitely be coming back again and will be recommending here to our friends and family! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ele016181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The Gwynfryn was a first rate place to stay. There was nothing missing from the room.....there were so many comfortable pillows! There was enough milk to make plenty of drinks.....often missing in some places.

Room Tip: At the top of the building we had those lovely sloping eaves
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Thank you Monica and Colin provide us so lovely guest house, you always care what we need, everyday I can enjoy the perfect breakfast, I really enjoy my trip and the guest house, it is so beautiful and comfortable, thanks again.

Room Tip: Room Le Olive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanMOMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed four nights in the smallest room in the house (with private bath in the hall). You'd think this would mean a lower review -- but the room had such good storage, and the bath was so large, that the size didn't matter. Large bathrobes were provided for the hallway "trip." There's also a great living room if the bedroom feels cramped. Colin and Monica are terrific hosts -- hardworking and fun. They have some rules (no shoes past the front door, slippers provided) that are different, but just add to the charm of the place. Monica's eclectic decorations are delightful. They had great advice about eating places and how to take advantage of their great location. Parking is a hassle, but Colin really helps, and we always found something. This is a friendly house that invites sharing at breakfast (also very good -- try the Welsh rarebit!). We loved everything about North Wales, and this was a perfect, centrally located "home" for our visit there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Colin and Monica were wonderful hosts during our 4 day visit to Conwy. We stayed in the comfortable Violet Room at the top of the stairs. Colin whipped our cases up past Monica's extraordinary and eclectic decorations. The frogs and butterflies dominated and amused. Breakfast excelled, although caution is recommended with the Welsh Rarebit - an acquired taste. qThe WiFi worked well. The shower was hot and strong. Colin always found us a place to park and was a proverbial ball of energy. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
1.1 mi away
Glan Heulog Guest House
0.1 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#9 of 22 in Conwy
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4 York Place | Off Lancaster Square, Conwy LL32 8AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B set within the heart of the historical walled town of Conwy. Visit Wales 4 Star accomoation close to all attractions, shops & restaurants. Conwy Castle is only 2 minutes walk away from our Bed and Breakfast. Free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwynfryn Bed And Breakfast Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing