We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kooky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Kooky”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Good location right in the village and opposite the police station. Parking is a bit tenuous so get there early to sort it out. Conwy is a good base for Conwy Castle, Caernarfon,(both highly recommended experience).Make sure you take the guided tour at Caernarfon. its worth the cost. The lack of maps ,poor explanatory signage and absence of audio guides in Wales at castles etc is a major shortcoming. The Gwynfryn B&B is not one I would go back to .It was full of fiddly doilies and clutter. It felt more like being in a home decorator shop. Breakfast was OK and there are apparently plans to expand. It fell below the standard of a number of B&B ‘s we experienced in the UK. You couldn’t ever seem to catch anyone on staff to ask about places to eat or see, like being at one of those hotels with no reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    34
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
327
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My family and I (my wife and two young adult daughters) recently stayed for 5 nights in the Rouge and Bleu rooms during the unseasonably warm spell this July. As everyone has noted, Colin and Monica are great hosts, helpful with everything we asked but not obtrusive. Since it's normally not needed, there is no air conditioning, and the rooms were a bit warm at night--the sound of the gulls added a nice dash of local color, but they could be a little annoying in the wee hours (a fan helped to tune them out). Of course the hosts couldn't be blamed for this, and it was certainly glorious weather while we were in Wales.

Our luggage didn't arrive for 2 days (4 days in my wife's case), and Monica was a big help in suggesting where we might buy some clothes and other essentials--she even offered to loan us some of their clothes if we needed! Colin was also a big help in dealing with the luggage courier service while we were out. The breakfasts were delicious and were a great start to the day each morning.

I'm really glad that we decided to stay in Conwy; it's a charming little town that is small enough to get to know everything there easily, but large enough to have plenty of choices for eating and exploring. We all really enjoyed Plas Mawr with its enthusiastic guides, walking down to the quay, seeing Bodnant Gardens, Trefriw Woolen Mill, and Mt. Snowdon. With the picturesque castle nearby and the city walls even closer, we felt like we were experiencing something completely different than we could in the USA, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithatnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_and_Monica, Owner at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi Donald, it was a real meeting you and your family. Thanks for taking the time in leaving us a wonderful review. Despite the eventual first few days where your luggage hadn't arrived we are so pleased you enjoyed you stay. We look forward to seeing you all again (hopefully with all your suitcases! lol)
Take Care
Colin & Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

we had a lovely stay at GWYNFRYN the rooms were lovely and clean and our breakfast was delicious although we had to resort to only porridge on last few days, it was very nice we were too hot to eat a full cooked breakfast ,colin and monica were very helpful and kind hosts,. and told us to try the ALBION ALE HOUSE which we did and carried on going there every night for a few drinks ,we had nice meal,s at WATSON,S and GWESTY HOTEL all in all a very nice time .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_and_Monica, Owner at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi Bernie, thanks for taking the time in leaving us a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay and look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Take Care
Colin & Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Gwynfryn ranks at the top of my all time favorite B&B's. We had a room at the top done in lavender and lovely furnishings. My favorite color for a bedroom. The bed was very comfortable, plenty of room for the 2 of us and our luggage. We felt right at home immediately and very much enjoyed being guests of Monica and Colin. They are gracious, helpful, and they make an excellent breakfast. I would return to Conwy just to stay at the Gwynfryn again and to enjoy breakfast there and dinner at the nearby restaurant. We stayed this past May and since we were traveling by train through the UK we found this B&B an ideal location for our excursions by bus and by train.

Janice & Grant. - California

Room Tip: I didn't look at the other rooms so I can't say whether ours was typical or not but I can sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_and_Monica, Owner at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi Janice & Grant, it was great to meet you both. Thanks for taking the time in leaving us a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay and look forward to seeing you both again.
Take Care
Colin & Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here in mid May for 2 nights in the Rose room. This was a delightfully quaint room and although small was very well appointed and comfortable. Our luggage slid very easily under the bed. Colin and Monica have a very quirky style about their B & B and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole feel of the place although very different from our own taste. The whole house was immaculately clean but very warm and welcoming.They ask that no shoes be worn inside and provide slippers for your trouble. What a great idea!
Gwynfyn is ideally situated within the town walls with easy access to all that Conwyn has to offer. And Colin ensured that we always had a car park even though parking within the town was often difficult.
Breakfast at Gwynfyn was probably one of the best that I had had during our 6 week tour of the UK with many options. Both mornings I had the Welsh Rarebit which was excellent.
I would highly reommend this B & B and would love to stay here again as Colin and Monica are lovely friendly hosts and Conwy is a very intereting place to explore. Jo and Chris - Adelaide.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_and_Monica, Owner at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi Jo & Chris, thanks for taking the time in leaving us a wonderful review. Meeting lovely people like you both makes all the hard work worth while. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay and look forward to seeing you both again.
Take Care
Colin & Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed for 2 x nights in May. Comfortable accommodation in a house that is obviously loved by the owners. The attention to detail, and quality, in bedrooms and public areas is excellent. Monica and Colin were perfect hosts, and I have no hesitations in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul_S187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_and_Monica, Owner at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time in leaving us a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay and look forward to seeing you both again.
Take Care
Colin & Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We arrived late & got the last room available & Colin did a great job of looking after us & our car. As soon as we walked into the place you couldn't help notice all the nice nacks making it look very homely. Our room was on the 1st floor & had a spree rate bathroom across the hall. The bedroom itself was small but comfy with TV, wifi & tea making facilities. The bathroom was rather large & well equipped. All were spotlessly clean & felt very comfortable. The only criticism I have is the mattress was probably old or not a wood quality as I could feel the springs all night. Other rooms may have better beds as Colin did state that this was the smallest room. Location in the centre of two was perfect & with the free parking we had it was ideal to leave the car for the day to visit the castle 2 minutes away. Breakfast was very good with the usual offerings & I found the porridge extra good. A great stay really apart from the little bit of discomfort with the bed.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Birchyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_and_Monica, Owner at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi Ken, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated our whimsical decor & character. Thank you so much for highlighting the problems with the mattress and we can confirm we have replaced this with a new one. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It's funny how we all have different tastes as the previous review stayed on the same evening as you but where as you had our smallest room they had our largest room! :-)
We hope you make it back this way.
Take care
Colin & Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
1.1 mi away
Glan Heulog Guest House
0.1 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#9 of 22 in Conwy
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4 York Place | Off Lancaster Square, Conwy LL32 8AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B set within the heart of the historical walled town of Conwy. Visit Wales 4 Star accomoation close to all attractions, shops & restaurants. Conwy Castle is only 2 minutes walk away from our Bed and Breakfast. Free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwynfryn Bed And Breakfast Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing