We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 21 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent a lovely weekend at the Gwynfryn with our children for my husband's 70th birthday. Colin and Monica made it very special for us and it was great to be back in their home. We love staying there and think it is the best bed and breakfast in North Wales!! What a find. We will certainly be back again and our friends want to come too. I know they will just love it.

There is no fitness centre or swimming pool but was unable to delete this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jimanddenashep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    33
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
310
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed with Colin and Monica for 3 nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. So conveniently located and it was great having a nearby place to park by the city walls (park in front of the b & b to offload luggage is easy enough).


Spotlessly clean rooms and breakfasts are excellent - Colin's porridge get me going all day long and on other days had a wonderful omelette/poached eggs on toast. Colin and Monica are very welcoming hosts - they treat guests like friends which is great. It was nice being shown around the chapel next door by Colin and we hope to return once it is completed as it will be superb - check out their blog on latest news. Thanks Monica and Colin for your great hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms looked excellent, ours the Rose room was very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Monica and Colin were extremely welcoming and attentive. Breakfast was great and tasted even better when Colin told us the eggs were local and the meat was from the local butchers. The B&B is situated in the heart of the town so it is very easy to walk everywhere and although there is not parking on site they provide you with a permit for the car park a couple of minutes away. We would definitely recommend Gwynfryn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

After a couple of one-night stays in previous years, we decided to have a Monday-Friday break. We have always found it very homely (minimalists might find it fussy - tough!) Beds are comfortable, breakfasts set you up for the day, Monica are a lovely couple and Conway has some delightful little shops and is a good base to get round North Wales.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Monica and Colin did everything for our comfort and convenience. We especially loved their quirky, inventive decorating. Delicious breakfast, too. Perfectly located to explore northern Wales. We would love to return and hope to some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cece562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just spent a long weekend at this lovely B & B. Stayed in The Rouge room which was fantastic. Had everything we needed. Having done a few long walks, the roll-top bath and memory foam bed were very well appreciated!! Breakfast - what can we say, apart from very satisfying and tasty! Colin and Monica are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. Very friendly place. Will certainly recommend it to friends and family and we would certainly consider staying there again if in the area. Thanks for such a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: If you like to have a long soak in the bath after a long walk, then The Rouge room is for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Second visit to this charming Conwy B +B,nothing is too much trouble for Monica and Colin the attention to detail really shows how much they care about their guests,it was really good to see them again and experience what makes Gwynfryn really special, we are looking forward to returning again soon.
Tony & Kathryn Flynn.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tonyf1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
1.1 mi away
Glan Heulog Guest House
0.1 mi away
Bridge Inn Conwy
Bridge Inn Conwy
#6 of 21 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4 York Place | Off Lancaster Square, Conwy LL32 8AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B set within the heart of the historical walled town of Conwy. Visit Wales 4 Star accomoation close to all attractions, shops & restaurants. Conwy Castle is only 2 minutes walk away from our Bed and Breakfast. Free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwynfryn Bed And Breakfast Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing