We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

the best b&b I've ever stayed in! Outstanding cleanliness, value, breakfast and service. Nothing was too much trouble. Suggested an excellent bistro, public house and local information including the blue grass festival. We tried to book another night here and unfortunately had no vacancies, they rang round other local b&bs to ensure we had somewhere to stay. Which was fantastic as we enjoyed a hearty locally sourced cooked breakfast by Colin! I would recommend staying here to everyone!! Only thing wrong when you find a little gem like this is you want to keep it secret to make sure you get booked in next time!!!!
Truly outstanding...... well done guys!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jacqui r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed with Monica and Colin once again for the anniversary of our engagement. We stayed there in 2013 when I proposed to my now fiancée, and it was once again a lovely stay. Monica and Colin can't do enough to help. Our room was perfect, good facilities, nice and clean. The breakfast is brilliant too, it's delicious, you get plenty of it, and you can make custom requests if you like. The provision of passes for the local car parks was a welcome improvement from our first stays (not that they were bad anyway); knowing that we'd come back to a practically guranteed parking spot helped to make our days out in North Wales far more releaxed.

In summary, if you're planning a trip to North Wales, and are going to be anything remotely in the region of Conwy, I would reccommend staying with Monica and Colin at Gwynfryn. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leonfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed at the Gwynfryn for a closed friend's wedding. The service before we arrived was amazing - Colin even helped sort out the local hairdressers and the taxi. This continued and our evening meal was booked for us at the local bistro.
The room was WOW, WOW.............
The food was first class.
I could not fault this B & B at all and would book again without any hesitation.
Thank you for helping to make the Wedding SPECIAL xx

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A few months ago my husband and I took a drive along the north coast of wales and ended up in Conwy. On a whim we decided to stay and by chance we knocked on the door of Gwynfryn. What a stroke of luck, the welcome we received was both warm and friendly. They looked after us by helping us choose where to get a meal and where the best places to visit in the area are. We really appreciated the time out of their busy lives that they gave us that day. The next morning we came down to the breakfast and what a treat, fine ingredients cooked well by Colin and warmly served by Monica. As for the rooms they are delightful, Monica has a real flair and this can be seen not only in the bedrooms but all over the B/B. Clean as a whistle and uniquely dressed. Because of that chance experience we booked to go again last week and I'm pleased to say we have not been disappointed. Colin and Monica take the time to help their guests, which is important when you don't know the area. The same clean standard was upheld, It was spotless and the breakfast just as excellent. We look forward to our next visit later in the year, Its like visiting family

Room Tip: there is a beautiful room on the top floor which is ideal for young lovers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Gwynfryn in Conwy. The B&B is inside the walled city so it is convenient to restaurants, sites and walking distance from the train station. There was plenty for us to do right around there but we ventured farther afield since we had so much time. Colin was very helpful in giving us suggestions of day trips to the Snowdonia area and hikes right outside the town, all of which were excellent. Our room was very comfortable and even had a little refrigerator. The breakfast was fabulous. I can recommend everything, especially the porridge. I doubt that we will get back to this part of Wales; there are so many places in the world to see...but if we did, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flagtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Monica and Colin offers a warm welcome, an excellent breakfast and it's very near to train and bus station. The cosy rooms were absolute lovely. My friends and I were very happy and I think it's a very good choice for younger and older people.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Manfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this Inn this June and had a great stay. The owners, Monica and Colin, are the best. The rooms are very clean. I can't say enough good about this place. Go and stay there! We stayed for 4 nights, and don't regret a moment. Our first time in Wales, and we have no regrets. If you arrive by train, you are let of at an unmanned station, but you only need to let the conductor know, and they will stop. To get the train to leave, just stand on the platform and waive your hands and they will stop.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,302 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castlebank Hotel
Castlebank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Conwy
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.3 mi away
Glan Heulog Guest House
1.5 mi away
Sychnant Pass Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 York Place | Off Lancaster Square, Conwy LL32 8AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range: £87 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B set within the heart of the historical walled town of Conwy. Visit Wales 4 Star accomoation close to all attractions, shops & restaurants. Conwy Castle is only 2 minutes walk away from our Bed and Breakfast. Free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwynfryn Bed And Breakfast Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing