We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet and quirky B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My disclaimer: I don't usually stay at B&Bs so please consider that if reading this review. I was with my daughter and we wanted to have an authentic holiday in Wales! So, the location is smack dab in the middle of the adorable town in Conwy. The owners are really nice, and coffee & breakfast very good. Everything in the house is small...our bedroom with twin beds (super comfy) was very tiny. We couldn't bring our medium suitcases in the room as two wouldn't fit so we carried clothes up from the vehicle. The bathroom had a very small shower and single sink. It was really, really hot when we stayed and of course no AC in Wales . We had a small fan, but...our room was on a corner and unbelievably noisy with partying thru the wee hours. It was a conundrum - close windows and be super hot, or leave open and hear the noise! Either way, even with ear plugs and very comfy beds, it was tough sleeping. But the owners obviously don't control the weather!

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty tiny; ours very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dm125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Gwynfryn B & B, and had a wonderful experience. It has an excellent location, within easy walking distance of the train station, castle, and harbor. The room, like nearly all B & B rooms, was small, but comfortable, quiet, and clean. The made-to-order breakfasts were excellent with plenty of variety. But what made the visit really special was the fact that Colin and Monica made us feel at home. Colin was very willing to answer questions and provided helpful assistance.

Conwy is a fun town to wander and serves as a nice home base for visiting North Wales. We saw all 5 of King Edward's major castles and took the spectacular Mt. Snowdon train ride.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Colin and Monica's B and B is located within the city walls of Conwy. Parking is available outside the walls with a short walk in. From the B and B you can walk to any part of the city including Conwy Castle. We also visited Caernarfon Castle and Beaumaris Castle while staying here. They are only a short drive from Conwy. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of well cooked choices using local ingredients. Our room was good with a huge bathroom attached. We look forward to the day we can return to stay at Gwynfryn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

What an absolutely lovely B&B, we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. Colin & Monica are superb hosts, and the breakfasts are superb.
We stayed in the Lilac room which was spotless, wonderfully decorated and had everything you needed. We slept very well in the lovely comfy bed.
I would recommend staying here to all my friends and family and we will definitely be returning.
Thanks for making our stay perfect.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LiverpoolHotChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had no recommendation and it was a last minute decision but we certainly made the right one.
A truly warm genuine welcome as we arrived. Our room was divine it had everything we could possibly need. The choices for breakfast were endless, nothing was too much trouble, our every need was attended to. Monica & Colin's knowledge of the surrounding area was so helpful.
The décor and furnishings were incredible and unique. I would recommend all my family and friends to visit without hesitation

Room Tip: I am not aware that there are any faults in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great, clean, well located B&B. Collin and Monica made us feel at home without intruding. Both our rooms were spotless, beds were great, and breakfast was supper. The complimentary car park was literally a block away. Hiked Snowden and the Great Orem. The town had lovely restuarnts as well. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank GiantIguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

the best b&b I've ever stayed in! Outstanding cleanliness, value, breakfast and service. Nothing was too much trouble. Suggested an excellent bistro, public house and local information including the blue grass festival. We tried to book another night here and unfortunately had no vacancies, they rang round other local b&bs to ensure we had somewhere to stay. Which was fantastic as we enjoyed a hearty locally sourced cooked breakfast by Colin! I would recommend staying here to everyone!! Only thing wrong when you find a little gem like this is you want to keep it secret to make sure you get booked in next time!!!!
Truly outstanding...... well done guys!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jacqui r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Conwy hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castlebank Hotel
Castlebank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Conwy
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glan Heulog Guest House
0.1 mi away
Bridge Inn Conwy
Bridge Inn Conwy
#6 of 22 in Conwy
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pen y Bryn
Pen y Bryn
#9 of 22 in Conwy
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 York Place | Off Lancaster Square, Conwy LL32 8AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range: £100 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B set within the heart of the historical walled town of Conwy. Visit Wales 4 Star accomoation close to all attractions, shops & restaurants. Conwy Castle is only 2 minutes walk away from our Bed and Breakfast. Free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwynfryn Bed And Breakfast Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing