We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Town House B&B Guest House
Ranked #7 of 21 Conwy B&B and Inns
Regina, Sk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Town House (B&B) Guest House is a 3 minute walk with luggage from the small train platform, 3 minutes from the Conwy Castle Entrance, 3 minutes from the dock, and right across the street from one of the wall entrances. We stayed in room #4, which gave us a great view of Conwy Castle.

Alan, Elaine and their dog Glen made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. Glen took our luggage to our room and back down the stairs again when we left. The room was clean, quite and very comfortable, with free Wi-Fi. There is no room safe.

My breakfast consisted of eggs, toast, fruit, coffee, juice, sausage all served just the way I asked for it. My wife had the 'Elaine fruit sundae, see attached photo. We stayed here 2 nights and would definitely stay here again.

We took the train from Stafford Upon Avon to get here. You arrive on platform 2 from Chester and leave on platform 1 to go back to Chester. The station is 'not' manned so we had picked up our departure tickets in Birmingham. You can buy tickets on the train, which will cost you more. We bought all our 5 weeks of train tickets online while in Canada 6 weeks before we came to UK. Buying train tickets this way is much cheaper.

Conwy has lots of history to explore but we found a lot of enjoyment walking in and around Conwy. We walked 14 miles on our 2nd day here, walking through the town and out along the beach and golf course and all the way up 'Conwy Mtn' (more like a Canadian 'hill' back home).

Not a lot of places to eat supper here after 7:00, pubs even stopped serving food (do not undertstand why ?). We found a couple of Italian Restaurants around 'Lancaster Square' that were open and were very good.

Overall we had a GREAT time in Conwy. Thank you Alan, and Elaine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar_OShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

A small, friendly b & b with excellent service and breakfast, in a beautiful little town. Despite the room being quite small, it was very comfortable, had sufficient cupboard space and everything else we needed, as well as a lovely view of the castle. Mark and Julie are doing a great job!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlynnec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snohomish wa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed two nights in September 2013. Mark and Julie were nice and helpful, but seemed a little burned out at the end of their long, first summer. Toilet on the top floor required multiple flushes (5 to 7 flushes every time) and there was a pee odor. There was no guest sitting area/lounge, even though the bedrooms are quite small. This was a problem for us since we had a late evening train and had to rent another space from someone else to wait for the train with our luggage.

Though this B&B is located on a busy street (cars and buses) the room was totally sound-proof; very quiet. The red poppy wallpapered room was lovely. Everything was very clean.

Room Tip: don't stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S2489HXDavidG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thanks for your review, we’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay but this has come as a great surprise to us due to the glowing report you wrote in our guest book and the effusive compliments you gave us as you left.
Although we helped you via email to sort out your train travel to Conwy and offered to collect you from the station, you unfortunately arrived with us in rather bad spirits as you had previously crashed your hire car. At your request, we accommodated you in 2 separate rooms, a double en suite and an adjacent single and before you arrived, you were made aware via email that you would both have to share the bathroom in the en suite room and on this basis we offered you the rooms at a discounted price. On arrival however, you asked if you could use another bathroom because you didn’t want to disturb your wife. We agreed that you could use the bathroom for another room which then meant that we could not let that room to anyone else.
You said you were very happy with the rooms you had been given and at no point did you tell us there was a problem with being on the top floor. As for suggesting there was a smell of urine in the bathroom, I had to clean up after you in two bathrooms every morning and can only suggest that you aim a little better next time sir.
During your stay with us, you wouldn’t take any advice or help which is your prerogative but it did result in your wife becoming annoyed with you and creating arguments which were played out in front of us, making us feel very uncomfortable indeed. As you had not made any plans for onward accommodation, you used our private telephone on several occasions for long periods of time to try to make bookings in Scotland but when you told us you were struggling to do so, my wife made a trip to the Tourist Information Centre to specifically ask if they could help you further which they readily agreed to do. However, when you visited them you said they were unable to help you which we found very surprising.
Unfortunately by the time you realised that you had messed up your onward travel plans and asked if you could stay in our dining room for 11 hours after you had checked out, my wife had already arranged for another guest to use the room to hold a meeting with Social Care about her disabled mother’s care plan. As this guest had travelled from Australia specifically for this meeting and the original venue had fallen through, we felt it more important to honour that commitment. My wife offered to help you to change your train times so that you could travel in the day rather than overnight but again you refused this offer. This being the case, my wife then rang round several places in Conwy to find you somewhere to stay for the day after you checked out from us. This search was successful and we offered to take you and your luggage to the new accommodation, however this is when another argument occurred between you and your wife. You eventually decided to leave your luggage with us for the day and we gave you a key to our home for you to collect it at your own convenience even though technically you were no longer guests here. Other than driving you to Scotland ourselves, I have no idea what else we could have done to assist you.
We were completely unaware that you had any concerns during your stay with us and so were not given the chance to rectify anything but it is strange that these complaints only came to light after we were unable to accommodate both you and your baggage for the entire day after your check out. It is a great pity that the fact that you had a car accident and then failed to make adequate travel plans has caused you to leave negative comments which sully the reputations of not only our guest house but also the one you travelled to in Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Every aspect was superb. The location is great, especially if you arrive by train. Mark and Julie are excellent hosts, going out of their way to assure that we had a great visit. The house itself was as nice a B&B as we have experienced. The breakfast was excellent. I have nothing but praise for them and the B&B.

Their recommendations for places to dine resulted in our having two surprisingly good meals for so small and remote a town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorsikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it is very important to us that our guests enjoy their time with us. We were very pleased that you enjoyed the history of Conwy and hope that the photographs you took will bring back happy memories of your time here. If ever you are in Wales again, we would be very pleased to see you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our two night stay could not have been better. The town house is situated in an excellent location. Very close to the castle and within short walking distance to all local amenities. The room we had was spotless and Julie's cooked breakfasts were out of this world! We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts Mark and Julie who even took us out to a couple of the local pubs , where we met some of Conways charming locals. We had a fabulous mini break and will definitely be returning again soon. Big thanks to Mark and Julie for making our stay special.
All the best Mr and Mrs Data .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. If you are ever in our orbit again, we will be very happy to see you and please give our best wishes to Jean-Luc!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

we loved this place from the start. Charmingly decorated, perfect location, helpful and friendly hosts, spectacular breakfast, what else can I say. We loved the town and the B & B and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 321KMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review. It was great to have you stay with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed Conwy so much. Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Mark and Julie could not have been nicer or more helpful! They were accommodating to all of our needs. The Town House is lovely, very clean and very well located in the town. The breakfast was the best we've had in the UK thus far!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggy13la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPSMP, Owner at The Town House B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review, they are very important to us. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here and hope that the rest of your vacation was just as enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wales in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Bridge Inn Conwy
Bridge Inn Conwy
#6 of 21 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glan Heulog Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House B&B Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House B&B Guest House

Property: The Town House B&B Guest House
Address: 18 Rose Hill Street, Conwy LL32 8LD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Town House is one of the very few houses offering bed and breakfast accommodation situated within the medieval walls of Conwy Town. We are located opposite Conwy Castle, offering guests some of the finest views of both the castle and the town walls. The guest house, owned and managed by Julie & Mark Poole, was built in the Victorian era around 1849 and has been restored and upgraded to provide tastefully decorated and furnished en-suite bed and breakfast accommodation. The Town House benefits from being close to several pay and display car parks offering overnight parking for as little as £0.60. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Town House B&B Guest House Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing