We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and very friendly welcome.”
Review of Whinward House

Whinward House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whinward House
Ranked #11 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Rugby, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Warm and very friendly welcome.”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We found out about Chris and Janis at Whinward House from the excellent tourist information office in Conwy, they told us we would be welcomed into a lovely family home in a quiet location just 5 minutes easy drive from the town centre.
The reality exceeded their advice and within seconds of our arrival we were made to feel completely at home.
We were given a choice of rooms which were equally spotless and inviting with no traffic noise at all.
Chris and Janis are very friendly and easy to talk to so we soon found that there are several lovely walks that can be taken from the house without needing the car.
It's a very enjoyable 10 minute walk along the banks of the River Conwy back into town and if you don't want that there is a choice of good places to eat and drink even closer to the B&B. Also you can be up in the rolling hills above the estuary in just 15 minutes enjoying the wonderful views.
If you just want to relax for the evening there are TV's with built-in DVD players in both rooms and Chris and Janis have a huge selection of films and music DVD's which they are happy for you to borrow.
Breakfast is a chatty and filling experience with every taste catered for (try the Scrambled Egg and Smoked Salmon, yum yum).
We will be returning for a longer stay in future so we can fit in the things we didn't get time for and once again enjoy the marvelous hopitality so freely offered.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilandVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whinwardhouse, Owner at Whinward House, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review of our B&B. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed your company. It is the best think about B&B we meet so many nice people and are sad to see them go. I hope you'll come back to us again sometime. Regards Janis and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    13
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Wonderful couple who run this b and b. Little details like they are happy for you to take a takeaway back and use their kitchen facilities. By the door there is sun cream and an umberellas which is a great touch. Excellent for light sleepers like me. Had the best nights sleep in ages.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conwy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This was our first B & B experience ! What a delightful stay we had! Upon our arrival we were greeted very warmly by Chris & Janis our Hosts. A walk through the garden (which is lovingly cared for by Chris, on into their home with artistic touches by Janis. The book collection is great , along with the beautiful conservatory to visit in and plan your day. The breakfasts were delicious and prepared the way you liked it! The table settings were different everyday and the dining room so inviting. Chris & Janis were very helpful with guiding our way through Conwy. It is a short and lovely walk into town by the water.
Conwy is beautiful, and a must see for sure! We also had a lovely,airy comfortable room.
And did I mention the book and music collection that you can cozy up too! And don't forget to ask Janis to share some great stories!
Thank you Chris & Janis, we look forward to seeing you again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miri777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2010

My friend and I stayed at Whinward House for a weekend's scrambling in Snowdonia. The facilities were great, even running to a carport for my car. The welcome was genuine and the breakfast was also excellent. Very convenient for exploring the town of Conwy on foot and for exploring the wider area by car.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2010

My wife & I enjoyed our two day stay at this excellent B & B. Hosts Chris & Janis Ward lookd after us very well and gave extremely useful advice regarding local amenities etc. Accommodation was very comfortable with appetizing breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappywanderersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a wonderful experience. Hosts Janis and Chris are very thoughtful and helpful to all guests, and make everyone feel welcome and at home. It was very clean, they served very good breakfasts, and we slept well in our very comfortable room. It is located in a quiet residential area, and extremely convenient to town and nearby locations. Conwy is a 10 minute walk away. Would highly recommend to anyone.
IT WAS A CHARMING PLACE WITH CHARMING HOSTS. WE LOVED OUR STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchies2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in UK
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Whinward House is a beautiful B&B in a very quiet street just outside the castle walls of Comwy. The hosts Chris & Janis were extremely friendly and helpful. The house is a picture and the room wonderful. The bed was very comfortable and it was the best two nights sleep I have had since we arrived in the UK. Janis made us feel completely at home and it was like you were staying with old friends. Breakfast cooked to order. We originally booked for 1 night, but liked it so much we stayed for 2. Could easily have stayed for more. Well reccommended to anyone looking for that little bit of special treatment.
Jim & Jan Australia

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saddoAussieinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,531 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.7 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#9 of 22 in Conwy
88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sychnant Pass Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whinward House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whinward House

Property: Whinward House
Address: Whinacres | Conwy Morfa, Conwy LL32 8ET, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1890's former Coach House with lots of character and views of Conwy Mountain from rear. Open all year round. 2 Double rooms with kingsize beds, en-suite shower, TV/DVD/radio and complimentary tea tray. Sitting room and conservatory overlook beautiful gardens, walled and gated grounds offering secure car parking. Near to Golf course, Town, beaches and Marina, Post Office and restaurants. Ideal base for whole of North Wales and Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whinward House Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing