We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage, excellent location to explore...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wern Cottage

Front view of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Front view of cottage
Laburnam Arch at Bodnant Garden
Purple sky at Conwy
The Fairy Glen
Daffodils at Bodnant Garden
Wild Carneddau ponies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Conwy, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
urbanslot...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fabulous cottage, excellent location to explore the wonders of North Wales”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

As first timers to North Wales, we were very lucky to find this gem of a cottage. The location was perfect to visit the castles, stunning seaside and Snowdonia National Park which the area is famous for.

Having a very well equipped self catering accommodation was perfect for our family and after a long day out, we felt like we were coming back to our own home.

We stayed at Wern Cottage for 4 nights in total, but wish we could have been there for more. Would love to return again. A big 'Thank You!' to Jane and Lawrence.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Wern. We do hope that you will come back to visit north Wales again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Wern Cottage in the future. Best Wishes, Jane & Laurence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home from home”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great location, ideal for either mountain walks or a quick trip to the beach and other local attractions, highly recommended
Cottage has everything you need to feel at home, owners very welcoming.
We have to children under 6 and they both loved it also

Will stay again next time we wish to visit north wales

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your review Simon. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Wern in the future. Best wishes, Jane & Laurence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbanit...
Mango Hill, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful week at Wen”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was the most comfortable, beautiful cottage, with everything you could possibly need for a week's stay. We were close to so many wonderful places to visit but loved coming home each night to Wern. There is a lovely little pub in the village a two minute walk away for nights when you don't want to cook. We didn't make it to the Austrian restaurant, but nice to have the choice so close.
The owners were there to welcome us on checking in day, so good to have everything explained although there are ample guides and notes in the cottage. We especially enjoyed one of the owner's beautiful photography in the cottage too.
If we every return to Wales I would not hesitate to stay at Wern again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was so nice to meet you both and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday too and especially the trip to Iceland. Please do come and stay at Wern if you are ever this way again. You will always receive a warm welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garymcbri...
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Easter at Wern Cottage”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at Wern Cottage over the New Year and enjoyed our time and in the surrounding country so much we booked again for Easter.

It was a lovely week for us as the cottage is very comfortable, inviting and homely. It has everything we need as a family from wifi to bird tables!

We found our hosts Jane and Laurence very friendly, straightforward and helpful.

We hope to visit again in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
That's very kind of you Gary and very much appreciated. Always welcome. Cheers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blodwench
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Appalled!”
Reviewed 25 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

It's Christmas Day. The dinner is cooking - at least the cooker works! However, the TV does not. This has ruined our Christmas Day. It I was renting a cottage, the two things I would have done for someone renting around Christmas are: 1} check the cooker works and 2} check the TV works.
They couldn't even be bothered to check if the TV standby light was working.

We would not have booked had we known

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2016
Dear Vivian,
We were so very sorry to read your review of your recent stay at Wern Cottage over Christmas. Laurence and I always try our very best to ensure that every one of our guests enjoys their time at Wern no matter how long their stay, and this we feel, has been reflected in the many excellent reviews and positive feedback we have received. If only you had let us know by either phone call, text, email etc., that you were having trouble switching on the TV we would have been able to tell you where the on / off switch was located straight away and hopefully saved you all this upset. We realise that this info will not be much help to you now but there is a rocker switch on the rear of the TV (bottom right corner) which switches the TV on/off. In fact the manufacturer has helpfully added an info sticker on the front of the TV to indicate this and we also mention it in the instructions section in the green Wern Cottage information folder. We will certainly make sure we highlight this even more to our future guests as a result of your feedback.
That said, we do normally leave the TV and the BT Vision box in standby mode for our guests but on this occasion, because the cottage had been empty the week prior to your arrival we had switched the TV off using the aforementioned power switch and we forgot to switch it back to standby. We sincerely regret that your experience of Wern Cottage was not up to expectation on this occasion.
Wishing you both a very happy, healthy and peaceful 2017.

Jane and Laurence Clark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in North Wales
Liked least: Lack of basic kitchen and bathroom products
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Wern and am sorry that you found a few things were remiss. We do strive to make our guests stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and therefore I will definitely look into providing the items you have suggested. There is normally salt and pepper at the cottage so I am puzzled as to why they were not in their usual place. Up until last year we did provide bathroom products but found that people tended not to use them as they tended to bring their own. We do still provide hand soaps of course in the bathrooms and in the kitchen and washing powder for the washing machine. For clothes drying there is a clothes airer available and also an outside drying line. We are looking at updating the washing machine soon and hope to upgrade to provide a washer/dryer facility for our guest convenience in the future. Thanks again for your comments. We really do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
catheeTon...
Tonbridge
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage for four”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Clean,well decorated and equipped cottage. Hidden away in pritty village. Convenient position for touring.
Court yard to sit in but not really suitable for small children to play in Off road parking.Central heating works fine. No starter pack of fuel provided for fire which was disappointing after a long drive on a wet chilly day.
Shower in main bedroom in an alcove .We did not realise that this was not an en suite with a loo.until we saw it. There is just one loo in the bathroom upstairs. Probably should have read the details more carefully but have never seen an arrangement like this .
This is a well presented cottage as long as you are happy with the above arrangement s.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and fittings
Liked least: Lack of second loo. Shower in alcove in bedroom with no loo.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Hello, Thank you so much for your review and for booking Wern Cottage.We really appreciate all of your comments. I am sorry you were disappointed that there was no fuel starter pack for your stay. Guests are of course welcome to use the stove at any time of the year but we only normally provide fuel in the colder months (October to end of March) Sorry if this was not made clear. Yes, the en-suite shower does not have a separate toilet. The Wern Cottage website does have this information and photographs but I will certainly make sure that this is made clear in our Holiday Lettings page. Thank you again for taking time to write a review. We appreciate all of your feedback and we do hope you will come back and stay at Wern in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing