We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bridge End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bridge End Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Went to Llangollen for the weekend (not staying at the Bridge End Hotel but chose to eat there for both nights). The food is absolutely excellent, the braised steak in rich onion gravy is to die for. I had it both nights and hubby had it the 2nd night because it was so good - first night he had the plaice and that was excellent too. The best thing is all the food is piping hot and on hot plates (just the way I like it, hate it when food comes lukewarm and on cold plates!!). Fantastic and great value - well done! -:)

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    62
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
19
96
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were unfortunate enough to be allocated Room 4 during our stay. It was a 'double' room but there was barely room to 'swing a cat' and it was extremely claustrophobic. There was a tiny window overlooking the car park. Unfortunately there were no other rooms available that we could be moved to. Also the toilet in the bathoom was stained and didn't flush properly and a bit fell off the shower door whilst we were using it. I don't think that the hotel should be using this room - it is not up to standard. The breakfast was reasonable and service at breakfast excellent - but the breakfast room could do with a bit of a brightening up. I am surprised at the number of excellent reviews on trip adviser for this hotel although I recognise that it is extremely reasonably priced and is in the centre of town - I suppose if you are lucky enough to be in a decent room it is fine.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 4 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trip037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Have stayed here on several occasions. Allocated a room with a view of the street, bridge, and river. Comfortable bed, bathrooms appear to be recently renovated. Not the most luxurious of hotels but if you like a friendly welcome and a lively bar then this is the place to stay. There is plenty of choice of eating places in Llangollen, on this occasion we ate at the Bridge End, good choice and reasonably priced menu. If you like your sport then Sky Sports is available in the bar.Full English Breakfast was delicious. Price of £60 for B&B for two is good value. Co-owner Josie is a good laugh and always welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellonfudr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We visited Llangollen by canal for a few days. Visited the Bridge End Hotel/Pub on Friday evening. Busy in both the restaurant and pub - appears to be a popular place with the locals.
Met up with friends and eat in the restaurant - excellent steaks. Beer was well kept and the staff were friendly and efficient. Costs were good value. Steaks for four of us, starters, bottle of wine and three rounds of drink was £90. If you are visiting by the canal - worth dropping in at least once whether couples or families. We were going to go back on the Saturday, but our plans were amended by a busy body resident who overloooks the mooring basin, and immediately complained to the trip boat basin booking agent once we reached our 48 hrs maximum - we had already asked for an extension when we first arrived at the basin as it was empty - pity really as it stopped us spending more time and money in Llangollen. The town council should really sort out this anti-business individual and planning restriction at the risk of keeping the local businesses afloat. D&S 26-4

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Good location to visit this small Welsh village.
All rooms are up a long flight of stairs
There is a small pub which the locals love but the noise was never an issue
Cooked to order breakfast was great and so was our host Josie
If you want to relax in a small village this is the place

Room Tip: All rooms are a climb up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellynminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llangadfan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed here last Satrday, and was impressed by the friendly staff, the state of the room, very clean everything worked, also very quiet, and an excellent breakfast, for a very reasonable price,
hotel is well placed for touring, i was using the railway so the hotel is in excellent position

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stopped by on tuesday evening after a lovely day out in wales. Four of us in our group and what a meal we were treated to ,the steak medium rare and cooked to a tee , the duck on a bed of rice was also fab , we will be returning .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenportsNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
432 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
240 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge End Hotel

Property: Bridge End Hotel
Address: Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bridge End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge End Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing