We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly hotel”
Review of Bridge End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bridge End Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good friendly hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here with my husband a couple of weeks ago And i can honestly say it's one of the most friendly hotels I have stayed in. From the bar staff to cleaners to waitress staff, everyone couldn't do enough to help. The hotel itself, I wouldn't say is 5 star and is a little dated, but it was clean and that's the most important thing to me. We did get a front room which as its on a main road can be a little noisy from the drinkers outside, but after a good days walking in Llangollen it didn't put me off crashing to sleep. We also had a meal in the restaurant and the food was terrific. Overall if you are looking for a good friendly hotel with excellent food then I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenn_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    63
    23
    13
    7
See reviews for
22
101
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

june 8th 15 friends and myself celebrated a friends special birthday. The food was excellent, the staff were very helpful. Its the best lamb shank I've had in years, Everyone else also enjoyed there meal too.
Would like to thank the chef and his team for superb service.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ronnie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

A group of friends and I called in for food. There were 7 of us. We ordered food and waited for our food to arrive. After 45 minutes one of our party went to enquire how long it would be, we were told it would be out any minute. After another 15 minutes and another enquiry, the waitress said there was a problem in the kitchen. We again asked how long and were told about 30 minutes.

When our food eventually arrived, two of them had to be sent back to be reheated/replaced. One of our party had to wait a further 15 minutes for her meal after the rest of us had been served. We asked to speak to the manager.

We were told that she was upstairs in her curlers and that the waitress could deal with our complaints. We asked for a round of drinks to compensate for our extremely long wait, we were told that could not be done.

We then asked for the manager to come down to deal with the matter, she again refused and we were told she was ill. The waitress who was dealing with us, had informed her that we had been told there was a delay of 30 - 45 minutes when we placed our order for food. This was a total lie. Had we been told there was such a delay we would have gone elsewhere, as we were all quite hungry.

One of our party asked to speak to the manager (she again refused to come down to speak to us). The outcome was that she was extremely rude and very abusive, she told us we were liars, (because her staff had lied to her and she chose to beleive them). I spoke to other customers who had also asked for free drinks for the very long wait for food, they too were refused and they were even booked into stay there. Eventually we were offered free deserts, which we refused.

The staff here need to go on a customer service training programme and the manager/licensee definately needs to proactively manage her staff and no from upstairs.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gardnergirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mold
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Well this is one of the most difficult reviews i have written for a while in terms of assessing the quality of the food. The reason for this being myself and 2 friends here whilst going on the real ale train, all started well the hotel is clean tidy and in a superb location for exploring the town and surrounding countryside. The pub and hotel were busy and very friendly. The only difficult part was assessing the breakfast after a few too many of the finest real ales i was unable to make it to the breakfast table as i enjoyed a well earned lie in with a slight headache! my friends did inform that breakfast was superb so well done to the bridge inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Went to Llangollen for the weekend (not staying at the Bridge End Hotel but chose to eat there for both nights). The food is absolutely excellent, the braised steak in rich onion gravy is to die for. I had it both nights and hubby had it the 2nd night because it was so good - first night he had the plaice and that was excellent too. The best thing is all the food is piping hot and on hot plates (just the way I like it, hate it when food comes lukewarm and on cold plates!!). Fantastic and great value - well done! -:)

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were unfortunate enough to be allocated Room 4 during our stay. It was a 'double' room but there was barely room to 'swing a cat' and it was extremely claustrophobic. There was a tiny window overlooking the car park. Unfortunately there were no other rooms available that we could be moved to. Also the toilet in the bathoom was stained and didn't flush properly and a bit fell off the shower door whilst we were using it. I don't think that the hotel should be using this room - it is not up to standard. The breakfast was reasonable and service at breakfast excellent - but the breakfast room could do with a bit of a brightening up. I am surprised at the number of excellent reviews on trip adviser for this hotel although I recognise that it is extremely reasonably priced and is in the centre of town - I suppose if you are lucky enough to be in a decent room it is fine.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 4 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trip037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Have stayed here on several occasions. Allocated a room with a view of the street, bridge, and river. Comfortable bed, bathrooms appear to be recently renovated. Not the most luxurious of hotels but if you like a friendly welcome and a lively bar then this is the place to stay. There is plenty of choice of eating places in Llangollen, on this occasion we ate at the Bridge End, good choice and reasonably priced menu. If you like your sport then Sky Sports is available in the bar.Full English Breakfast was delicious. Price of £60 for B&B for two is good value. Co-owner Josie is a good laugh and always welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellonfudr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.7 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
262 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge End Hotel

Property: Bridge End Hotel
Address: Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bridge End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge End Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing