We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, very friendly”

Hillcrest Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangollen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Guest House
Ranked #18 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay, very friendly”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were here for a week and couldn't fault it. Very well looked after by a friendly couple. The dog was also very well looked after - and Dave & Trish were very happy for him to be there with us unlike some places where you feel the dog is 'tolerated'.
Once you know where the car park entrance is then it's really not a problem even in a fairly large car.
It's convenient for the town which has plenty of places where you can eat and a good base for exploring the local area.
We'll probably be back for another holiday - maybe next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enigmaBritain, Owner at Hillcrest Guest House, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
We were very happy to have Timmy and his Mum and Dad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my hen weekend and we were made very welcome! Breakfast was great and rooms spacious and comfortable. Dave was good fun and very helpful. The location is excellent and close to the town, and the hill was no problem even after a few drinks! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertslucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

only stayed the one night but owners where friendly and most helpful. rooms where great and free pool table was a bonus. breakfast was good, location was up a hill but not enough to put anyone off stopping there. good location 2 mins from centre so no loud parties going past and parking idea. would stop again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Nice room, very clean and a very good welcome by both the owners. We took our dog with us and she got a very warm welcome too. Plenty of hot water, nice breakfast cooked to order at the time of your choosing!
Good parking at the rear of the property,be careful when coming up the hill as the access to the car park is tight. No access to the hotel from the car park, however once you are in the hotel you can leave the hotel from the rear to bring cases etc into the hotel the door only opens one way. Good security if you think about it!
Didn't use the louge but it looks very comfortable!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgieNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enigmaBritain, Owner at Hillcrest Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and hoped your little staffie had a good time aswell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just wanted to write a quick review, mainly to say thanks for an amazing weekend. This is a great place to stay and I can't recommend it highly enough. Oweners are extremely friendly, and this makes everyone feel completely at ease. All the guests are friendly, enjoyed a good chin wag during breakfast both days.

No bad points about the place. Great room, very confy bed, nice powerful hot shower. Pefect base for our activity weekend.

Thanks once again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rava1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enigmaBritain, Owner at Hillcrest Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Hope the activity weekend didnt tire you out too much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrNom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just the one nights stay, the owners made me feel very welcome, the room was clean, comfy and quiet. the lounge area is cosy with a nice comfy sofa and a fabulous fireplace.

The property is only a few hundred metres from the town centre, it is located an a steep hill on a narrow road, so be careful as you drive up. Parking (ample) is just beyond the property on the left,

Breakfast Sunday morning was superb, served by the owner, a Liverpool FC fan, who was open to some friendly banter , especially as my beloved West Bromwich Albion had beaten his team 3-0 on Saturday :-)

Llangollen, is an amazing little town, with loads going on, go visit the town and stay at the Hillcrest you will not be disappointed.
Dr Nom

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enigmaBritain, Owner at Hillcrest Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
David said even WBA fans are welcome at Hillcrest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Lots of places in Llangollen claim to be pet friendly but but after an impromptu phone around found this not to be the case. Hillcrest though, actually is. What a wonderful warm welcome we and our dog Barney got. He had free roam of the house and garden and it made this our second visit to beautiful Llangollen an absolute pleasure. The rooms were immaculate, the breakfast was delicious and our hosts were warm and friendly and felt absolutely genuine. What a gem of a find. We will definitely be back! Thankyou. Andrea, John and Barney.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, the back bedroom next to the fire door is very handy indeed. Keep the window clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreais40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enigmaBritain, Owner at Hillcrest Guest House, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you! Barney and "Mum and Dad" welcome anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Property: Hillcrest Guest House
Address: Hillcrest Hill Street, Llangollen LL20 8EU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillcrest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing