We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of Llangollen Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Llangollen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Couldn't be faulted, friendly welcome, central location, clean and cosy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyof9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

Never stayed in a hostel before and I thought it was very clean and tidy! Rooms, bed sheets and ensuite were very clean and looked after. Kitchen and dining area was well laid out for all to see which made breakfast easy. Staff very friendly and in a good area next to pubs, restaurants and shops all 2 min walk.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataliesbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Myself and a friend took a trip to Llangollen to do some local gorge walking and white water kyaking. The Llangollen Hostel was in a perfect location and a two minute walk to the adventure centre and local shops/pubs. The hostel was exceptionally clean and provided all the facilities you'd need...drying room, clean ensuite rooms, a very well equiped kitchen with access to tea and coffee all day! The staff were really friendly and welcoming. We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayleyjp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlangollenHostel, Manager at Llangollen Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

We're delighted you had such a great stay and look forward to seeing you here again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Stayed at Llangollen hostel recently with a few mountain biking mates, rooms were clean as was all bed linen.
The kitchen facilities were superb
With most of the things you would need for a breakfast already provided.

It was my first stay in a hostel for 10 years and will definitely going back there in the near future

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

All in all this place is a little gem. Stayed here twice and on both occasions the welcome has been better than a 4/5 star hotel. I use it as a base to rest after some scrambling and climbing. Oh yeah, there's a great drying room and wireless so don't forget your laptop/Netbook. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Llangollen hostel is good value for money. It is comfortable, clean and have staff who are friendly and offer advice on the local area. The kitchen area has all the utensils you need to get you through your stay. The day room is a fantastic area to sit and read or have a drink in the evening after a days activities. Plenty of board games for young and old alike! Secure storage for bikes is available. They have a dog that is often on site, alhough old and friendly if any one in your party is allergic or has an aversion you will need to be aware.
We would definelty recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLB1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I visited this hostel on May Bank Holiday weekend as part of a walking group. Everything was of the highest standard - especially the beds and the bathrooms. Very spacious, very nicely kitted out.

Exceptionally friendly helpful service from the assistant that was staying there.

This was as far removed from the normal hostels that I have stayed in as you can get. Would definitely go back.

Ideal location in the centre of town,.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bridge End Hotel
Bridge End Hotel
#14 of 26 in Llangollen
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornerstones Guesthouse
Cornerstones Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Llangollen
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llangollen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llangollen Hostel

Address: Isallt Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8NB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Llangollen
Price Range: £19 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangollen Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llangollen Hostel offers clean and comfortable twin and double rooms, en-suite family rooms, private four-bed and six-bed en-suite rooms, and a great value six-bed dorm. Our friendly staff will ensure you have a pleasant and happy stay. We have a fully-fitted kitchen for your self-catered accommodation, and as an added extra, all prices include a complimentary breakfast. You can enjoy your meals in the dining room, then relax in the spacious lounge by the log fire. We have a book exchange, free wi-fi internet, plenty of games and activities for adults and children alike, laundry facilities, a drying room, and bicycle and canoe storage. The hostel is perfectly located to explore the Vale of Llangollen, with its walking, climbing, canoeing and mountain biking. Llangollen offers a great choice of restaurants and traditional pubs. The town is home to many cultural events, including the Llangollen Fringe music and arts festival, and the annual International Eisteddfod. With Llandegla, Chester, Wrexham, the Offa's Dyke Path, and the whole of North Wales nearby, it's a great place to visit. At Llangollen Hostel you're assured of a happy and comfortable stay, freedom to come and go as you please, and above all, a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Llangollen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangollen Hostel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing