We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bryn Howel Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The hotel is nicely situated close to Llangollen, 5 minutes away by car or one hour along a nice canal towpath.

The room we stayed in was dated and a little musty-smelling. That said, it was clean and more than adequate. Apparently they are in the process of refurbishing the rooms. We obviously didn't stay in one of the refurbished ones.

Breakfast was good (self serve buffet) and importantly the hot food was kept very hot indeed. Staff and receptionists are not overly attentive or welcoming compared to many hotels we've stayed at, but not terrible by any means.

Overall, the hotel is fine as an inexpensive base for exploring Wales and I would recommend it based on the £50 we paid for our night's stay (including breakfast for two). I give it four out of five based on the price - had we paid the standard room rate of £105 it would have been poor value indeed. Give it a try as long as you can get a cheap rate deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg7255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Bryn Howel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights last week on dinner,bed and breakfast,and the whole stay was really good.We had a good bedroom,with an extremely large bathroom,with a corner whirlpool bath.The food was excellent,with good service.We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 15.It overlooks the carpark,but also has beautiful views of the hills.The bathroom i...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prestonian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We were invited to attend a family lunch at this hotel after having been to our friend's wedding reception the day before. (at a different venue) However, the bride and groom's family stayed here - as did the happy couple on their wedding night.

Lunch was yummie and the service was faultless, and if we are ever up in this area again, we will check out their availabilty and stay here - as opposed to the other venue where we stayed for 3 nights. {see my other review for Llangollen}.
We would have booked here had it not been for the fact that they were full.

Plenty of car parking facilities also

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Baby-Babble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Stayed here in a group of 38 touring the locality. All was good about the place with the location and standard of cuisine quite outstanding

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveabreakPenarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Bryn Howel for one night as part of a wedding party (we tried not to clog up reception or the bar!). All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean although the furniture had seen better days but was in the correct style for a Victorian house and a few tiles in the bathroom could do with adjustment. The view from our room was absolutely stunning. The shower was the best I have had for a long while - very soothing for travel sore shoulders. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Bar prices were a little high, although not for bar snacks - we thought these were very reasonably priced. The chocolate fountains (yes plural)were gorgeous. Breakfast - what can I say - plenty of choice, hot (especially the plates) and smiling, polite staff. Both check in and check out were smooth. We would definitely stay again and recommend the Bryn Howel for a stay in Llangollen. Iechyd da!

Room Tip: Garden view double rooms are the best
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonesthesmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Having got the room for one night via laterooms we were impressed by the place. Great location and great views. They also accept dogs which was a bonus. Okay,maybe the rooms are in slight need of modification but for £50 quid it was a huge bed with a solid mattress. No problems at all wih this place (we're not he sort of people that go away to watch tv or drink sherry). Would definately return

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My husband had stayed at the Bryn Howel a number of years ago on a business trip and promised to take me just to see the views from the dining room. We weren't disappointed as we had a table by the window and the views were gorgeous.
We booked last minute so didn't expect a fantastic room, but it was adequate. Dinner was good, waiter lovely! Couldn't fault breakfast. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden have the best views.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneConwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
2.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
776 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
490 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
275 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
812 reviews
3.5 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: £47 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Howel Hotel the most perfect setting for your perfect day, Set in the spectacular Dee Valley, alongside the Llangollen Canal absolutely outstanding views, Our aim is to provide perfect service and excellent food to all guests regardless of your choice of dining be it in our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and blazing open fire, to the amazing Ceder Tree Restaurant both of which have undergone major investment. Our award winning team of chefs are here to cater for your requirements, What ever they may be. The service team have undergone intense training to ensure your requirements are carried out to the letter, we pride our reputation on our standards of service, refer to Facebook or TripAdvisor for your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing