We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely breakaway treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bryn Howel Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely breakaway treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Have now made 3 trips to the hotel on special offer breaks so they must be doing something right! The highlight is the evening meal in the delightful restaurant overlooking the fabulous gardens. Great menu with a wide choice to cater for all tastes. Breakfasts (hot and cold buffet style) are more than adequate though not up to the high class standard of evening meals. Top tip: take an asbestos glove with you down to breakfast, the serviettes are not adequate to hold the extremely hot plates safely!!The bedrooms are fairly large and quite comfortable, but don't expect top quality luxury and you won't be disappointed. Great that the spa facilities at the sister hotel (the pheasant) down the road are available free of charge. We shall return on an offer break again, if only for the evening meals!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forkbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    178
    75
    30
    28
See reviews for
76
271
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Second time at this hotel it gets better under the keen eye of Patrick in the resturant the service is perfect the food is out of this world, very good Chef.
The hotel itself is a little shabby but I understand is being bought so hopefully the new owners will rectify this fault, but everything considered, staff food drinks and price is perfect.
Will certainly return cannot wait

Room Tip: We have dogs so they have a dog corridor we have stayed on both sides of the corridor one side overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassieRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Haywood, Stafford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Return visit to Bryn Howell.Nice friendly hotel,Staff lovely!!Stayed 2nights. Managed to get deal with dinner. Lovely setting with walks near canal. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jct
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

hotel was excellent,clean,tidy and beautiful surroundings
the staff were polite and very helpful,
the only downfall for me was the evening meals were a bit too expensive and out of the average working man's price range ,although there was a very reasonable bar food menu
we will be staying here again,it was brill
(p.s if you want to go into llangollen for a drink and something to eat take out a loan)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yaksterJct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I booked last minute getting a good deal. I was impressed with the location and the imposing building. The first member of staff I met was really welcoming and within 2 minutes we were in our room. The room was fine but a little dated. The shower was the most powerful I have ever experienced brilliant. We ate in the Bar the choice was good and the food was excellent. Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HexhamTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We asked for the same room as previously but had to take another as it was already booked. We seemed to be in a honeymoon room by the style of the soft furnishings. It was bigger and better than the one we loved before. The food is always excellent here. We have returned and will do so again. We love walking and this hotel has plenty of walks on the doorstep whether you want Offa's Dyke Walk, the Berwyn Mountains, the Llangollen Panorama walk or flat lowland and canal towpath walking.
There are plenty of activities in the area. The rooms are excellent. The food is excellent. If you decide to pay a visit do not take up our space when we next visit. That is my greatest fear about this place. It is so good and provides value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a good break along with a number of friends at the Bryn Howel.It was situated by the canal which was accessable through the hotel grounds and was a good two and a half miles into town.The views were scenic and we enjoyed watching the boats.
The hotel was good value,food excellent along with the service.We could not fault our room as it was warm and comfortable.
We were on a higher floor and maybe the stairway and curtains here may benefit from an update...on the whole the stay was pleasurable,reasonable and good,would recommend.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the hotel before and the rooms are different as expected in an older hotels,the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamond4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
2.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.5 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Property: Bryn Howel Hotel
Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Howel Hotel the most perfect setting for your perfect day, Set in the spectacular Dee Valley, alongside the Llangollen Canal absolutely outstanding views, Our aim is to provide perfect service and excellent food to all guests regardless of your choice of dining be it in our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and blazing open fire, to the amazing Ceder Tree Restaurant both of which have undergone major investment. Our award winning team of chefs are here to cater for your requirements, What ever they may be. The service team have undergone intense training to ensure your requirements are carried out to the letter, we pride our reputation on our standards of service, refer to Facebook or TripAdvisor for your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing