We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a fine hotel”
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bryn Howel Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This was once the premier hotel in the area, but is now looking very shabby. To be fair we only stopped by for a drink, so can't rate the food and accommodation. Family members in our party had held their wedding reception here and we were appalled at how standards seemed to have slipped. The bar area was dingy, dusty and smelly, plus there was no staff. We rang the bell three times and finally had to go and find someone to serve us. However when that person arrived he proceeded to serve others and not us. We then left. I am surprised there are so many good reviews about this place. Parts of the exterior looked very dilapidated. Yes the scenery and location are wonderful, but unless we hear that great improvements have been carried out we will not visit again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dottytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Spent a lovely weekend here with friends. Hotel represents great value for money, is full of country charm and has some lovely features. Accommodation is comfortable and clean but could do with a bit of updating. Congratulations to the chef as the food was faultless! Menu was varied with something to suit everyone, bar meals were equally good.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The maitre D, Patrick, was excellent and really looked after our party the whole weekend, his standard of service was exemplary!
Location wise the hotel is well placed for lots of outdoor activities including walking, canoeing on the river, cruising down the canal and for steam train enthusiasts. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the views from the hotel are stunning. Have stayed here a few times now and would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We went to this hotel for a wedding and could not have been more impressed with the stunning scenery that the hotel was surrounded by. Sadly, the inside did not quite match up and is, in some parts, in serious need of some decoration and modernisation.

Don't get me wrong, it's not terrible, and everything was clean, but it was old fashioned and outdated. We didn't spend much time in the room, but was surprised to find an old fashioned 'box' of a TV and it wasn't very big either. The bathroom was also in need of change, and although it was clean, it was dull and faded rather than bright and sparkling. The toilets near the bar were again clean, but reminded me of something you'd see in a horror film...cold, exposed pipes, white (well they were 25 years ago) tiles and somewhere I only went once, chosing to go back to the room later in the night!

The staff were, on the whole, polite and cheerful. The problem was there simply wasn't enough of them. The bar staff were seriously overworked and the wait for a drink was excessive. Not a massive problem because most people knew each other and were all getting along, but it was still a bit frustrating. Breakfast the next day was worse, just two members of staff for a busy dining room and there was quite a wait for toast and tea/coffee. That said, the breakfast was outstanding, one of the best I've had at a British hotel and the choice was superb. Plenty of cerial, yoghurts, fruit juices etc and a help yourself cooked selection with everything you'd imaging a cooked breakfast should have.

It was a shame the rooms were tired and there wasn't enough staff, otherwise this could have easily been a 4 or 5 star review. We got a discounted rate because of the wedding and paid £85 for B&B, it should have been around £120. If I'd have paid £120 I would have felt ripped off and scored it a 2, and it's this fact which would prevent me from going back, which as I say is a great shame, as i would gladly pay £120 for a modern well staffed hotel in this location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We've stayed here a couple of times, most recently in August 2012, and it is now our preferred choice in the area when we visit family. I should say we've tried a variety of other hotels over the years. This is a lovely old manor house and has its foibles and maintenance issues, but the staff are welcoming, the grounds are beautiful, the breakfasts are hearty and they take dogs. Our dog is particularly appreciative of the grounds and canal walks. I love the cosy bar (check out the ceiling and fireplace) and on our most recent visit we also enjoyed a very pleasant drink in the garden, with fantastic views over Dinas Bran (Crow Castle). For the prices we've paid, this is an absolute bargain.

Room Tip: There are special rooms set aside for travellers with dogs, but make sure you specify at time of boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I booked 4 rooms here at the end of August for my parents Ruby wedding anniversary, as they had their wedding reception here 40 years prior!
We enjoyed a DBB and we'd booked my parents a suite.
The rooms, (although could do with a bit of an update and some TLC), were great. We stayed in rooms 3, 4, 6 and 8 and we were all happy with our accommodation.
The staff were attentive, friendly and professional and the food in the restaurant really was fantastic. I honestly can't praise this place enough for the price!
Breakfast the next day was lovely, piping hot & 'help yourself'. I believe the sausages were lovely (although I am veggie so can't comment!). So if you're in the area & are looking for a fairly priced accommodation, with good food then this is the place!
I hear this place is in

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piggy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We paid a nostalgic visit to mark the fiftieth anniversary of our wedding night at this romantically located hotel. Much extended and enhanced since that memorable night - indeed we have visited frequently over the years - we had the joy of of the almost identical room (now, though large, about a third of the one in which we semi-camped under the eaves all those years ago!). We had the same stunning view across to the castle of Dinas Bran, and over dinner a truly epic sunset from the dining room (in 'our day' still part of the lovely terraced garden). There is so much to praise about the Bryn Howel which retains dignity and grace and pays due respect to its location and the historic features of the house.

However, the true star quality of the place resides in Patrick, the young Kenyan who presides over the restaurant with unmatched charm and professionalism. Hoteliers everywhere, take note: THIS IS THE WAY TO DO IT! This young man ensures without fuss that standards of service are high, and leads by example. He should run Master Classes on how to make visitors welcome and special and how thus to set the seal on the desire to come back for more! Even having a tray of tea delivered to us in the garden became a joyous experience.
He is beyond praise.

We also had delicious and imaginative food, both for dinner and for breakfast. A walk along the canal as barges drifted past, and the swallows filling the sky in the morning, all added to intense pleasure of our stay in this remarkably pleasant and very reasonably priced hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the original house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Well maintained hotel, good breakfast, efficient staff, superb views. Hotel is a few miles outside Llangollen in a mansion formerly owned by a local industrialist. Park entrance looks a bit unloved before you gain the long avenue of trees that leads to the hotel whose real charm is only revealed from the opposite, restaurant-side where the views are excellent. A forest of mature, exotic trees make up the foreground park area while the humpy green hills above Llangollen, one crested with a castle, dominate the horizon. We only found this at breakfast time. Otherwise the approach to the hotel tudoresque entrance is underwhelming and the car park has a rather desolate appearance. Rooms are fine and have nice sets of shampoos, tea making outfit etc. TV a bit dated. Freeview lacked BBC1, BBC2 and ITV. Thought the price x quality equation balanced. Would stay there again. Breakfast worth looking forward to.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the west side ie opposite side to the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiodeJaneiroWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
2.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
782 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
495 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
417 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
815 reviews
3.5 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: £49 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Howel Hotel the most perfect setting for your perfect day, Set in the spectacular Dee Valley, alongside the Llangollen Canal absolutely outstanding views, Our aim is to provide perfect service and excellent food to all guests regardless of your choice of dining be it in our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and blazing open fire, to the amazing Ceder Tree Restaurant both of which have undergone major investment. Our award winning team of chefs are here to cater for your requirements, What ever they may be. The service team have undergone intense training to ensure your requirements are carried out to the letter, we pride our reputation on our standards of service, refer to Facebook or TripAdvisor for your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing