We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite sure why this is rated as the #1 in Llangollen.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bryn Howel Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not quite sure why this is rated as the #1 in Llangollen.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A very adequate hotel, comfortable, certainly very warm. grounds are beautiful and relaxing, well maintained. However the place lacks the most basic customer comforts (and service).

Notwithstanding, I have two basic quirms with my experience....

Wi-Fi is virtually non-existent outside of the lobby area, whilst they have specified that it is available in public areas, with the technology being so affordable these days and so easy to set up, I cannot understand why hotels will not offer this as standard - especially a hotel as highly rated as this.

Staff attitudes were 'luke warm' (I remember seeing another review complaining about staff). It all started with a dispute over the phone about the room rate. The member of staff argued that the rate advertised had changed and "should have been taken down by now".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarjBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    178
    75
    30
    28
See reviews for
76
270
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a bit of trouble finding this hotel but it is in a very tranquil setting in the counrtyside.We were made to feel welcome as we checked in.Our room was quite small with a limited view from the window .The tv was small with limited channels ,there was dust in certain areas and the table lamp didnt work.There was also stains on the bedding,but not where we had to lie on.The bathroom was clean but narrow.Having mentioned the downside we had a lovely meal in the bar and the grounds were beautiful.When we had our breakfast the next morning the cooked breakfast was just warm and we dont like our coffee strong but it was really weak.This hotel could be so much better.

Room Tip: some rooms have limited views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stunning grounds and wonderful views across part of the Llangollen canal. Lovely welcome. Friendly atmosphere. Room large and well appointed. On suite best for very long time. Beautiful carved wood bed and very comfortable. Had taken notice of our request for no feathers in room which is the first time in our many worldwide travels that we felt safe and relaxed. Lovely evening meal in dining room unhurried and relaxed with attentive but not intrusive staff. Good nights sleep followed by good breakfast again unhurried and relaxing. Made to feel truly welcome despite only one nights stay. On departure felt like special guests. Would definitely return and most definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night stay with my partner and will definitely return again. Hotel is located in a beautiful location and the charm and character of the hotel, accompanied with the stunning views led us to thoroughly enjoying our relaxing and comfortable stay.

As with all older hotels, some parts do look very tired and definitely require updating and modernising including the blinds and curtains in the restaurant, televisions in the room as well as the old net shower curtain in the bathroom. However the positives definitely outweigh the negatives. The bed was extremely comfortable and the quiet and comfortable surroundings, as well as friendly staff and delicious food made our one night stopover very enjoyable.

We look forward to visiting again and The Bryn Howel Hotel definitely keeps a warm welcome in the hillside!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenthom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a room at the top of the hotel, lovely views and very clean. However, the bathroom was very warm, all the time and overall the room needed updating. We struggled to watch tv as it had been placed on an alcove below the bed! And there was a light not working on the dressing table. The bathroom had a wall of mirrors and a full glass door, which was very weird!
We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel but the breakfast was lovely, with a good choice. We did have drinks in the lounge bar, which was lovely and cosy, however, on the Thursday night we were asked politely if we would mind sitting in the library to finish our drinks at 23.15, so that they could close the bar, which we did, happily. On the Friday night, even with a few couples sat in the bar, the young bar man informed us that any further drinks would have to go on the room tab as he was closing the till, at 22.30. He then switched the music off and put the dish washer on, making us feel extremely uncomfortable!! We took the hint, and went to our room! We felt over all the staff were young and inexperienced! Not really putting the customer first! Due to this, we would not return!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trefor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked a last minute stay here and got a very good deal - less than half
price for B a B.
The hotel itself was very elegant and the restaurant was superb, but we can rate the stay only average overall, because of the room we were given. It was small, okay, clean and with a jet stream bath, so we were quite content at first.
But the proof of a room is it's occupancy....
My husband got a pain in his neck trying to watch the TV from the bed. The set was almost obsolete (very old box type, small screen) and was situated in an alcove lower than the bed, hence difficult to view from a height.
Worse was to come at night: the room got very hot. We checked and the radiator was cold. We opened the window, as wide as possible, although it was only March. But there we were, at two o'clock in the morning in a sauna-like room. Sleep was impossible.
Staff the next morning expressed surprise at our dilemma. We only stayed one night, otherwise we would have insisted on a different room. I suspect that we were near the heating system, my husband says we got that room because of the cheap price.... just beware - unless you like it really hot at night!

Room Tip: Ask if the room is near the heating system !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerainttrefor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our 3rd visit, I really love this hotel, and most of the staff are excellent.but the hotel states 'pets welcome, fees may apply'. the last 2 trips we we're charged £10 pn night for the dogs. However it was not till we checked out that we found this had been upped to £30 pn! So much for our bargain break, Loraine the corporate manager was not available, so Poor Dan had to do the dirty. Loraine had made no mention of the increase when booking us in, she gives the impession of being very un dog friendly. There are no extras for your Pup to warrant this increase, and given that this is the perfect dog walking venue, I get the feeling its aimed at edging peys out in favour of wedding and corporate business. If you really want to take your dog, I would try elsewhere, as kennels would be cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
2.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.5 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Property: Bryn Howel Hotel
Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Howel Hotel the most perfect setting for your perfect day, Set in the spectacular Dee Valley, alongside the Llangollen Canal absolutely outstanding views, Our aim is to provide perfect service and excellent food to all guests regardless of your choice of dining be it in our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and blazing open fire, to the amazing Ceder Tree Restaurant both of which have undergone major investment. Our award winning team of chefs are here to cater for your requirements, What ever they may be. The service team have undergone intense training to ensure your requirements are carried out to the letter, we pride our reputation on our standards of service, refer to Facebook or TripAdvisor for your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing