We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bryn Howel Hotel - a gem in the North Wales countryside.”
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bryn Howel Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions. Initially it was extremely well run by the family who owned it but subsequent owners/managers allowed the hotel in general to deteriorate. After a gap of some years I am delighted to confirm it is now right back where it belongs. It boasts a beautiful location with lawned gardens stretching down to the Llangollen Canal. The view is nothing short of spectacular, with the dining room providing a panoramic view over (I think) the Vale of Clwyd - truly breathtaking. The staff are polite, efficient and friendly and the food superb. A huge thank you to management and staff alike.

Highly recommended to all. I look forward to a return later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Bryn Howel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Plus points:
Interesting old building in lovely setting and views, right by the canal with good walking in either direction. All staff we encountered were pleasant and efficient, and seemed to be well trained. Room and beds were comfortable and clean. Dinner in the restaurant was very good - not an extensive menu, but a choice of about 5 or 6 dishes for each course, giving what we felt was a good variety. The starters (chicken liver pâté and seafood) and main courses (rib-eye steak and pot roast lamb) we had were unpretentious, but delicious and well presented. Vegetables were fairly standard fare but all of good quality, cooked just right to our taste, and included the best-tasting peas I've had for a long time - can't help wondering why they bothered with the mange tout! Followed up with cheese - fairly small selection and portions, but tasty and not chilled to death. House red wine quite acceptable (to us) in quality and price. This wasn't our first choice, but our first two choices weren't available. After the second attempt, the waitress checked and told us which wines were "off" (about four from the fairly extensive list) and, to be fair, suggested the house wine rather than steering us to the more expensive alternatives. Iced tap water was provided without the need to ask. Breakfast also very good - service perhaps a bit less attentive than at dinner, but no complaints.
Minus points (none of them show stoppers for us, but we want to give a fair and balanced view):
Reception desk was unstaffed when we arrived, around 4:30 on a Saturday afternoon, and we spent some time trying to find a member of staff before we could check in; this would have been less frustrating if the bell on the desk had been working!
Our room in the (relatively) modern extension felt a bit tired, the bathroom especially so, although everything was clean and worked OK. Plenty of hot water, but fixed shower head not ideal. As mentioned elsewhere, TV rather small, but no problem to us as we didn't go there to watch TV! Web site states that free wi-fi is available in public areas, but no information on this was provided in the room, or offered at reception (until I asked about it when we were leaving). Most serious shortcoming of room was the poor sound insulation, with far too much noise coming through from next door's bathroom. This didn't spoil our overnight stay, but could have done if we'd had noisy neighbours. Don't know whether this also applies to older rooms in original building.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and felt it good value, with the food very enjoyable. We booked by phone, following the hotel web sites's advice to "book direct for the best deals" and were quoted a better price than was offered online (online bookings from the web site go through booking.com). We've stayed at a couple of other hotels in Llangollen, and all seem to have their pros and cons. We would certainly consider Bryn Howel for another visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank steve11Manchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this country manor hotel. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. We loved the oak panelling and period furniture. We found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and welcoming.We had dinner, bed and breakfast which was delicious, and reasonably priced. We booked directly with the hotel reception.
The hotel is a short drive out of the village, but this means that there is a very large parking area. The grounds are beautiful. There is an adjacent canal towpath.
If you stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed as long as you remember that it is period, country style.
We look forward to staying here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NewcastleAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having last visited 30 years ago for our weeding celebration it was so pleasant to return and receive a warm welcome. The room was spacious, clean and supplied with all of the necessary comforts. The view is worth the million pounds! (Rm8) The décor a little dated and some places looking tired. Sadly, a little musty odour in the stairwells even thought an air fresher was hidden on the shelves. Breakfast was most hearty and ticked all the boxes. The booking via Laterooms.com was also a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A very adequate hotel, comfortable, certainly very warm. grounds are beautiful and relaxing, well maintained. However the place lacks the most basic customer comforts (and service).

Notwithstanding, I have two basic quirms with my experience....

Wi-Fi is virtually non-existent outside of the lobby area, whilst they have specified that it is available in public areas, with the technology being so affordable these days and so easy to set up, I cannot understand why hotels will not offer this as standard - especially a hotel as highly rated as this.

Staff attitudes were 'luke warm' (I remember seeing another review complaining about staff). It all started with a dispute over the phone about the room rate. The member of staff argued that the rate advertised had changed and "should have been taken down by now".

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarjBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a bit of trouble finding this hotel but it is in a very tranquil setting in the counrtyside.We were made to feel welcome as we checked in.Our room was quite small with a limited view from the window .The tv was small with limited channels ,there was dust in certain areas and the table lamp didnt work.There was also stains on the bedding,but not where we had to lie on.The bathroom was clean but narrow.Having mentioned the downside we had a lovely meal in the bar and the grounds were beautiful.When we had our breakfast the next morning the cooked breakfast was just warm and we dont like our coffee strong but it was really weak.This hotel could be so much better.

Room Tip: some rooms have limited views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stunning grounds and wonderful views across part of the Llangollen canal. Lovely welcome. Friendly atmosphere. Room large and well appointed. On suite best for very long time. Beautiful carved wood bed and very comfortable. Had taken notice of our request for no feathers in room which is the first time in our many worldwide travels that we felt safe and relaxed. Lovely evening meal in dining room unhurried and relaxed with attentive but not intrusive staff. Good nights sleep followed by good breakfast again unhurried and relaxing. Made to feel truly welcome despite only one nights stay. On departure felt like special guests. Would definitely return and most definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
2.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
776 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
490 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
275 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
812 reviews
3.5 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: £47 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Howel Hotel the most perfect setting for your perfect day, Set in the spectacular Dee Valley, alongside the Llangollen Canal absolutely outstanding views, Our aim is to provide perfect service and excellent food to all guests regardless of your choice of dining be it in our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and blazing open fire, to the amazing Ceder Tree Restaurant both of which have undergone major investment. Our award winning team of chefs are here to cater for your requirements, What ever they may be. The service team have undergone intense training to ensure your requirements are carried out to the letter, we pride our reputation on our standards of service, refer to Facebook or TripAdvisor for your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing