We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old memories tested”
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bryn Howel Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed 1 night. Had stayed here as part of my job regularly a few years back and was pleased to take the opportunity to return socially. Especially at an attractive rate

Walk down adjacent canal advised well placed for the area

Good breakfast. I had fond memories of dinner but its not what it was but was ok rather than memorable.

We had a decent room with good sized bath and bathroom with a pretty countryside view.

Hope to visit again one day

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn-Howel-Hotel, Owner at Bryn Howel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Basils Travels

Thank you Kindly for your review of Bryn Howel Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Bryn Howel Hotel has a fabulous record for the amazing food served. However I understand we can get it wrong now and then, However I do hope this will not prevent you from visiting us again soon.

All my very best to you

E. J. Canavan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Have just returned after an overnight stay at the Bryn Howell. Normally stay there with my husband but on this trip took 4 service users I support in my job. They'd all wanted to go after hearing me praise the hotel regularly. I can honestly say they were not disappointed! This has got a lot to do with how wonderfully warm and welcoming the staff were, particlularly Diane and Dan who went out of their way to accommodate the guys requests, answering numerous questions about the history of the place, making sure they had whatever food they requested even if it wasn't on the menu. Mr. Cavanan too took time to share a bit of banter with them which they loved. These guys have mild learning difficulties but were very eloquent in their praise of the hotel and staff. Myself personally got huge satisfaction from seeing their enjoyment. They all see the place at face value. They loved their rooms, the food and the staff and can't wait to go again. As a regular visitor to the Brynn Howell I know that this kind of service is what we get every time so a big 'thank you' to the team.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn-Howel-Hotel, Owner at Bryn Howel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Heath

Thank you kindly from everyone here at Bryn Howel hotel for your kind review. Diane and Dan will be very pleased to hear your fabulous comments, Chef also.
As you know everyone puts in that extra little effort to ensure our guests are happy with the service provided and your review shows we are getting it right.

As I promised you I shall ensure that Diane and Dan know how thankful you were for their attention to detail.

More so I shall look forward to your next visit to us.

All my very best to you all

E. J. Canavan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed overnight ten days or so ago arriving late off a ferry from Ireland. We were made most welcome and when we explained that the room we were given was not entirely suitable since my wife is slightly disabled we were moved to a beautiful ground floor room adjacent to all the amenities. Dinner was delicious and marvelously presented at a window table overlooking the garden and hills beyond. We travel this way often and will surely return to this well priced gem. Well done Bryn Howel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn-Howel-Hotel, Owner at Bryn Howel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Harry M

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review Bryn Howel Hotel,, Everyone is delighted to read your comments, and to learn you both enjoyed your stay with us.
We shall look forward to your return visit. Remember to book direct for your free glass of wine during dinner.

All My Very Best to you Both

E. J. Canavan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed with a bunch of pals and were in the "new" wing, small rooms and could have done with a net curtain on our ground floor room to preserve a degree of modesty!
The rooms - like the incessant music -are very much 1960s but good value - and teh food is very good. The staff are very willing and if they were given more training they would be very efficient. We needed to be pro-active all the time; asking for menus; asking if we could order dinner from the bar; asking for the pudding menu; asking cor coffees at the end of the meal etc.
It would have been nice to have been approached just oonce during our stay but this did not happen; the staff though are extremely friendly and helpful.
It also would have been nice to see the owner at some time; with a privately owned and owner operated establishemnt this is imortant and our group of up to 18 was staying for a number of days.
Would stay again, though not sure that my wife would appreciate the standard of service.
Location is excellent for us -a walking group.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn-Howel-Hotel, Owner at Bryn Howel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Walter O

Thank you for your Constructive comments, I shall certainly look into the points you have raised and ensure they are corrected as soon as possible. Everyone works extreamly hard to maintain our high standards.
Please note that during your stay it was the school half term break, I try to use this time to have a break with my family, However I will ensure that in your return visit I will be here to chat and perhaps join you for a drink.

Many thanks for taking the time tp post your review all comments go a long way to ensure we keep our customers happy while staying at Bryn Howel Hotel and we all thank you very much indeed.

I shall certainly look forward to your next visit.

All my very best to you all

E. J. Canavan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's a 5 min drive from Llangollen. Lovely position, gardens lead down to Llangollen canal. Our room in the old part of the hotel was pleasant with a good size bathroom. I'd asked for a quiet room - it was, but the hotel wasn't particularly busy. Lovely views over the garden to the hills. We were going to walk into town for dinner, but after a long walk in the afternoon decided to stay put. Food was OK, but not that great; reasonable price - we just had one course from the fixed price menu. Breakfast was a little disappointing; it was buffet-style, so had obviously been sitting there a while. A good selection, but I do like my bacon and eggs freshly cooked!
Would stay there again, we paid £49 through booking.com. I wouldn't pay the £119 rack rate!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireCountrylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn-Howel-Hotel, Owner at Bryn Howel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear YorkshireCountry

Thank you very much indeed for your comments, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with although please feel free to ask for a freshly cooked breakfast should the buffet style not be to your liking. We are always here to please our guests, something so simple could have made all the differeance to your overall enjoyment.
On your next visit we will ensure you receive your freshly cooked eggs and bacon.

All my very best to you and your family

E. J. Canavan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've stayed here twice and been very happy with our room both times... and there's been a large en-suite each time..The views (from the side of the hotel facing Llangollen are amazing).....Right up to the Castle on the hill .. I dont know whether they do family rooms but hope so as we're planning on taking our Granddaughter next time we go.

We stayed initially in Easter school holidays and dining room was quite full at breakfast (Good array of choices in both cold and hot options......Toast, tea and coffee served by waiter/waitress). There were only a couple of teenagers in though so hope they're welcoming to children. The second time was during term time and there were only about 9 people in the dining room.....I'm concerned that it doesnt end up shutting down.....its such a lovely place!

Although the hotel is quite worn in places the value for money is exceptional ....We had intended booking a nearby Wetherspoons hotel but this was £30 cheaper for the night and a very good breakfast was included here!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the wing with room facing Llangollen (for the view of mountains etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoying-my-freedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn-Howel-Hotel, Owner at Bryn Howel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Enjoying-my-freedom
Please rest assured that there is no possibility of Bryn Howel Hotel Shutting down, Guests come down for breakfast at different times therefore it might seem a little quite at times.
Nevertheless We are delighted you enjoyed you stay with us and shall look forward to your return visit with your Granddaughter

All my very best to you both

E. J. Canavan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband, myself and my parents booked this hotel in Wales. We had no expectations upon arrival. Even though we got there early we were greeted by friendly staff. The decor of the hotel was lovely. Not too modern and had a lovely warm welcome feeling. The rooms were lovely and a decent size. Ask for a room view out the back over looking the garden. The hotel had a nice bar area, restaurant and sitting areas. The wifi was pretty much null. We ate meals in the bar area which were excellent and the breakfast was buffet style. Fresh and enough to choose from. The location required a car as it was about 2.6 miles from Llangollen. Would definitely stay again. The room prices vary alot so keep a look out for a good deal, which we got.

Room Tip: Ask for a view out the back overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn-Howel-Hotel, Owner at Bryn Howel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Jacquie B

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of Bryn Howel Hotel, please note that when booking direct with us we will always offer you the best price available plus you get a lovely glass of wine free of charge when you dine with us. And we will always offer guests who book direct a free upgrade when possible.

We shall look forward to your next visit

E. J. Canavan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
2.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
792 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
291 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
510 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
829 reviews
8 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: £49 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryn Howel Hotel is a fine Country House property, originally built in 1896, and set at the heart of the beautiful Vale of Llangollen, alongside the Llangollen Canal, with absolutely outstanding views from the Restaurant and many rooms. Our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and open fire in season provides you with a welcoming appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing