We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception at Bryn Howel”
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bryn Howel Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception at Bryn Howel”
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We had our wedding reception here in june 2008. The location was perfect and the hotel itself was wonderful! I have added pictures of most of the rooms, plus the VIP room (plus some wedding pics in the grounds)

The food served at the reception meal was out of this world, many guests mentioned that meals they had had previoulsy was the same standard.

All the staff were very helpful, couldnt fault the hotel at all.

For more pictures or info PM me :)

Steffy

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffy&Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    180
    77
    30
    28
See reviews for
78
274
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
breaston,derby
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

this hotel compared to some three star hotels we have stayed in is way above the rest.the building has a lot of character about it and contrary to one of the reviews we actually saw the carpets being vacuumed.our room was in the (attic) as we called it and was of a good size and a good sized bathroom which had a spa bath in it.ok. the shower could have done with a bit more pressure but it was adequate and both the bedroom and the bathroom were clean.I don't know why people moan about the size of the rooms for,what do they want to do in them.the hotel is actually situated in the country next to the canal with beautiful views all around and stands in 4 acres of land.the restaurant was very nice and the food excellent,3 courses for about £19 and £17 for two with a good choice on the menu.overall we had a nice 3 night stay and if you cannot sleep in this hotel there must be something wrong with you as it is so quiet.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — could not find anything to dislike
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rmski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

A pleasant Victorian building in a beatiful setting just outside Llangollen. We took advantage of their 3 nights for the price of two offer. The small print means that this is conditional on eating in the restaurant for 2 of your 3 nights and will add about £75 per head to your bill! On booking we insisted on having a room with a view and that's what we got - looking out onto the garden and mountains - past the enormous extraction unit from the main kitchens just outside our window!! Not too bad though, provided we avoided looking right.
The room was reasonably sized for two people, but some of the furniture was very poor - laminated chipboard units from the 1970s which had clearly seen better days. We were told that a room refurbishment was in hand but clearly hadn't yet reached the room we occupied. The bathroom was clean and well equipped and everything worked as expected. The public areas of the hotel were clean, pleasantly furnished and equipped.
Breakfast was good, with a varied buffet of cereals, juices, fruit etc, and the cooked course was chosen from a comprehensive list and was freshly cooked and substantial. But, oh dear - when will hotels like this give up their reliance on pre-packed, portion controlled pats of butter, margarine, jam and marmalade? It is simply not good enough, because it's not the best and that's what customers expect and pay for!! Food at dinner was good with lots of choice on the table d'hote menu. It was well cooked and presented and the service was appropriate at all times. On the night we ate out, we had a very good, substantial meal in a Llangollen pub for about a third of the price of Bryn Howel's dinner! We found lots to do and things of interest in and around the town.
With just a little more thought, effort and attention to details this could become a place for a really pleasant stay - as it is, it doesn't yet quite hit that mark.

  • Liked — Clean, well equipped bathroom.
  • Disliked — Poor stste of repair and quality of some furniture
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VisitingGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

There are so many great reviews of the Bryn Howel hotel on this website that my husband and I were very much looking forward to our stay. However, either the reviews set our expections too high, or our standards of what makes a 'great hotel' are higher than the other reviewers. Whatever the reason, the Bryn Howel did disappoint us.

Our room was very small, and overlooked the carpark. It was also very, very warm, and despite turning off the radiator and opening the tiny window as wide as possible, it still didn't cool down (and this was a stay in the depths of February!). The bed was horribly uncomfortable and sagged very badly in the middle making a good night's sleep impossible. The bathroom was disproportionately large to the bedroom, and the shower had no pressure and suffered from the too hot / too cold problem mentioned by another reviewer. I believe there is a process of renovation on-going, but I don't believe that the bedrooms are anywhere near complete yet, and to be honest, I couldn't see much sign of renovation elsewhere in the hotel either.

The public areas on the ground floor were reasonable, although minor things like vacumming the carpet in the lift seemed to have been overlooked for a long time. The corridors to the rooms however were not that well maintained.

Despite all of these weaknesses, the staff were courteous, professional, and very attentive. If the quality of the hotel matched the quality of the staff, then this would have been a very different review.

  • Liked — Stunning views of the area (providing you are lucky enough to have a room with a view, which we weren't)
  • Disliked — In desperate need of modernisation/renovation throughout.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoriaplum,UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool, uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2008

this hotel is set in magnificent grounds,we were lucky enough to have room looking out over the valleys with wonderful views of the welsh mountains. the room was amazing with a spa bath and excellent facilities, the staff are warm and welcoming and the food, well, the food was out of this world, we had a package for valentines and for £125 for two, we recieved the room, four course meal, champagne and breakfast (every berakfast item imaginable) also wine, flowers and chocolates in our room. I could not fault this hotel on any level and am looking forward to trying one of the other hotels in the chain.

  • Liked — relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalips21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2007

My husband and I booked this hotel for a relaxing weekend away and were impressed by the 3 nights for the price of 2 offer. From our arrival staff were professional, helpful and friendly. The evening meals were superb- really delicious food and better value for money than many other hotels. The 2 courses are well worth their £16. The only disappointment with food was breakfast. On our first morning (Friday) we had table service but over the weekend they reverted to a buffet which inevitable resulted in lower quality food and less choice due to the ‘free for all’.

Our room was lovely with a gorgeous view of the river and hills. Another surprise was the addition of a dvd player- this would have been great but I'd rung up to check if they had them but as the staff said no I left all dvd's at home!!! All in all the hotel felt more like a 4star than a 3 star and we’ll definitely go back, especially with their special offer prices.

Another slight disappointment was the spa at the nearby, co-owned Wild Pheasant hotel. This looked gorgeous but the temperature gauge was broken so the pool was freezing- we had booked the hotel based on this so were bitterly disappointed. That said, staff were great and gave us free massages and a bottle of wine for 'compensation' so we really can't complain! The spa does look fab and I definitely plan on going back when it's warm.

  • Liked — the setting was gorgeous
  • Disliked — self service breakfast at weekends
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weenursekaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mossley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

This must be one of the best hotels in wales.
The room we had was first class,the hotel staff were very friendly
and the food was fantastic and the service was great.
The one little moan i had was the poor service in the bar before the evening meal.

  • Liked — clean and tidy
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank micklehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
2.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Property: Bryn Howel Hotel
Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Howel Hotel the most perfect setting for your perfect day, Set in the spectacular Dee Valley, alongside the Llangollen Canal absolutely outstanding views, Our aim is to provide perfect service and excellent food to all guests regardless of your choice of dining be it in our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and blazing open fire, to the amazing Ceder Tree Restaurant both of which have undergone major investment. Our award winning team of chefs are here to cater for your requirements, What ever they may be. The service team have undergone intense training to ensure your requirements are carried out to the letter, we pride our reputation on our standards of service, refer to Facebook or TripAdvisor for your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing