We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in pleasant location”
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bryn Howel Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good hotel in pleasant location”
Reviewed 18 May 2009

My Wife and I were greeted by friendly reception staff who were most helpful. Our room in the newish extension overlooked the canal towpath with views up the valley towards Llangollen. The bedroom was a reasonable size and was clean and tidy although the bathroom tileing could do with a little TLC.
We dined in the resturant were the service and food was good and the views across the gardens and up the valley through the large windows made mealtimes very enjoyable.
The hotel is well located with easy access to many local places of interest including a number of National Trust properties. All in all a very pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogangbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    184
    78
    31
    35
See reviews for
81
282
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

just stayed for three days. room in need of updating but clean with a great view down the valley towards Llangollen. help yourself buffet breakfast. three course evening meal each night was excellent. great setting for a quiet stay with plenty to do and see in the area. will stay again!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

I stayed at the hotel recently as a part of a large family group and had a great chance to have a little look at the hotel in its entirity.
I must firstly say that the hotel has a lovely location with views over the hills surrounding Llangollen and on the edge of a canal path, that said the building itself is a bit of a mish mash of extensions. We were lucky enough to stay in the origonal building which had some lovely traditional features (rooms 9 and 14 were nice), however other family members stayed in some rooms in 'newer' extensions but were very dated and in need of some repair (hign teens and early twenties).
Food on the whole was ok without being amazing but bar prices were a little steep.

I also attended a wedding there last summer and have to say that the event went very well, so for those that have an event there booked its a good venue. We stayed at the Wild Phesant that time which was nice - try for a newer room though!

Not a bad hotel just with a little more effort could be excellent.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addersiniho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We stayed at this hotel when they had a deal where you paid for bed and breakfast and had a free evening meal. My husband said we couldn't expect much at these prices. How wrong he was. A beautiful hotel in lovely surroundings, quiet and peaceful with excellent trained staff. The meals in the restaurant were a delight, extreme high quality with lots of choice. As mentioned in other reviews the bar prices were high but you get this in most hotels. The room was very comfortable and very clean. Have recommended this hotel to a number of friends and will be going back ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We booked the £10 per night bed and breakfast deal with the condition that you eat in the restaurant for your evening meal. With the 3 course meal costing £22.95 a head it was exceptional value for money. The menu was varied and the food excellent as was the service and friendly staff. Breakfast was buffet style and again very good. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, and we had a room overlooking the mountains and the canal. The reception and bar areas were pleasant and provided a nice area to sit in for a drink. A great location situated just outside Llangollen in beautiful countryside, and with lovely walks straight out of the hotel or spectacular scenery and more demanding walks a short drive away it's the ideal place to stay for all ages. We also took advantage of the spa facilities at the sister hotel in Llangollen.

Would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to return ourselves again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayandlyn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Stoke
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2009

Me and my partner stayed here for a quite weekend away and as soon as we pulled up on the carpark, you could not help but notice what stunningly beautiul surroundings it was set it. We had a lovely room with a good sized bathroom and everything was fully cleaned and I am extremley fussy when it comes to cleanliness of rooms and I could not fault them here. The food was fantastic thourghly enjoyed it and breakfast was even better. You cant bet eating your breakfast with full veiws of the welsh mountains. The staff were extremley helpful and cheerful making our stay very welcoming. We have a fantastic evening and the veiw from our room was breathtaking, especially on such a clear night. We slept like babies even though there was a wedding party below us, we did not hear a peep. All in all we loved this hotel and will be returning each year on our anniversary!!!

  • Liked — The Veiws
  • Disliked — Size of bedroom
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaybirdandBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We had our wedding reception here in june 2008. The location was perfect and the hotel itself was wonderful! I have added pictures of most of the rooms, plus the VIP room (plus some wedding pics in the grounds)

The food served at the reception meal was out of this world, many guests mentioned that meals they had had previoulsy was the same standard.

All the staff were very helpful, couldnt fault the hotel at all.

For more pictures or info PM me :)

Steffy

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffy&Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
2.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
761 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
473 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,256 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mulberry Inn
The Mulberry Inn
#1 of 26 in Llangollen
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Property: Bryn Howel Hotel
Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Howel Hotel the most perfect setting for your perfect day, Set in the spectacular Dee Valley, alongside the Llangollen Canal absolutely outstanding views, Our aim is to provide perfect service and excellent food to all guests regardless of your choice of dining be it in our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and blazing open fire, to the amazing Ceder Tree Restaurant both of which have undergone major investment. Our award winning team of chefs are here to cater for your requirements, What ever they may be. The service team have undergone intense training to ensure your requirements are carried out to the letter, we pride our reputation on our standards of service, refer to Facebook or TripAdvisor for your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing