We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable and enjoyable stay”
Review of Tyn Celyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyn Celyn
Ranked #9 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at Tyn Celyn on the night of Saturday August 18th and were immediately in awe of the beautiful setting in which it nestled. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we settled in immediately. When we booked we were asked if we wanted the beds as twins or zipped into a very large double and we chose the latter. This proved a good choice as it was most comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. The bedding was spotless. Our hosts were friendly and made us feel most welcome. Next morning we enjoyed a magnificent breakfast. My husband said it was the best he had ever had, which is praise indeed! We will definitely be staying again next time we visit Llangollen. Thank you for your generous hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyAndJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Tyn Celyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

we only stayed for one night but i could of stayed there for a week, the view is amazing, i had best night sleep ever, very quite, if you want to stay in a house which has lots of charm this is it. the owners are very nice people , made us cup of coffee and home made biscuits on arrival, breakfeast was good, also please visit acquduct in place called trevor it is a must see(hope your not scared of heights) also drive up horseshoe pass to cafe at top enjoy....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coco037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Attractive old farmhouse with eye-catching personal effects in the large dining room, in which we shared breakfast around the large dining table with other guests. Bed comfortable, and our female hostess was pleasant and helpful, although her husband seemed a little curt, with his first (and only) words to us being an abrupt order to not park our car where we had pulled up! Maybe just a man of few words - but he did not seem friendly. Toilet seat in our ensuite loose - needed fixing! However, very central and convenient, with a great Indian restaurant in Llangollen - wish I could remember the name!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaniCat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed for three nights in the ground floor room and loved it. The room has a separate bathroom with a kitchen area in between - no cooking facilities but useful for preparing pack-ups. The evenings were quite cold and the owners not only lit the large solid fuel stove in the adjacent guest living room but turned on the central heating!
Surrounded by stunning countryside, the Tyn Celyn is very quiet and good for walking, with lots of places to visit and things to do within easy reach by car.
The owners were very friendly and breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice including a delicious and very generous full cooked option - or addition!
If you are looking for a quiet place to stay that has character and feels like a pair of comfy slippers, this is the place for you. We would love to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor room and you will get a food prep. room as well.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerry_lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights, the location is outstanding and our hosts were very charming. Unfortunately for us, our room was not quite what we expected. It is a farmhouse and the house is over 300yrs old, we had a boiler in our room within a cupboard that fed the other rooms in the B&B and whenever someone took a shower the boiler noise was imposing and kept us up. The bathroom decor was dated and shower was flimsy. The room we stayed in had a four poster bed. The biggest concern we had was that the room was not lockable once we left and we didnt have a front door key so felt we could not be in very late at night. The breakfast was very nice with lots of choices of cereals, fruit and cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La de la planta baja es lúgubre; las demás no las vimos.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JordiRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plate_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.6 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
776 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
490 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#7 of 26 in Llangollen
184 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Mulberry Inn
The Mulberry Inn
#1 of 26 in Llangollen
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn Celyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn Celyn

Address: Tyn Celyn Tyn Celyn Tyn Dwr, Llangollen LL20 8AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range: £67 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyn Celyn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Tyn Celyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyn Celyn Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing