We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun Bank, Sun Bank so good we have been twice!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 28 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sun Bank, Sun Bank so good we have been twice!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Sam & Simon are the perfect hosts in the most stunning B&B you could ever wish to visit!!! The Cowshed is so beautifully decorated and set out with little extras like cutlery and a corkscrew as well as a gorgeous tea/coffee tray. The bathroom is worth the visit alone. Sitting in the bath with the shutters open looking out over the valley must be one of my best ever holiday memories. Simon whips up a pretty good breakfast and you can eat either in their home or on your patio or room. We will definitely go back and stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunBankCottage, Owner at Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Di & Nige, your kind words are really appreciated! And we look forward to seeing you again in the future! X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This has to be my favourite short break ever! The most welcoming hosts. Their main priority is about ensuring you have the best stay possible, even down to ensuring you have wine glasses to toast the start of your holiday! The Cowshed is idyllic and you could ask for such a beautiful room. The location is breathtaking. Such a relaxing break, thank you for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights recently and were made very welcome by the whole family, Sam, Simon, Carmen, Grace and the dogs and chickens.
Sam and Simon were very knowledgeable about the area and recommended places to eat and canal walks.
We were made very welcome with a constant supply of fresh milk, wine glasses etc etc.

breakfast was second to non cooked by Simon who knows how to scramble eggs to perfection! We were made welcome to join them in their house for breakfast or have it served on our patio which we did one day. Simon would just appear offering fresh coffee and toast then be gone again in a flash!

Finally, the bathroom! Look at the pics, speaks for itself! X

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have just spent two nights in this fabulous conversion of a cowshed. The decor was tasteful, the bed ( a restored antique) was bliss, and the bathroom divine. The hillside views were stunning. Simon and Sam were very welcoming, and the breakfasts were excellent - wide choice of dishes, including the eggs laid by their own chickens were delicious. We would definitely go back there, and would be happy to recommend it to our friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Winelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
widnes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

we stayed at sunbank b&b for my husbands 30th birthday,when we got at the beautiful cottage there was a bottle of chamagne waiting for us.the owners are such lovely people,they made us feel so welcome and special.we couldnt of asked for more,amazing room and the bathroom was something else!we cant recommend it enough.such a special place.home from home and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent a short break at this absolutely beautiful cottage which hosts the most spectacular views. The weather was beautiful which added to our overall experience. The cottage was beautiful combining traditional charm with modern luxury! We have nothing but praise for such a gem of a cottage and will undoubtedly be returning. The owners were so welcoming and helpful when we needed them. Very special place indeed!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowsley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

The cottage is of high quality,homely and cosy.I don't like writing this review because every one will now know we're there is a 5 star stay and I will properly not get a booking again due to the high demand

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.4 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
3.1 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sun Bank, Llangollen LL20 8EG, Wales (Formerly Ty Ifa)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Ifa is a charming holiday home and B&B in an idyllic setting situated just under 2 miles to the east of Llangollen, North Wales, set on a wooded hillside commanding spectacular views from every window over the Vale of Llangollen, the River Dee and the Shropshire Union Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Bank Holiday Cottage And Bed & Breakfast Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing