We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream week! :) it really is perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Thee most beautiful location, a perfect room, perfect breakfast every morning, and above all, faultless hospitality and hosts in Sam and Simon! :) we thoroughly enjoyed it, definitely recommend to anybody! My favourite holiday ever, truthfully :) thank you! See you next year. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanAllport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunBankCottage, Owner at Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thanks to you both! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

we were only able to stay for one night, as week end was fully booked. This did not stop us from making full use of what was on offer here. A soak in the slipper bath, with shutters open, a glass of wine, and looking out as the sun set over the valley. Simply stunning!
The room was as described by others, and did not disappoint. Really nicely decorated, with some good bedroom furniture/bedding to compliment the room. Did not feel owners had held back on investing in quality pieces for this room.
The great thing here ,for me, is that Sam and Simon the owners, have successfully managed to convert a previous cow shed in to something rather special!
Breakfast started with fruit juice, and limited choice of cereal. This was followed by choice of cooked breakfast. Simon, a Chef in a previous life, dished up a large wholesome, and absolutely delicious breakfast. I would return to this B+B, and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: cow shed, with own front door and key. luxury bathroom and slipper bath here. far reaching views f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seren a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked Sun Bank for a long weekend as a treat to ourselves on our 1st wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Cowshed which has been beautifully transformed by the owners into a luxury bedroom with en suite bathroom complete with a quality shower and slipper bath positioned so you can take in the stunning views whilst having a soak.

We couldnt have been made to feel more welcome by Sam and Simon, providing a top notch breakfast and the best hospitality bar none. We spent the Saturday evening sat out on the veranda with a bottle of bubbly and the following day walked along the canal through Llangollen up to Dinas Bran, the hot sunny weather being a real added bonus. We would also recommend a drink and bite to eat at the Corn Mill sat on the terrace overlooking the Dee.

All in all it was the perfect way to spend a memorable anniversary and in no small part due to the hosts and their wonderful converted barn. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moorsey989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We decided to book the Cow Shed room at Sun Bank on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed. The room is luxurious, with an en-suite bathroom to die for. It has it's own outside door, giving us freedom to come and go as we pleased. Perfect for a romantic break for two. Sam and Simon were wonderful hosts—super relaxed and helpful. And Simon cooks a mean breakfast, which went down a treat in the mornings. We will definitely be back. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Sam & Simon are the perfect hosts in the most stunning B&B you could ever wish to visit!!! The Cowshed is so beautifully decorated and set out with little extras like cutlery and a corkscrew as well as a gorgeous tea/coffee tray. The bathroom is worth the visit alone. Sitting in the bath with the shutters open looking out over the valley must be one of my best ever holiday memories. Simon whips up a pretty good breakfast and you can eat either in their home or on your patio or room. We will definitely go back and stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunBankCottage, Owner at Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Di & Nige, your kind words are really appreciated! And we look forward to seeing you again in the future! X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This has to be my favourite short break ever! The most welcoming hosts. Their main priority is about ensuring you have the best stay possible, even down to ensuring you have wine glasses to toast the start of your holiday! The Cowshed is idyllic and you could ask for such a beautiful room. The location is breathtaking. Such a relaxing break, thank you for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights recently and were made very welcome by the whole family, Sam, Simon, Carmen, Grace and the dogs and chickens.
Sam and Simon were very knowledgeable about the area and recommended places to eat and canal walks.
We were made very welcome with a constant supply of fresh milk, wine glasses etc etc.

breakfast was second to non cooked by Simon who knows how to scramble eggs to perfection! We were made welcome to join them in their house for breakfast or have it served on our patio which we did one day. Simon would just appear offering fresh coffee and toast then be gone again in a flash!

Finally, the bathroom! Look at the pics, speaks for itself! X

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
2.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
548 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
417 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
815 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Mulberry Inn
The Mulberry Inn
#1 of 26 in Llangollen
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sun Bank, Llangollen LL20 8EG, Wales (Formerly Ty Ifa)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range: £79 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Ifa is a charming holiday home and B&B in an idyllic setting situated just under 2 miles to the east of Llangollen, North Wales, set on a wooded hillside commanding spectacular views from every window over the Vale of Llangollen, the River Dee and the Shropshire Union Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Bank Holiday Cottage And Bed & Breakfast Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing