We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Just had a 2 night stay. As usual staff and hotel lovely. Thank you to seamus and the team for making our stay such a lovely one. Room lovely. Just booked another stay in march. Would highly recommend a visit here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank calol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay at The Chainbridge. We are delighted that you once again enjoyed your stay, and that you've rebooked for March. It's wonderful to have guests who regularly visit and enjoy the hotel, and we're lucky to have such pleasant guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and thank you again for your comments.

All the best,
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    253
    99
    47
    45
See reviews for
134
452
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The river is amazing, could sit there looking at it for hours particularly with the hotel right on the river so you can view it from your room, bar our restaurant. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was of a good quality. There's a number of walks from the hotel, we walked along the cansl into the charming town, taking about 30mins.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank obiyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel, following your short stay with us. We're very pleased that we contributed to your very successful tour of the UK, and wish you a pleasant trip back to Australia.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we're pleased that all aspects of the hotel contributed to a successful, peaceful and enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is in possibly one of the most picturesque locations in the UK. I stayed here 4 years ago and was looking forward to returning to see how the hotel renovations were progressing.

You cannot fail to be impressed by the stunning riverside location. The hotel has all of its public areas facing the river. Wi-fi is available in the bar area, however mobile phone signal is non-existant, and reception staff do a sterling job of organising taxis etc. The reception area is entirely new, and much more welcoming then before. The bar area is modern and the lounges are modern yet classical in appearance. The hotel has a good library, should you want to while away your days reading by the riverside.

We had a large room on the first floor. The bed was comfortable, there was ample storage, sofa, excellent tea tray, and the furnished balcony overlooking the river. My only criticism about the room is that hairdryers are not provided, and the sockets where I could plug one in were no where near the mirror (bad hair day!). There is also nowhere to hang towels other than over the bathroom door to dry. These didn't in any way detract from our stay.

We ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay. Meals are average price, but exceptional quality. The menu is well thought out, there is an excellent choice of lunches and evening meals available and there is a specials menu each day. There is a moderate wine list, but something for everyone.

Breakfast was buffet style one day and serve the following day. This is depending on number of guests, but again, choice and quality could not be faulted.

Renovations continue to progress. There are plans to renovate the Chainbridge this year, which should do nothing but enhance the business.

Room Tip: The River Dee is a raging torrent outside the front of the hotel and can be heard through the galzin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review of your time here at The Chainbridge. We agree with you as to how incredible our location is, we are lucky enough to enjoy it every day and never get tired of it.

We're delighted that the improvements we have made to the hotel since your last visit have been well received, and also appreciate the comments you make that will enable us to further improve. For your next stay, you should know that we do have hairdryers in Reception available for guests, but sadly when we put them in the bedrooms a number of them went 'missing'.

We were very pleased by your comments regarding the quality of the food - both breakfasts and evening meals - and we're happy that your overall stay was a success.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed over here for first time and was very pleased with the room and the hotel in general.
Hotel is undergoing some renovations but our room which was on riverside with a balcony seemed to have been finished and was lovely.
Very clean room, comfortable bed etc.
Reception staff were friendly as was the young girl in the restaurant.
Had evening meal and breakfast in restaurant which I couldn't fault at all.
Plenty of room to sit in the evening in the bar/lounge area.
Visit has changed my previous opinion. Recommended.

Room Tip: Riverside balcony room. Room 21 lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay. Firstly, we're very pleased that you enjoyed your time here, and that all aspects of the hotel met your approval. Secondly, I'm very pleased that your positive experience has altered your previous opinion of the hotel, and that you would now recommend it to people looking for somewhere to stay in this wonderful part of Wales.

We hope that you will be returning in the future for more relaxation, and thank you for your positive comments.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked a three night Christmas package having visited Llangollen previously and spotting the hotel from the steam train which runs on the opposite side of the River Dee. This Christmas proved to be much more than we ever expected. Rooms were clean, well decorated and we were lucky enough to have a balcony overlooking the river Dee.The hospitality shown by the management and staff was second to none - everyone smiling and couldn't do enough to help. The food was lovely - with local fresh produce used which was cooked to the highest standards - thanks chef. You must try a pint of the Stonebridge local ale which is smooth, sweet and goes down really well!
The location is great with plenty of walks around the area, horseshoe falls around the corner, and you can walk along the canal into Llangollen.
Thanks to the management and staff, We wish you the success you all deserve.
We will definitely be returning.
Pete & Sal

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your very generous review of your stay at The Chainbridge over Christmas. Christmas is always a special time for our guests and staff, and we're absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed it so much.

We're delighted that you were so pleased with the food, the local beer, your room during your stay, and the wonderful location of the hotel. We endeavour to give all of our guests a memorable, relaxing and special time when they come to The Chainbridge, and we're proud to have given you such a special Christmas.

It was a pleasure meeting you, and we look forward to you returning to the hotel.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Rarely have I felt so instantly rejuvenated on arrival at any hotel I have visited anywhere in the world. The hotel is nestled between Llangollen canal and the raging River Dee; the sound of which is both soothing and exciting!

Inside the hotel the relatively new owners have done an amazing job of renovating. There are lovely pictures around the ground floor that give you a taste of the history of the building.

As a solo traveller I often find that people are either wary of you or spend too much time checking on you - not so here: adequately attentive and allowed me space to sit and work or simply stare at the water for hours on end without question!

On arrival in my room I could have wept - I was very lucky to get a room with a balcony over the rover which arguably made my stay so enjoyable and unique. The room was clean, comfortable and well stocked with good quality tea and biscuits.

Breakfast was lovely; staff were amazing and friendly. In short, I was already planning my return as I checked out!

Cannot recommend this hotel enough if you are looking for a quiet getaway.

By the way, Seamus, you could probably charge a lot more than you do! Faultless experience for the money I paid. Thanks for a lovely stay :)

Room Tip: Personally I would always request a balcony room if possible, however, if you are a light sleeper yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your overwhelmingly generous review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we're delighted that the hotel made you so happy, and that you enjoyed your break. All of the comments are too kind, but please know that we appreciate them greatly! The Chainbridge is a wonderful place to stay to get away from the day-to-day and rejuvenate, and I'm glad it provided you with the peace and quiet you were seeking. In regard to thinking we could charge more, perhaps you're right, but are rates are staying the same for 2014, so we hope more people will come and visit The Chainbridge and enjoy this wonderful part of Wales.

Hope to see you again

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We checked in on the 28/12/13 for one night and booked an upgraded room with a view over the Dee absolutely fantastic can't fault it. Really great location especially if you like walking but not to strenuous only a 40 min walk to Llangollen with great views.
The hotel staff can't do enough for you and are very friendly bar/food prices reasonable, only wish the log fire would have been on (awaiting a minor repair following this run of bad weather) would have made it perfect.
Can't wait for a return visit would highly recommend

John & Carole

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGeddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay at our hotel. We're always grateful people take the time to share the details of their stay. It's wonderful that you highly recommend The Chainbridge and that you were so pleased with your time here. It's great to hear you're planning a return trip, and we're sure repairs to the chimney will have been made and the log fire will be burning brightly!

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Property: Chainbridge Hotel
Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing