We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a fantastic find! We stayed for the late May bank holiday.
We arrived almost an hour early, only because I forgot what time we could check in from!
This wasn't even a problem for the hotel, check in went smoothly, and we were shown around the hotel ( bar / restaurant / lounge area ) then given directions to our room.
We were given a room on the 2nd floor, riverside. Initial thoughts on the room was it was a little small, but to be honest, it had everything we needed. A covered balcony with two chairs and a small table were a bonus, and we sat out there quite a bit, as it rained for most of the weekend.
The view overlooking the Dee and the old station are great.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights, and had two great meals, promptly served by very good staff, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
Breakfast is buffet style, with cereal, fruit and the traditional full English ( Welsh! ).

Yes, there were some very minor niggles, but nothing worth complaining about, or to stop us returning in the future.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are a must! The view over the Dee is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your very kind review. We're delighted that you had a wonderful time here at The Chainbridge. We are very lucky to have incredibly good and attentive staff, who naturally delight in serving our guests promptly, politely and pleasantly.

I agree, the river side rooms are not the largest (our canal rooms are larger) but due to the benefit of having balconies overlooking the river that usually compensates for any lack of space, as you rightly point out.

We're very pleased that you enjoyed your food throughout your stay, and of course our wonderful location - despite the rain!

We hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    263
    102
    49
    46
See reviews for
137
468
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

just returned from one nights stay .have
stayed here before the change of ownership and what a difference.The hotel staff were very friendly and our riverview room although small was exceptionally clean ,warm and comfortable,The balcony has 2 chairs and table ideal to sit and relax although unfortunately we couldnt make full use of it due to the torrential rain however we will keep an eye on the weather forecast and return on a sunny weekend.We ate in the bar at lunchtime and had the evening meal in the restaurant,both meals were very good and reasonably priced by hotel standards ,also bar prices good.Breakfast was buffet style and very tasty although after being served coffee and toast(not offered a choice of white or brown)no explanation of breakfast procedure ,where sauces were etc was offered and would have been nice to be offered coffee top up and if more toast required etc..however very minor niggle and doesnt affect my rating of this hotel as excellent.The communal areas very clean comfortable with lovely cosy areas for relaxing and enjoying the lovely riverviews.only complaint that we foolishly only booked one night!

Room Tip: worth it to pay a little extra for riverview room.if weather good go for second floor room so no one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lin433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
I'm delighted that you so enjoyed your stay here at The Chainbridge. It's wonderful to read how exceptionally clean the room was, as our housekeepers work extremely hard on the cleanliness of the rooms. I'm also pleased that you're impressed by the recent changes, as well as the quality and affordability of the food we offer.

Very fair points regarding breakfast, and we will endeavour to make it easier for people to understand the buffet process, which we use when the hotel is busy. In regard to a coffee top up or more toast, guests are always welcome to both - and if the staff are busy or rushing, then just stop one of them and ask, they'll be delighted to help.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Although still local to the area, we used to live in the Dee Valley and have been aware of the rise and fall of the fortunes of the Chain Bridge Hotel (and other hotels in the area). It was always on our list of places to go with friends for dinner,lunch etc.
Meeting friends for lunch yesterday and debating where to go we all remembered that we had seen the Chain Bridge recently from the A5 Llangollen road and it had been undergoing a huge refurbishment since a change of ownership some time ago.
Wandering in from the lower car park by the canal - stopping to watch Thomas Tank, high above the river, pulling the train back to Llangollen - we wandered in and slowly took in our surroundings.
What a transformation. Such tasteful decor and furnishings with nooks and alcoves for private group conversations. Settling in the Bar Lounge with a fantastic view of the fast flowing river and road above from the glass wall, we perused the quite extensive yet reasonably-priced menu. Would the food be up to scratch? Our hopes and expectations were more than matched and we went on to order dessert. The wine selection was not vast but more than sufficient. One of our party was overjoyed to find that they had the newly resurrected local brew,Wrexham Lager, on pump - always his drink of choice until the brewery in Wrexham was closed down. All in all we spent three hours chatting, enjoying the excellent food and ambience and the groups of brave folks in dinghies braving the raging river below. We noticed that the restaurant was also situated on the front overlooking the river.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlookig the river. They have balconies where you can sit out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Many thanks for posting your review of the hotel following your lunch. As you say, The Chainbridge has an interesting history and we hope that having made the changes we have, more people will now come to the hotel to enjoy our wonderful and unique location, warm hospitality and quality food and drink.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much, and that all aspects of the hotel, from the improved interiors and furnishings, to the lovely food, the drink (the Wrexham Lager was added this week and is proving very popular, while we are launching a new wine list this week, with a carefully considered and improved offering) and of course the setting with the river and the steam train.

We are very pleased that an ever-increasing amount of local people and guests who used to use the hotel regularly are now returning, and once again enjoying The Chainbridge.

We hope to welcome you back before long.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

One of the most extraordinary places we have ever stayed. Situated 2 miles out of town it perches between the canal and the rapid flowing Dee River. It has the most wonderful views of the River,Chain Bridge and the railway viaduct over which a steam train would at times pass. The bar area has various cosy nooks and there are also outside options .The views from the huge glass windows of the dining room are extraordinary. The experience of sitting on your room balcony watching and listening to the river is magic. There is no lift and the floors are a little creaky room very clean although a little dated. Dinner was uniformly good and wait staff delightful.A really great experience

Room Tip: A river facing room is amazing although if the sound of rushing water is not for you opt for a cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
We're very pleased that you had such a great experience staying here at The Chainbridge, and that you thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated our wonderful location and the stunning surroundings and scenery.

I'm very pleased that the staff and the food were a hit, and I hope that you enjoy the rest of your time here in the UK as much as you enjoyed your short time here in Llangollen.

All the best,
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our first night in Wales this April was beyond our expectations in accommodations, food and exceptional scenery! The nearby walk on the canal was delightful, too. Request a room on the front facing the racing river for the best impact. All rooms are en-suite and inviting.

Room Tip: On the river side is best for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbarasculpts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your review. We are delighted that your stay here at The Chainbridge exceeded your expectations, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time exploring here in the UK.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The first time we have stayed since it was taken over. We used to stay fairly regularly but found that standards were slipping so stopped using the hotel.
On reading the trip advisor reviews we decided to return and are so glad that we did.
The hotel has undergone a transformation, and is so much better. We were really impressed. The Entrance, Reception and Bar area is completely different, and very tastefully done, whilst still being in keeping with the rest of the hotel.
The food was excellent both at breakfast and evening meal. Breakfast was served to the table on one morning and buffet style the following day, both of which were very nicely cooked and hot. The evening meal was again very nicely cooked and presented and very tasty.
The bedrooms have been given an upgrade and look much more inviting, the bed was extremely comfortable and the river view excellent.
The only thing that I can find fault with was that the phone in our room kept beeping throughout the night, but the following evening we disconnected it and the problem was solved. Also the window would not open, but this did not in any way spoil our stay and we have booked to return in August.

Room Tip: We always prefer a river view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your recent stay. I am delighted that you have decided to revisit The Chainbridge after reading about the changes we have made to enhance the hotel. It is nearly two years since we took on the hotel, and indeed we agree with you that a lot was needed at that time. We have done a lot to make improvements, that will help our guests to better enjoy the hotel, and more continues to be done to keep this up.

I am very pleased that all aspects of the stay met with your approval (other than the fault with the phone - a new phone system is being installed as we speak, throughout the whole hotel) and we are very glad that you have booked to visit us again this August.

We look forward to welcoming you back then.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a lovely meal at The Chainbridge hotel tonight. All five of us would highly recommend The Chainbridge for a meal. The professional service from the young man at the bar to the two efficient pleasant young ladies who served us in the restaurant was faultless. The restaurant is immaculate. The presentation of the food is excellent and we feel that it is the best place to eat in Llangollen. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your meal so much on Sunday evening, and all of your kind comments are greatly appreciated by all of the staff. To be said that we provide the best place to eat in Llangollen is high praise indeed - and we very much look forward to seeing you again before long.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
473 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Property: Chainbridge Hotel
Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing