We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Recently stayed at the Chainbridge. Great stay, pleasant staff, clean room, good food and amazing setting! We did have great weather, which probably helped, but still - what a setting! Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaymorechovolsye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review, following your recent stay.

We are very pleased that every thing you mention was of a good standard and that it may for a great stay.

I think that the Welsh landscape offered something different for you as South African guests - and it's probably a good thing that we were having a good spell of weather!

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stay regularly at this hotel which is like home from home with warm, personal and friendly service. It must be the most beautiful location in Wales with stunning river views at the front which can be enjoyed from the most comfortable rooms with a spacious balcony. The food is out of this world with an excellent choice of courses and the staff are wonderful. Why go anywhere else?

Room Tip: Only slightly more expensive than the canal-side rooms bit it's worth it to stay at the front ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferrequinologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words. We're truly lucky and grateful to have such pleasant regular guests, and we are pleased to see you each and every time you come to the hotel.

We are of course thrilled that you enjoy the hotel so much, and we know that we will see you before long.

Thank you, for being such a generous, pleasant and supportive guest.

Best regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Fantastic location, I can only echo earlier sentiments of reviewers. Take the chance to walk up the canal for five minutes to the Horseshoe Falls to see how Telford raised the river bed to feed his canal. Tranquil, gorgeous, fish rising to take the flies and a lovely little stroll. Looking over the river to see a steam train arrive at the station opposite also superb. Bats under the chainbridge at night time too. All of which make this a unique hotel.

Saturday lunch excellent - quick pointer please don't put onion in the salad with the prawn cocktail, they just don't go together! But lunch looking over the river to the hillside opposite, the train station, just wonderful!

Rooms - we went for dog friendly ones next to the canal only some of which are renovated. Avoid room 44 like the plague! It has a ceiling with bowing and peeling paper, it also had a pillow without a pillow case, no hair dryers and PLEASE provide bigger towels. They are too small to wrap around the average human! However we were moved to room 43 quickly and without fuss and my elderly in-laws were luckily in the renovated room 45. We didn't get chance to go to any of the balcony rooms facing the river, by all accounts they are lovely.

Late bar lovely and reasonably priced for a hotel. Friendly staff too. Breakfast at the weekend was buffet style but remained very good sat in the restaurant watching the family of ducks navigate the rapids of the river!

A really interesting place in a unique location, great for walkers, lovers of history, lovers of trains, lovers of nature and those who don't want a chain hotel experience.

Room Tip: If you can book a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimStretton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us.

I am very glad that so many aspects of the stay were enjoyable, the lunch, the views, the staff, breakfast and of course the location and the wonderful surroundings.

We apologise for the condition of the room you were initially given and I am pleased that you were so swiftly moved and that your in-laws were in a newly renovated ground floor room. Once we realised the nature of the decorative order of the room we organised for it to be redecorated and refurbished - which is taking place as I type - and it will offer guests a much improved experience.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have heard lots of very positive things about the Chain Bridge of late. We haven't visited for some time.We were delighted to see it has been brought back to its former glory. The location is second to none. We treated the family to Sunday Lunch and we were not disappointed the food was as good as we had heard. Well done to all who obviously work very hard behind the scenes. When we come to Llangollen again we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol-lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

What a generous and kind review - all we can do is to say thank you.

We're very pleased that you and all of your family enjoyed your get together during Sunday lunch, and we're thrilled that you'll be staying with us in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel has been recently renovated and the rooms are nice and clean. The bathrooms are clean and nicely done with a bath tub. The service at the bar and the dining area was very good and the receptionist was a very sweet old lady who was very efficient. The food was good and breakfast generally was served at 8:00 am. The only negatives I can think of is there is no mobile network coverage at the hotel and the network of TV channels is limited to 5. So if you are with kids they would get mighty bored.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank nomadBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for posting your review after your stay, we're pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

I'm glad that you found the rooms to be pleasant and the cleanliness of the highest order. I'm delighted that you found the service in the bar and dining room to be excellent, and - while in these times of age discrimination I can't possibly know who you mean - the 'very sweet old lady' was very efficient on Reception!

TV coverage and mobile signal are both limited, such is the nature of our location, but we hope that the views and surrounding countryside do as much as possible to compensate!

Thanks again
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Only a one night stay unfortunately in this great value for money, hotel. An interesting history and was allowed to decay under previous owner but the new ones seem to be doing everything right to bring it back to previous glories. Room overlooking the river is a must. We experienced friendly staff, decent dinner and a reasonable breakfast and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Many thanks for posting your review after staying here at The Chainbridge Hotel>

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel to be such good value. The hotel does, indeed, have a wonderful and interesting history, and I'm glad that this, as well as good staff and food, contributed to a pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a fantastic time here bank holiday week end. Been here on four occasions but this is the 1st time here under new management,so a few welcome changes all for the good.
One thing you can't change is the view,no other hotel in the area has such stunning surroundings,(best to book a balcony).
The bar area indoors is very pleasant as is the outdoors on a dry day for a relaxing drink.
Resturant overlooks the river dee and Llangollen railway,(steam trains pass by in the day). The menu has something for every one and food great taste/value.
The two young lady's who served us were so busy but catered to our table of eight with great professional skills.
All the staff seem very happy and helpful so would recommend this hotel.
Room 25 has very commanding views.
TV channels limited but could be due to location,but we were here for the views.
Enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: Book a Belcony for the views,stunning. Room 25 has double vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review. You obviously love the hotel having visited several times over the years, though I am personally delighted that you agree the changes that have been made since we acquired the business have been for the best and have further improved the charm of the hotel.

I am very pleased that the young ladies who served you - depsite being busy on a Bank Holiday - did so well, and that you found the food, interiors and of course location to your satisfaction. Room 25 does indeed have wonderful views down the river!

Regarding the TVs, they are always a struggle, and despite installing two new TV systems this year, and numerous brand new TVs, they still sometimes fail to provide us with satisfactory coverage. It can sometimes be only one or two channels, however, like yourselves, very, very few people come to Llangollen, or The Chainbridge Hotel, to watch television. It's something we're working on, but in the meantime, we hope people enjoy looking at the views!

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
580 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
435 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: £97 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing