We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chainbridge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
359
278
104
53
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
359
278
104
53
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschain bridgehorseshoe fallscanal sidesteam trainberwyn stationacross the riverbalcony overlookingstunning locationraging rivertow pathbar areariver deevisited this hotellovely walklamb shankan evening mealllangollen railway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wonderful location, with room and balcony overlooking River Dee. Friendly staff all over hotel, and a plus to have a freshly cooked breakfast to order instead of the usual tired buffet.
Only looses a point for having no hotel wide wi fi.and a TV high in a cupboard.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Many thanks for your review and for your comments.

I appreciate that Wifi is becoming more important to guests, and while we are happy to offer Wifi free of charge in the hotel's public areas, it is something we will look at in the future in terms of its availability in more areas of the hotel.

I am so pleased that the hotel's wonderful location, and our friendly staff and good food, met with your approval.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at the Chainbridge Hotel for 2 nights, the views are fantastic, the breakfasts are superb, the rooms, well there has to be a fault somewhere, viewed 2 rooms and both we found to be very small, one chair, TV in a cupboard at ceiling height, no hooks or shelves in bathroom, the 10p sized soap for 2 nights, only 1 power socket available for kettle or whatever,. But then to compensate, the veranda was unique with the previously mentioned views. Our room was accessed via 5 fire doors, an essential we know but freshness between sections left a lot to be desired.
The restaurant again offers the views, the breakfasts as mentions are superb, but diner was very disappointing and equated to poor "Pub Food".
Overall it was good value for money but would not have minded paying more for larger rooms etc' and decent evening menus.

Room Tip: Choose a 1st floor room especially if you have heavy luggage to carry
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clothbomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review following your recent stay.

I'm disappointed to read there were elements of your stay that you felt were not as good as you had expected, for example the food, which you will see from other posts is usually well received and commented on. With that in mind I will be sure to look back to your booking and see what issues there were and how these can be resolved.

Of course the hotel's location is a wonderful asset, and we will continue to work hard to ensure that our guests can enjoy it safe in the knowledge that all the other aspects of the hotel and their stay will be as easy to enjoy!

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We last stayed here in 2011 and commented then that with quite a bit of investment this could be a lovely hotel. Having read some more recent reviews we decided to have a look for ourselves and were pleasantly surprised with the changes that have been made.

The river has always been stunning but it is so much nicer to enjoy it in lovely surroundings . The room we stayed in was one of the larger ones and has been nicely furnished and decorated. The bar and reception area were so much nicer, with lovely seating areas. Even the entrance is so much nicer, you don't have to go in next to the bins any more!

We did have a bit of a problem on arrival as our booking had been lost. This was quickly sorted out though and to our satisfaction.

The very nice receptionist said that the hotel is still a work in progress and there are ceratinly some areas that still need attention. A couple of tiny niggles like no towel rails or hooks in the bathroom, the shower wouldn't stay up (didn't report it and I'm sure if we had it would have ben sorted) and no sockets near a mirror - but none of that detracts from what a lovely lovely place it is. Thoroughly enjoyable weekend, thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommoHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review and for commenting on how the hotel has improved since your last visit in 2011. You're quite right that the hotel was in dire need of investment, and since taking on the hotel in June 2012 a significant amount has been done to improve it. We are delighted by the response we have had, and that guests are enjoying the hotel and its wonderful location, and we are keen to continue the work to further enhance the hotel.

We hope that you will be returning again to enjoy some R&R with us here in Llangollen, and thank you again.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We revisited the Chainbridge Hotel 2 years after our 1st visit when the new owners took over. This visit really opened our eyes to the improvements that the new owners have made.

Bright tastefully decorated reception rooms and bedrooms.

Beautiful bedroom suite overlooking the River Dee, where we could enjoy a drink before dinner and just relax and watch the fast flowing river and the steam trains on the viaduct opposite our hotel balcony.

Janet Jackson the chef is a fantastic chef and nothing is too much trouble for her we arrived on a Sunday and had a lovely presented Roast Dinner in the evening.

Plenty of choices on the menu and all the ingredients are locally sourced, breakfast were lovely and all meals were piping hot. To sit in the dining room literally over the River Dee was relaxing and awesome.

The other side of the hotel backed on to the canal where horse drawn barges stopped to let you do the short stroll to horseshoe falls which is beautiful.

Lastly a big big thank you to all the staff from chambermaids to receptionist who made our stay so unforgettable. Thank you we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquiCwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Many thanks for posting your review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much. It's wonderful to receive positive comments from guests such as yourselves, who knew the hotel prior to any of the refurbishment and alterations being made.

I am very glad that all of the staff in every department were keen to help and enhance your stay, and that the food was so pleasing.

We are blessed with a truly unique location and we are so pleased that you enjoy it and will be returning again in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The best hotel in the area by far, had a lovely walk from Town up the canal tow path to this sparkling hotel.
It's had a major refurb and everything about the place is classy, the owner really knows his stuff.
Set in an absolutely unrivalled position, everyone who has the chance to stay here should, perfect for big events too !

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank stephenlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you very much for your generous words. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us here at The Chainbridge and that you approve of all the work that has been undertaken to improve the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews