We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Location in Welsh Valley”
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This charming hotel has a breathtaking location just outside of Llangollen. The view from the restaurant is amazing and you can sit and watch the river pass below for hours! The rooms a typically small, but have all you need in terms of TV (bad reception though) and bathroom with tub. A nice feature was the balcony facing the river. A minor complaint: why all the long, naroorw corridors and no lift? We are a middleaged gay couple who can carry our bags, but even we were exhausted before we got to our room. A major complaint: why no wifi in the rooms? This has become such a standard in hotels all over the world and these days you really feel it is a must!
Still, If we do come back to the area we would be happy to stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river! You can fall a sleep to the sound of the water....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank markus_sterky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I'm delighted with the positive commets you have made, thank you.

In regard to the comments made where you feel improvments can be made:

- the TV signal is always problematic, and while we have endeavoured to improve it via a new TV system and new TVs in the rooms, due to the location of the hotel, our TV reception will never be a major selling point for the hotel
- the design of the hotel means that long corridors are required, and the age of the hotel means that a lift is very complex to integrate. The lift is something that we will consider at some stage, but not until more pressing changes have taken place.
- in regard to WIFI, this is something we will look at too, however for the majority of guests here it is simply a case of checking emails, where are free WIFI in the ground floor public spaces does suffice.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and thanks again for the review.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you want a romantic get away in the country folks, this is the place. It is amazing and dream like. time just stood still. we got a balcony room on the river with views of the steam trains going by. I would by this hotel if i had the money. Breakfast help your self was great with local food. will return many times over again.

Room Tip: ask for river balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheHonestExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for such a positive and generous review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time here and that so many aspects of the hotel pleased you.

It is wonderful to read that you intend on returning to the hotel time and time again, and we will certianly look forward to welcoming you back. I will also make a note of your intentions to buy the hotel - we'll have a chat next time you're here...!

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our second visit this year.As "promised" by the management the pet friendly rooms have had a fabulous revamp and added a little more panache to the rooms.
We absolutely love this place and its situation is marvellous, it's a little further to reach than other hotels on my route but worth it.
New staff were marvellous btw.
Love the river,the canal and the steam train toots - anyone with an issue over any of those attractions needs to rethink their choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fatbloke_2000_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your second positive review of The Chainbridge following your return visit. I'm glad that you were pleased with the improvments we have made to our ground floor, pet-friendly rooms.

It's good that you thought that our newest members of staff were a welcome addition, and of course your opinion on the hotel's setting is well known!

We appreciate your custom, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The food and service were good and the location perfect. Our room had a large balcony that overlooked the river below- noise of rushing water was OK but could be a problem for some. Rather creaky beds.
Meal menu gave good choices but would have liked something like a lighter bar menu in evening as an additional option following big breakfast and lunch.
The bedrooms are not easily accessible for those with mobility problems as most are up steep and winding steps and there is no lift.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank DSUK34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Chainbridge. I'm glad that overall you were pleased with the experience. I understand your comments regarding lighter evening meals, and some guests choose to just select starters rather than main in the evenings if they've enjoyed a good lunch!

I'm glad that the food, service and location contributed to an enjoyable break.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Visited here in April 2014 and really enjoyed our stay. Stayed for 2 nights during Easter and the weather was just great. The hotel is right next to the river and canal so it's in a perfect spot.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was good but could have been better but still enjoyable. The portions were a little on the small side. Breakfast was self service so you can fill your boots for the day ahead!

The hotel is a 2-3 miles outside of Llangollen, you can walk or get a taxi into town at a cost of £6 which were thought was a-bit on the expensive side..

The room was big and really spacious.

Would definately go here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us at Easter. We're very glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us - the breakfasts in particular! - and that you would be pleased to stay with us again.

I'm sure that you had a wonderful time exploring all the area has to offer, and hopefully we'll see you here again before too long.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I've just spent 3 nights at the Chainbridge and can't rate it highly enough. I was lucky enough to be in a riverside room with balcony, which was more than adequate for my needs. Plenty of storage space, comfortable bed, very clean. Okay, the river is a little noisy when in full flow, but what do you expect? Luckily the double glazing mostly eliminates the noise. The views are fantastic. Its a lovely walk (one and a half mile approx) along the picturesque canal into Llangollen. You can walk a further four and half miles to the Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, which is well worth a visit. I didn't eat at the hotel, apart from breakfast, which was very good.
The staff were friendly and helpful and, having left something in my room upon departure, they soon located it and returned it to me.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Browns38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a pleasant visit to Llangollen. We're very pleased that you would stay at the hotel again, and that you found our location, staff and good breakfasts to your liking!

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just visited this hotel (after not being here for years) for lunch. The food was delicious and reasonable, with good service and of course a wonderful view of the River Dee flowing over the rocks. The only slight criticism we had that it wasn't well signposted off the main road, but I suppose if you have satnav that isn't a big concern. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Many thanks for your review. I'm delighted that you managed to find us here tucked away by the river, and that, having not been to the hotel for a long time, you enjoyed your visit.

It's always good to hear that the food, service, and of course views, contribute to a pleasant time here at The Chainbridge, and that you would recommend the hotel to others.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
786 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
500 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
554 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
422 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: £97 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing