We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, would be fantastic if more effort was put in”
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, would be fantastic if more effort was put in”
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Beautiful Hotel. Bar and restaurant overlooking the river. The staff were very helpful and polite. We ate in the bar and food was good, home cooked. The bedroom was large, overlooking the canal at the back of the hotel, still a nice view. However, on the negative side the cold water tap was broken/cover missing (although still useable) and there were dead flies on the window cill and in the bath. In addition, hair was left in the plug hole from the previous occupants which is not what I expect from any hotel. This hotel needs to pay more attention to its cleanliness. On the other hand it was nice to use the spa/jacuzzi facilites at its sister hotel which then seemed to redeem itself - ok for one night but would have complained if I was staying there for longer .

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    263
    102
    49
    46
See reviews for
137
468
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2009

After trawling though websites for value for money accommodation with good local produce we found The Chainbridge which stated that it was newly refurbished and had room service. Both of these statements are lies, the rooms and most of the hotel have never been decorated since the 70s and the room service was none existent. The cold water tap only had warm water flowing through it so i was forever going to the bar for a jug of water. The heat in the room was so bad we had the door and window open all night. We stayed for three nights and the rooms were not cleaned once. The biggest joke was the menu it stated online that you had over fifteen dishes to choose from when we sat down the menu had only five and the prices were not the same as online. When i complained i was told that maybe on my next visit to llangollen i would like to stay at one of there sister hotels. What a joke !!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriawhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We spent New Years Eve 2007/8 at this hotel and were greeted by a rude and obnoxious recepionist, thinking it may have been a isolated case we foolishly booked for 2008/9, to our delight she was nowhere tobe seen. At approx 6 30 pmwe wanted a shower but alas no hot water a compaint to reception fell on deaf ears. On check out on New Years Day yes there she was The Recepionist from Nell, ruder and more obnoxious than before, so if you like rude staff and poor service book a stay at the Chain Bridge Hotel Berwyn Llangollen North Wales

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butch0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Stayed here for one night (one night was enough). The setting is breathtaking overlooking the river with fantastic walks along the river & canal. This hotel could be fantastic but is badly in need of a refurbishment. Saying that there is no excuse for lack of cleaning! Our room overlooked the flowing river, fantastic, BUT the pillows were stained & old, the kettle had seen it's day. The hospitality tray needed a good clean with hot soapy water as did the drawers & the bathroom was positively disgusting! The door just needed a good clean with hot soapy water as did the tiles & rest of the bathroom. The shower just trickled & we had to bath instead of using the shower. Washing my hair was a nightmare with the shower & beakers of water. We dined in the restaurant which again was a beautiful setting overlooking the river. The meal was quite good but rather expensive at £22.90 per head for 3 courses & the wine also was expensive. The carpet in the restaurant looked as if it hadn't been hoovered for weeks & there was a horrible musty smell throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

decided to get away for a couple of days and chose this hotel.
A bit hard to find, so we followed a local taxi driver who took us right there. There is a car park above the hotel but it is not tarmacked, down below there is a car park situated next to the hotel which is.
Check in was speedy and the girl on reception was warm, friendly and helpful. We had requested a room with a balcony and got one, what a joy, the balcony was huge and would be lovely to sit out on it,on a nice warm summers night with views over the river.
The room was large with a double bed and a seperate combined shower and toilet, down a small corridor there was a further bedroom with a bath/shower/toilet attached to it, big enough for a family.
The room was clean and towels and toiletries are provided, the only complaint was the warmth of the room despite the cold weather the room was very warm even when the heating was turned down, but this minor gripe was not enough to put me off this hotel. The hotel stands alone and is a 30 minute walk along the canal to Llangollen were there are some nice places to eat, or as we did you can eat in the chainbridge were we had a meal from the bar menu and the food was lovely, breakfast was served in the main restaurant and was self service with regards to the fruit juice cereals etc and breakfast was a full welsh breakfast, all very nice.
All in all a lovely hotel with reat friendly staff, the only concern was the price of drinks in the bar, but not enough to prevent us from returning in the near future

  • Liked — location/staff
  • Disliked — drinks prices
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank topgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

The hotel position right over the river cannot be beaten - the sound and sight of the water makes up for the shabbiness of the rooms - dated furniture, faded fabrics (greasy headboard!) and dirty saucers BUT we stayed in Room 41 and the view was spectacular - it's on the corner and has two big windows overlooking the river and a little waterfall, with a balcony. The dining room is full of dark carved wood and breathtaking. The room was cheap but beware! When we arrived early and asked for breakfast, we were charged £10 each for a bit of dry toast and a coffee! I understand times are hard, but when we got the bill for this it spoiled an otherwise lovely stay. It could be a wonderful hotel.

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Overcharging
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eves_mamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We first found the Chainbridge hotel during the summer whilst travelling past on the steam train and thought how idyllic it looked. We decided to book for a weekend away with some friends. The hotel lived up to its expectations, the location was fantastic, our bedrooms had balconies overlooking the fast-flowing river which was mesmerising. The hotel was nice and clean, maybe a little dated, but that just added to its character.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The first morning of our stay our breakfast was served to us, and the following morning it was self service, but both were equally as nice. We also had an evening meal in the restaurant which was delicious.
We will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to anybody requiring a relaxing break away from it all.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
473 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Property: Chainbridge Hotel
Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing