We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame!”
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We're locals and live 8 miles down the road. Llangollen in summer is well worth a visit but unfortunately the best place in town for food (The Cornmill) was fully booked so we tried something different and visited the Chainbridge for some food for the first time last Saturday. Truly awful! Staff not helpful (think there was a bit of a language issue), no choice but instead set 3-course meal for 22.90 per person. 5 starters, 5 mains, 5 sweets to choose from which - in principle - sounded quite promising. Yet dry chicken, stretched fishcakes (more mashed potatoes than fish) and overcooked salmon (with extra hot dry cajun) along with defrosted cheese cake and lemon tarte made us wish we'd gone for some decent pub grub instead. Instant or froozen mash (not sure) led to one of us commenting that it wasn't as expected when the waitress came to clear the plates to which she responded that she hadn't cooked it!!!????? The setting is perfect but the food and the services on offer don't match any expectations and we definitely won't go again. it's almost like we were interrupting the staff's peaceful Sat night in an empty restaurant. Complimentary water on the table looked like it had been there for a few days. It's a proper old-fashioned place and not welcoming at all, this place should be buzzing and getting its fair share of business during the summer season but I can't see anyone wanting to spend quality time and cash in a perfect setting with disinterested staff and a general feeling of 'not happening'. Shame.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogsinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2009

I stayed at the hotel together with a friend for two nights towards the end of April.
As previous reviewers have commented the location of the hotel is superb overlooking the River Dee.
We found the rooms to be of the standard that we would expect for this class of hotel and we found no evidence of the lack of cleaning referred to by earlier reviewers.
The buffet breakfast taken in the dining room overlooking the river was first class.
On both evenings we ate from the a la carte menu in the dining room and had enjoyable meals which were reasonably priced.
The staff, receptionists and restaurant, were friendly and helpful.
We would certainly stop there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

just spent 3 days at the Chain Bridge,it's in amazing setting between the canal and the river with the added bonus of being opposite the little station where the steam trains stop.Beautiful scenery observed from your lovely balcony really make it special.If you're looking for posh 5* this isn't it but the restaurant/lounge and bar all overlook this amazing vista.We needed to get away for personal reasons and it met our needs for a few days much needed break.Our room was very small and my bed seemed to slope to one side,I think the springs had gone on that side,but it had tea/coffee facilities,extra pillows when requested and although in need of the proverbial update was clean.
We enjoyed eating in the bar,actually more choice here than the restaurant,was more comfy and of course cheaper.We only managed to get up for one breakfast not being early risers but it was excellent[especially the sausages!!]it was a buffet so you could make your own choice.It's a mile from central Llangollen and 2 miles from the HorseShoe Pass.The approach is a bit hairy and poor parking facilities but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hectorzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Peaceful riverside hideaway

Great location, hidden in a valley with a beautiful river running past (which lulls you to sleep at night) eat dinner and watch the kayakers take to the river. A fantastic stay with extremely friendly staff and stunning views; you can picture yourself wasting the day on your balcony watching the water.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Beautiful Hotel. Bar and restaurant overlooking the river. The staff were very helpful and polite. We ate in the bar and food was good, home cooked. The bedroom was large, overlooking the canal at the back of the hotel, still a nice view. However, on the negative side the cold water tap was broken/cover missing (although still useable) and there were dead flies on the window cill and in the bath. In addition, hair was left in the plug hole from the previous occupants which is not what I expect from any hotel. This hotel needs to pay more attention to its cleanliness. On the other hand it was nice to use the spa/jacuzzi facilites at its sister hotel which then seemed to redeem itself - ok for one night but would have complained if I was staying there for longer .

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

After trawling though websites for value for money accommodation with good local produce we found The Chainbridge which stated that it was newly refurbished and had room service. Both of these statements are lies, the rooms and most of the hotel have never been decorated since the 70s and the room service was none existent. The cold water tap only had warm water flowing through it so i was forever going to the bar for a jug of water. The heat in the room was so bad we had the door and window open all night. We stayed for three nights and the rooms were not cleaned once. The biggest joke was the menu it stated online that you had over fifteen dishes to choose from when we sat down the menu had only five and the prices were not the same as online. When i complained i was told that maybe on my next visit to llangollen i would like to stay at one of there sister hotels. What a joke !!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoriawhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We spent New Years Eve 2007/8 at this hotel and were greeted by a rude and obnoxious recepionist, thinking it may have been a isolated case we foolishly booked for 2008/9, to our delight she was nowhere tobe seen. At approx 6 30 pmwe wanted a shower but alas no hot water a compaint to reception fell on deaf ears. On check out on New Years Day yes there she was The Recepionist from Nell, ruder and more obnoxious than before, so if you like rude staff and poor service book a stay at the Chain Bridge Hotel Berwyn Llangollen North Wales

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butch0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
786 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
501 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
554 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
423 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: £97 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing