We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spuds a special order”
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“spuds a special order”
Reviewed 22 July 2009

four of us visited the chainbridge for sunday lunch. the setting and surroundings are truly fantastic, but the chain bridge hotel didnt create that.
i meal was not upto the kind of standard you would expect for the money you pay.
we realised after our meal that there had been no mashed potatoes on our plates, my friend queried it with the waitress who was foreign she replied "to have boiled or mashed potatoes with our meal you have make a special order with the chef".we asked about it at reception and were told " its none my business" we will not go back and would certainly not recommend it to a friend

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanlpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    260
    101
    47
    46
See reviews for
137
464
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

stayed for 1 night in july and have nothing bad to say about the hotel the view from the large bedroom balcony is fantastic you could not wish for a better location with a very pleasant walk along the towpath to llangollen.Staff very friendly,room very clean ok corridors need updating but in our opinion this is an excellent hotel,we have booked to stay again next week.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishwickMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2009

....We called in for a bar meal on our way to Llangollen Eisteddfod. The Hotel itself is very dated and in need of a complete makeover . Food was not up to standard!!!! Not good at all!!!Bad value for money-would have enjoyed a Macdonalds better for 1/3 of the price!!Lager was flat -Service was very poor- not even a smiling face!!!! Never again.!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Got a fabulous deal on net for dinner, breakfast and room. The Hotel is a bit shabby but it does not pretend to be a 5 star hotel. the food and service was superb. Where else woiuld you stay in the world with a water fall gushing past and a canal on the other side with horse drawn canal boats going past . Bliss

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We're locals and live 8 miles down the road. Llangollen in summer is well worth a visit but unfortunately the best place in town for food (The Cornmill) was fully booked so we tried something different and visited the Chainbridge for some food for the first time last Saturday. Truly awful! Staff not helpful (think there was a bit of a language issue), no choice but instead set 3-course meal for 22.90 per person. 5 starters, 5 mains, 5 sweets to choose from which - in principle - sounded quite promising. Yet dry chicken, stretched fishcakes (more mashed potatoes than fish) and overcooked salmon (with extra hot dry cajun) along with defrosted cheese cake and lemon tarte made us wish we'd gone for some decent pub grub instead. Instant or froozen mash (not sure) led to one of us commenting that it wasn't as expected when the waitress came to clear the plates to which she responded that she hadn't cooked it!!!????? The setting is perfect but the food and the services on offer don't match any expectations and we definitely won't go again. it's almost like we were interrupting the staff's peaceful Sat night in an empty restaurant. Complimentary water on the table looked like it had been there for a few days. It's a proper old-fashioned place and not welcoming at all, this place should be buzzing and getting its fair share of business during the summer season but I can't see anyone wanting to spend quality time and cash in a perfect setting with disinterested staff and a general feeling of 'not happening'. Shame.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogsinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

I stayed at the hotel together with a friend for two nights towards the end of April.
As previous reviewers have commented the location of the hotel is superb overlooking the River Dee.
We found the rooms to be of the standard that we would expect for this class of hotel and we found no evidence of the lack of cleaning referred to by earlier reviewers.
The buffet breakfast taken in the dining room overlooking the river was first class.
On both evenings we ate from the a la carte menu in the dining room and had enjoyable meals which were reasonably priced.
The staff, receptionists and restaurant, were friendly and helpful.
We would certainly stop there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

just spent 3 days at the Chain Bridge,it's in amazing setting between the canal and the river with the added bonus of being opposite the little station where the steam trains stop.Beautiful scenery observed from your lovely balcony really make it special.If you're looking for posh 5* this isn't it but the restaurant/lounge and bar all overlook this amazing vista.We needed to get away for personal reasons and it met our needs for a few days much needed break.Our room was very small and my bed seemed to slope to one side,I think the springs had gone on that side,but it had tea/coffee facilities,extra pillows when requested and although in need of the proverbial update was clean.
We enjoyed eating in the bar,actually more choice here than the restaurant,was more comfy and of course cheaper.We only managed to get up for one breakfast not being early risers but it was excellent[especially the sausages!!]it was a buffet so you could make your own choice.It's a mile from central Llangollen and 2 miles from the HorseShoe Pass.The approach is a bit hairy and poor parking facilities but it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hectorzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
458 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
263 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Property: Chainbridge Hotel
Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing