We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting, unbelievable value for money”
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We have just stayed at the chainbridge for two nights. The location is perfect, overlooking the river dee, the staff were fantastic and our newly refurbished room was absolutely brilliant. The food was first class and not overly priced like some contributors have suggested. We would definitely go back as we enjoyed our stay do much

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danjorobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2010

We paid £32.50 per person for DBB (minimum 3 nights stay) The hotel is being refurbed- hence the price. We took the dog (for free) and she was made very welcome.

The staff are lovely, nothing is too much trouble. The room was fairly small, it had a lovely bathroom (you can only take dogs into some rooms) had a good view of the river and was extremely warm. It was absolutely spotless.

The bar area hasn't been updated yet, however, the view is fantastic. You sit overlooking rapids. There is always something to see i.e wildlife or canoes. Bar food is £5 at lunchtime.

The food in the restaurant was lovely. I can't see why people would think it expensive, where can you get a 3 course meal in a restaurant for £22? In the local pub the main courses started at £15, so we felt that we had value for money.

Full English breakfast was available in buffet form. It was fresh and well cooked. No issues there.

If you stay at the hotel you have free use of the spa at the Wild Pheasant down the road. It was lovely.we used it twice.

I think that for what we paid we had excellent value. The hotel should be given credit for keeping open whilst refurbishing. It didn't affect us at all. My only slight grip was that the bed could be better.

We would recommend this for a lovely relaxing few days. It is a lovely walk along the canal to Llangollen, plus there are other good walks nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vilecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Initially for £38 dinner B & B this was a good deal. From the outside the hotel looks tired but it is being refurbished. When we entered the decor was very good and in keping with the hotel. The room was comfortable overlooking the river. The decking needs a good clean and the patio furniture definitely needs replacing.
However the room was comfortable, the breakfast very good.
The evening meal was adequate but I'm glad it was included as £20+ to pay was over the top. I had lamb and when I asked for the mint sauce it was vinegar with a bit of mint. We also got one portion of veg between the two and we had to halve the floret of broccoli.
I would certainly go again but the sister hotel the Bryn Howe I felt was better.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We stayed at this hotel rooms clean and comfortable even though not refurbished which is being done. Staff very welcoming and extremely helpfull nothing too much trouble. The main complaint was the cost of the evening meals £22.90 BUT if you chose lamb shank add a further £1.95 if however your preference is towards sirloin steak then add an extra £2.95 (the steak also was very mixey) and if you had chips (no indication of this on the menu as an extra) the charge increased by a further £1.75 this increasing what is already an expensive meal even higher We would recommend this hotel to family and friends but advise them to have evening meals elswhere

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvia035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I stayed in the Chain Bridge Hotel with a group of friends last Friday night. Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor I contacted them direct to ensure that I got decent rooms as some sound awful.
The most important point about this hotel is that it is very cheap, and for £25 per person B & B per night we had pretty low expectations. However, the beds were reasonably comfortable, the shower was puny but hot, towels clean and breakfast pretty good really. For this price you don't get fresh decor or attentive service, so I think that some of the reviews on here are unfair.
The location is great, sitting in the bar with a cold beer looking out at the river was a treat; overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n_g_anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

I would not recommend this hotel to any of my family and friends. Booked a weekend break for my husband and inlaws plus dog and toddler, looking forward to the break and going to a clean hotel. As I knew the hotel would only be basic so didnt expect luxury. We were very disappointed when arrived to find the room was freezing cold and had to ask the staff to put the boiler on so we could get some warmth in the room. Fags buts in the flower tubs not good, rubbish around the back of the hotel. Good place for a holiday for rats maybe!!! Such a lovely setting to be reuined by this very run down hotel with shower hose not working, tiles off the roof/building. Weeds everywhere. in 2 words "DONT GO"!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank v1cky1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

the sentance says it all its a friendly hotel with great staff we stayed for five days we had a restful break, the river sent us off to sleep at night and the birds woke us up, good walking area, with lots to do in the area would deff recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlieformby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
786 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
500 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
554 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
422 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: £97 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing