We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moss Bank

Moss Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moss Bank
Bedroom 1 (double) Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Moss Bank
Bedroom 1 (double)
Kitchen
Patio overlooking the river
Moss Bank and the river Dee from the bridge in Llangollen
Llangollen bridge
View from Moss Bank
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JulianSel...
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Found the house very easy to locate an get to, it was very close to the centre of town only a couple of minutes walk away. Was very quiet and peaceful at night, very comfortable inside, would definately come back and recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to all amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleflu...
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect little gem!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

In one word- AMAZING.

In more than one word...

We were so lucky to find this place- we changed a reservation to Moss Bank and we are so glad we did!

This apartment is situated practically on the steam railway and the river. We were there the weekend that Thomas the Tank Engine was visiting but that really didn't put us off. We woke up listening to the sound of the river and the steam trains if we slept in. It was fantastic. The views were just glorious.

The apartment

It's situated on the second floor (or for my partner, who is Canadian, the THIRD floor ;) ) You have to go through the owner's house to get to it but like it's said in previous reviews- once you go through the door leading to the apartment stairs, it's like your own place.

The bedrooms were great sizes, beds unbelievably comfortable. We had blankets, duvets, plenty of pillows provided, and little homely touches in each room- including a few books.

The TV is in the main bedroom. Sadly no sitting room but since it was just 2 of us, that was perfectly fine.

Wifi was provided, a little unstable at times but was good enough for us to chat to family and friends when needed.

Kitchen- perfect for a couple of people. No oven but there is a hob, microwave, toaster and kettle. There is a small fridge and all the utilities you need in there. Including some basic food stuffs (tea, coffee, sugar, salt and pepper)

Bathroom- a little small but easy to navigate round. Walk in shower, a few little bits like soap and shampoo that were provided and of course we were given a set of towels each.

We were greeted by Ian, who was very welcoming and friendly. They thought of everything and made our stay extremely enjoyable!

The apartment is less than 5 minutes from the restaurants and cafes on the main stretch. There are 3 shops to get some food (spar, stans (Nisa) and co-op) and various bakeries, butchers and green grocers for fresh stuff.

If you want a relaxing break, I recommend this place completely. I really really hope we can return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The sketchy (ish) wifi- but that's at a push- loved everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D247G
Beeston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, well-presented second-floor flat.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Brilliant place to stay in centre of Llangollen - if you're fine with stairs (two flights). Car parking in reserved space. Excellent view of the gushing river Dee from the bedroom window. Space comfortable; flat spotless; all facilities good. Really good value as a base for exploring.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMCal
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home from home!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my husband found this little gem last minute. We booked it the night before, spare of the moment. I could only find 1 review of moss bank, and although I normally like to thoroughly research a place before I go we just decided to go for it. When we pulled up I was pleasantly surprised. It's a beautiful house, perfect view of the river and the steam railway runs right infront of the house. It's a postcard perfect setting. I fell in love with the place instantly. Ian was their to greet us and show us inside. It's a lovely old house and on the top floor is where the guest accommodation is. You do have to walk through the owners hallway and up their stairs to get up to your level of course but once your up there you completely forget your in the same building. The apartment is gorgeous. Very tastefully decorated. The kitchen is fully equip. Bedrooms and bathroom very nice and clean. There is no lounge area but that was no problem for us. We were planning on having a lazy break away and that's exactly what we done. We brought lots of food with us and cooked breakfast, lunch and dinner in. We went for nice walks around Llangollen which is such a beautiful place. Right opposite on the river is a great pub called the Cotton mill it has a big wooden decked area, perfect to sit out in the sun. The second night we ordered Chinese takeaway in. It really was a home from home and just the break we needed. The view from the bedroom window of the river and the steam railway line running right past is so pretty. We loved waking up to the sound of the river and/or the steam train going past. We really did love it here and 2 nights wasn't long enough. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel and views.
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groovydin...
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable property in fantastic location.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed with my husband and 13yr old son. Property is very nice, comfortable and well decorated. There is no separate sitting room but this was not an issue as we were there Monday to Friday. The tv is in the double bedroom but there is an easy chair as well as the bed for 3rd person. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped but be aware there is no oven, just hob, microwave, kettle and toaster. Again this was fine for a short break and there are many good cafes, pubs and restaurants within walking distance of the apartment.
The location of the apartment is brilliant, views of the river and steam railway station from both bedrooms! Be warned the river is quite noisy if you have the windows open at night but this was an added attraction for me.
The only slight downside is having to go through the owners accommodation to get to the apartment although it does feel completely separate once you are in it. It was not a problem and the owners are really nice, it just felt a little awkward as you are aware of being careful not to disturb them.
There is the option to have breakfast for a further charge if you wish - we did not do this so cannot comment on quality.
There are a lot of stairs so not good for people with disabilities.
Overall we had a really nice relaxing time here and would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing