We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful lodge and setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Niagra lodge

the lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the lodge
En-suite Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
the lodge
En-suite
Kitchen
Open plan dining
Open plan
Outside decking
Outside decking
Just walking the dog
Bootz
Thomas the tank engine 5 mins away
Corn mill for a nice meal on the river
Llangollen town 5 mins away
Wellie cleaner
Vale of Llangollen golf course 10 mins away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
754wendy
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“beautiful lodge and setting”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

what a fantastic lodge set in stunning surroundings. Everything about it was perfect, down to the last detail. We all had a great week-end ( 6 adults, 4 children and 2 dogs) and have come home with some lovely happy memories. Many thanks, Robbie - what a shame you are fully booked for Christmas!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thank you we hope to see you again soon Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely...”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed here for 7 nights, myself my husband our daughter and 2 grandchildren, beautiful lodge, very quiet, very clean and well equipped! beds were very comfortable, en-suites were lovely, was very nice having 3 separate shower rooms.
No wifi was slighlty annoying, you had to walk right down to the main reception for wifi signal. But hey-ho we did go away for a quiet break! Also, the lake view on the photos is slightly miss leading, we could not see the lake from the Niagra lodge, it is indeed very private though! lovely week away xx

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
So happy you enjoyed your holiday,we are awaiting our site to upgrade the wifi but being near to the mountains it's not easy ,as you can imagine our picture was taken last year and the trees have grown since then but I think you will agree helps make it less intrusive thanks Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey C
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned home from a really relaxing family holiday at Niagra lodge.
The lodge itself is beautiful, very roomy and comfortable and well equipped.
Although the lodge was very private, it was situated up a small hill which was a bit of a problem getting my elderly mum up and down in her wheelchair. It was perfect for our dogs as the decking is massive and secure and they loved the walks around the ponds (not lakes).
Which brings me onto the fishing. I really enjoyed it and caught a few including a couple of stunners but course fishing for trout! It was hard work but had a laugh with about it with everyone else who brought course tackle. The guy from reception was very helpful when it came to fishing tips.
It was a bit gutting from the kids point of view that wifi is only available in reception and not in the house but most nights they could get it on the front porch or walk down to reception.
The park itself is fab for kids from a safety point of view. My niece and nephew met half a dozen other kids and they played out on the park and you knew they were fine. They loved the indoor swimming pool.
Llangollen is a short drive away (car park is hammered on Tuesday because they use it for the market). We booked a canel trip over the aquaduct which was ace but parking was tricky because of the market. Well worth doing though.
Robbie, the owner of the lodge is a little star and nothing is to much trouble.
The whole week was very enjoyable and if they stocked the ponds with carp, silvers, tench etc, I'd be back like a shot and that's the main reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thanks Tracey happy to have you stay anytime Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended lodge”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Group of 8 thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge. The Lodge is very well presented and clean with all the mod cons you would need for a weekend getaway. Location is great, and owner Rob was really helpful/informative giving advice on where to eat. Llangollen is a short drive away. Only suggestion would be to have a shower in the double ensuite. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seculded location thats close enough to the town
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Really happy you enjoyed your break in our lodge and will welcome you back anytime, the 2nd ensuite had to be bath only after shower flooding into downstairs ensuite several times,big thanks Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caztait
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here in March with 8 friends on a weekend ladies getaway and had an amazing time. We were very lucky with the weather which always helps, the site is very well kept and was quiet, I think even when full it wouldn't seem busy as there aren't very many lodges. Some of us used the pool which is small but clean, only downside is there are no changing rooms. The lodge was lovely, clean and we'll kept and Robbie the owner was very helpful and was happy to answer any questions, even contacting us whilst we were there to ask if there was anything we needed. It's a very short drive into Llangollen which is very pretty and we ate at The Corn Mill on the owners recommendation which was really good. Parking is limited so a taxi may be a good option. Will definitely go back with my kids as they would love it. The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is little things like there were only 4 wine glasses and 6 dining chairs and there was no shower in the 2nd en suite but they're only really small things that could be improved on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Hi so glad you enjoyed your stay in our lodge we would love to see you again,told you to phone me there is a large car park 2 minutes walk from the corn mill ,we now have 8 wine glasses (never had 8 ladies stay before) sorry about the second en-suite only having a bath 8 girls trying to get ready must of been frantic see you soon Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstyHar...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't recommend enough”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Group of 8, all had a fantastic stay. Lodge and location was great, and owner Robbie was really helpful/informative throughout. Only issue I had was the initial booking but that seemed to be a problem on the website, which was solved after contacting Robbie. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_CLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Niagara lodge at the end of January with my brother and sister with their respective families. Before we arrived I spoke to Robbie the owner who was extremely helpful with respect to the lodge and Llangollen. The lodge was exactly as I had hoped and we had a lovely weekend and I am sure it won't be the last time we stay there. My only comment would be that a 'Welcome book' would be beneficial containing information about the heating and maybe routes for local walks, food etc.
Thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing