We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Welsh Welcome”
Review of The Hand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Warm Welsh Welcome”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my friend for one night We had a lovely comfortable twin room. Breakfast was delicious with everything prepared freshly for us I would not hesitate to recommend The Hand Hotel to family and friends

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Blondebombsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    134
    93
    36
    25
See reviews for
71
131
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The room looked comfortable and inviting enough, but closer inspection revealed this to not be the case. Bathroom electrics wrapped in insulating tape was a potential killer. The bed was awfully hard and the room was cold. Food in the restaurant was deplorably bad. There is nothing complimentary which I can say!

Room Tip: Go stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llangollen hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My family and I have been staying at 'The Hand' on a regular basis over the last four years. To be honest, for value, service, cleanliness and general atmosphere the 'hand' cannot be beaten in Llangollen. The rooms are always clean, the staff totally professional and yet friendly. The local knowledge of the reception staff is second to non; but more importantly they have TIME for the person at the desk or table. Nothing is rushed. If you need a totally relaxing and friendly hotel, then choose 'The Hand'
I also believe that both the Rotary Club and the Probus Clubs of Llangollen both meet and eat there, so that speaks for itself

Room Tip: Rely on the staff, explain your needs and if possible they will be met
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We did not stay here but did go in for a drink and lunch the food was excellent the staff very friendly, service was great and it was great value for money. There is a large menu with plenty of choice and all freshly made, I would consider staying here in the future if we take a trip to llangollen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

my partner and i have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Hand Hotel. We decided to to spend a little time away from the hustle and bustle of city centre's and stag and hen do's!!! Llangollen seemed ideal. After reading reviews and considering price, we opted for the hand, the reviews were a bit of a mixed bag, but we decided to go for it. Glad we did, whilst the building is old, and showing signs of its age it only added to charm of the place . Staff at arrival could not do enough,bedroom clean, and breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biggiraffe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Me and my partner arrived at The Hand Hotel in Llangollen on a saturday afternoon last month. We booked a week before arriving. I took the previous poor reviews as a pinch of salt as I do love hotels steeped in history and full of charactor. I don't mind out of date decor as long as it's clean! But I regret it now so much!
The so called "80 available car parking spaces" carpark was full and there was other cars blocking people in! We parked along side the garages. My boyfriend said that when there's a space available he'll move the car and which he did. But it still wasn't a good first impression.
There was a black door mat wedged between the reception door?! The reception was a bit drap and dull with finger prints on the windows. We had to wait around 10 minutes for a member of staff to turn up. He looked rushed and rather stressed as he was dealing with the bar too. We were given our key and pointed to our room. But the signs were helpful.
We got to our room and it was cold and smelt rather musky. There was stained carpets, stained bed covers, no shampoo or soap ect, curtain partly hanging off, peeling wall paper, shower like a drip which took a while to heat up, stained tea cups and the heating was just awful! The electic heater did eventually heat up but gave off an awful burning smell! I was rather scared to leave it on! So we had a cold room for the night! As I've previously stated I can handle old, out of date decor but when it's not clean it's a different story.
Coming from the carpark and the hotel it seemed rather full so I thought it would be fully booked, so I didn't even ask to be moved. And I didn't fancy trying to find the extra busy staff, who would probably find it too much of a bother.
We spent the evening around Llangollen, and hand a lovely meal in the Corn Mill. We came back to the hotel around 11pm. The band were still playing really loud! The bar was full of locals who came across really rough! And rather hostile! So we had the one drink and went back to our room. The band didn't stop until 1am! So we had a restless nights sleep and it didn't help with the hard matress!
Breakfast was ok but the sausages were really over cooked and were awfully salty! But the staff were surprisingly polite.
overall I wish I took the bad reviews in to consideration and didn't book at all!!
It's a shame as the location is beautiful and the hotel does have charactor. It just needs a facelift and a re-vamp for the rooms, decor, staff and facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank weekends12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We went for the carvery lunch on the first Sunday of the month as they have live jazz in the bar as well. We really enjoyed it! The roast beef and Yorkshires were particularly great, and the veg was not overcooked. The quality of the trad jazz in the bar was fantastic and I would recommend it as a place to go for a lunch venue that has quality, isn't expensive and has a great atmosphere on that first Sunday of the month.
I really hope the management get the door from the car park fixed. We couldn't get in! Glad we did though...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jowrightSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
473 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
534 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge End Hotel
Bridge End Hotel
#13 of 26 in Llangollen
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand Hotel

Property: The Hand Hotel
Address: The Hand Hotel Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing above a beautiful stretch of the River Dee close to the centre of the pretty market town of Llangollen. The Hand Hotel with its stunning riverside garden, old world charm, ample free parking and home cooked food from our popular restaurant, is ideal for romance, for families, and groups, whether private or business, as well as for your wedding or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hand Hotel Llangollen
The Hand Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing