We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all depends on what you want!!!”
Review of The Hand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It all depends on what you want!!!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited the hand for a week's stay from the good old USA. I must admit that I was a bit worried after reading one or two of the reviews about the hand hotel. I was even thinking of moving to another hotel. However, I am glad that I kept my reservation. Right from entering the hotel we knew that we would enjoy our stay. The staff at the Hand-hotel made our visit seem like a home from home. We did try eating out at other restaurants in Llangollen, but found that the food at the Hand-hotel is one of the best value in town and reminded me of food cooked back at home. The Hand-hotel is an historical building and we were informed that some parts dated back to the 17th Century. Being an Americans we loved the history. You get imagine what the hotel felt like a hundred years ago. The hotel is still the focal part of the town and there is always something happening at the hotel, particularly at the weekends. We found the hotel very quirky and the locals at the bar made us feel very welcome, all of which adds to the charm of the Hand-hotel. My wife and I loved the hotel and found it very unique. However, it all depends on what you want. If you want an historic hotel to stay, with a home from home feeling and a place that is slightly quirky, than the hand-hotel is for you. However, if want somewhere with a box standard square-room with white painted walls, satellite TV and a clinical feel where nobody talks to you, than you are better staying at one of the chain hotels near the motorway. Like I said it all depends on what you want. Me and my wife will definitely be back at the Hand-hotel for more. Thanks a lot to Denise and the team!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river and with a view of the castle Dinas Bran. It amazing to wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0nest_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    132
    92
    36
    24
See reviews for
71
131
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I have been put here by a company I work for, for 12 days:(
Lets start, the room is tiny! There's a small window. I have no hot water ( ran for 20 min and got luke warm) The bed ia rock hard, the pillows are old! There's a hole about 10" in the celing and a 2' damp patch! I asked if it was possible to be moved and was refused! They said that all the rooms were the same!!!
So I'm in a not vert nice cell for the next 2 weeks!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpenny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llangollen hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel was VERY dated but the room was clean. Showering was dangerous as there was either scalding hot or ice cold, couldn't find a happy medium. Didn't enjoy the 5 flights of stairs with a 40 lb suitcase and a bad back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWeWillGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

last minute dash to llan cos we love it , usually book cottages but just for two nights thought we would try the Hand,have walked past it many times so had a good idea of what we would get.It was fine, clean ,warm, river view,staff lovely ,rustic and basic ,but nice

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel is in a good position for a visit to the area,If you are are a steam or canal buff you have it all here.with regard to the Hotel food the evening meal was excellent and on Fri & Sat evenings there is music in the Bar There is also a good choice for breakfast,
The staff are helpfull and polite and there is a large car park immediatly outside. The rooms are adequate but tired and in need of decoration but they are warm and there is plenty of hot water for your shower/bath.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my friend for one night We had a lovely comfortable twin room. Breakfast was delicious with everything prepared freshly for us I would not hesitate to recommend The Hand Hotel to family and friends

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Blondebombsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The room looked comfortable and inviting enough, but closer inspection revealed this to not be the case. Bathroom electrics wrapped in insulating tape was a potential killer. The bed was awfully hard and the room was cold. Food in the restaurant was deplorably bad. There is nothing complimentary which I can say!

Room Tip: Go stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
527 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand Hotel

Property: The Hand Hotel
Address: The Hand Hotel Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing above a beautiful stretch of the River Dee close to the centre of the pretty market town of Llangollen. The Hand Hotel with its stunning riverside garden, old world charm, ample free parking and home cooked food from our popular restaurant, is ideal for romance, for families, and groups, whether private or business, as well as for your wedding or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hand Hotel Llangollen
The Hand Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing