We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, 1st class service and atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gales Of Llangollen
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, 1st class service and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We live quite local to Llangollen and have visited Gales on quite a few separate occasions whether its a couple of quiet drinks at the bar or for dinner. Quality service, great food and superb atmosphere. A must visit! Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    87
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
157
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

14 of us visited whilst we were on a work excursion to Llangollen. Although the manager was unable to reserve a table for us, he was very accommodating.
Its always encouraging when you visit a restaurant and the person serving you is enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the menu (and the bar menu).
Portion size perhaps a little small, but to be fair the manager did warn us when he was going through the menu: And he also let us know about other dishes that were available 'off menu' (again another good sign in my book).
Minestrone soup was excellent, followed by chicken/herb mash and then 'Hokey Pokey' (which has been on the menu for 30 years). Great stuff. If I'm ever back in the area then I'll be sure to visit again....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank At0mSmasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Spent a nice long weekend here. The parking is chaotic but not insurmountable!! The food was good if a little small. The room had two double beds and although it overlooked the car park, was quiet.
The door to the outside was locked after a certain time in the evening and could only be opened with the key given with the room key so seemed secure enough.
Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This hotel is in a fab location and is great because it has free parking in the courtyard. We had a street side room (Room 1). It was definitely in need of some TLC but was overall clean and tidy so had no major complaints. We got a cheap deal (last minute booking) so was definitely worth the money. Funny smell in the bathroom during cooking periods downstairs.

Nice touch with the complimentary port!

Would stay here again if we managed to get it at the same price (£49 per room), although breakfast was a bit of a let down.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

On site parking was great. Period features in the rooms with a nice selection of complimentry drinks, including a tasting of a very nice port. Big TV, comfy bed in a larger than average room. Continental breakfast was also very good for the price and staff were excellent. There is a very nice looking restaurant that forms part of this B&B which we'll be looking to try out on our next stay.
The location of the B&B is also very good. Right in the centre of Llangollen (plenty of shops and a few things to do).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a trip with family in room 12 and had the spacious room to myself. Plenty of period features and furniture gave the place an authentic feel whilst a huge tele and free wifi provided mod cons (the wig cupboard at the side of the bed have me the creeps though) staff are very accommodating. First time staying in Llangollen and I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The real reason I go to Llan (the full name "Llangollen" is for non-locals and other know-nothings) is to attend the bi-annual party of the century thrown by my brother. This means I could probably lie down in the High Street at 5.00am and get up 5 hours later and pronounce it the most comfortable High Street in the world. No one would complain if I did that because you can do anything in Llan and no one minds (incuding dive-bombing off the bridge into the foaming waters of the River Dee 50 feet below. Health & Safety? You're having a laugh. But I dont sleep on the pavement, instead I hand over a trifling sum of money to stay at Gales. For £20 a head (yes, really, not a misprint) 4 of us stayed in room 3 and for this paltry sum we got an enormous, soaring, rustic-beamed, room full of comfortable beds with its own excellent little bathroom and a cooked breakfast the next morning. Theres even free parking in the medieval courtyard, and a wall at the back that will not collapse if you accidentally reverse into it while telling your passengers a funny story. I speak from experience. Book into Gales quickly before they realise their prices are ridiculous and put them up, or fail to realise this important fact and go bust.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
534 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Mulberry Inn
The Mulberry Inn
#1 of 26 in Llangollen
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cornerstones Guesthouse
Cornerstones Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Llangollen
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gales Of Llangollen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gales Of Llangollen

Property: Gales Of Llangollen
Address: 18 Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gales Of Llangollen 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gales Of Llangollen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gales Hotel Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing