We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back in Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gales Of Llangollen
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Step Back in Time”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My Girlfriend & I had amazing time staying at Gales. the bed was so comfy we didnt want to get up. We stayed in Flat 12, just at the top of the stairs, expected it to be nosier but was reasonably quiet. The rooms are full of character with exposed timber beams, the only thing that i found strange was the large 42" plazma on the wall :).

Gales is located a stones throw away from the river dee, and the staff are SO friendly!

All in all 5* and as Arnie say's "I'll be back!"

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    86
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
157
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed for four night in Cottage 21 owned by the hotel just up the street. These are bright, clean, spacious apartments with a patio on the riverbank. A few things were missing when we arrived but all was put right within an hour. This is a quiet street and great for a night's sleep. The kitchen is well equipped though we only used it as a bar. The breakfast at the hotel was very good though limited in choices. All staff smiled and served us well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We only stayed one night but liked it a lot. A quirky place with uneven floors and doors but
full of character. Comfortable and clean. We were above the wine bar and there was music playing until about midnight but it was tuneful not too loud and did not disturb us.
Breakfast was good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneyvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
539 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The hotel is in a very old building in the centre of town (17th century). This shows in a lot of nooks and crannies, steep stairs (no elevator) and wooden beams. We love history so that was great, but this means that the standard cannot be fully modern. The bathroom had a strange layout (mind your head) but otherwise the room was perfect, very large with two big comfortable beds. Service was very personable and the food in the restaurant had a high class. They have Leffe beer which is a welcome change from the normal weak ale. Parking in the courtyard is cramped so a small car is a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ugurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brewood, staffs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Hubby and I have just returned from a lovely mini break at Gales (one night only for my birthday treat). Its location in LLangollen was perfect with free on-site parking at the rear of the hotel. Arriving on a snowy March afternoon we were greeted with a very warm welcome and a complimentary glass of port in our room. The room was comfortably furnished with old style furniture and was generally clean and tidy.
We chose to eat at the Hotel’s restaurant in the evening and enjoyed a delicious lamb rump; cooked to perfection and accompanied with a tasty red wine, from the vast selection on offer. Our host was most helpful and friendly, offering good advice and suggestions on the various dishes available.
During the night the snow got worse and we woke to find Llangollen “cut-off” from the outside world. We had no power, therefore no radio / TV, no signal on our mobiles and no digital access. But we could smell the bacon cooking and headed downstairs to find the restaurant lit with candles and a roaring log fire – perfection itself. Luckily the kitchen was open for business and we enjoyed a very tasty cooked breakfast with lots of tea and toast. We obviously discussed the weather and our concerns about getting home. Again our host was so helpful offering to either dig us out or put us up for another night.
The road conditions were not good at all (almost 2 foot of snow in parts) but after some deliberation we decided to try and head home. A big THANKS (and big kiss from me x!) to all you guys who helped dig us out of the car park, pushing us on to the road and then a bit further on at the end of the lane. We wouldn’t have managed without your help and we arrived home safe and well.
Overall – brilliant location, comfy rooms, fabulous meals, great host and guests and the weather – well what do you expect in March?!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joanna and paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We live quite local to Llangollen and have visited Gales on quite a few separate occasions whether its a couple of quiet drinks at the bar or for dinner. Quality service, great food and superb atmosphere. A must visit! Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

14 of us visited whilst we were on a work excursion to Llangollen. Although the manager was unable to reserve a table for us, he was very accommodating.
Its always encouraging when you visit a restaurant and the person serving you is enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the menu (and the bar menu).
Portion size perhaps a little small, but to be fair the manager did warn us when he was going through the menu: And he also let us know about other dishes that were available 'off menu' (again another good sign in my book).
Minestrone soup was excellent, followed by chicken/herb mash and then 'Hokey Pokey' (which has been on the menu for 30 years). Great stuff. If I'm ever back in the area then I'll be sure to visit again....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank At0mSmasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
382 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
527 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gales Of Llangollen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gales Of Llangollen

Property: Gales Of Llangollen
Address: 18 Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gales Of Llangollen 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gales Of Llangollen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gales Hotel Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing