We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK'ish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gales Of Llangollen
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK'ish”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just spent last Saturday night at Gales, first impressions were good and it is quirky hotel. We were allocated Room 11 at the top overlooking the car park. Nice big room with a very comfy double and one single bed. Bathroom tiny and you can just about turn around in a very small shower cubicle. Shower gel dispenser in the shower and soap dispenser by the sink not refilled and very difficult to operate. It was a beautiful day and the sun was pouring through the window so we decided to shut the big heavy curtain. Within a minute the rail came crashing down from above the window pulling the very tiny fixings straight from the wall. We immediately reported it and went out. We got back to our room quite late to be very disappointed as we found the curtains were still lying on the floor. No note of apology, nothing. I pulled down the sash window down and made a makeshift job of making our room private. however with the window open we had to suffer the noise from rowdy people at the back of the hotel until well after 2am. Once it went quiet we had a reasonable night. We woke up to a glorious Sunday and we were looking forward to breakfast. However to our dismay there was a little notice on all of the tables stating if you wish to have a cooked breakfast it was £5 extra. Maybe we overlooked it during the booking process but it was not very clear that it was bed and continental breakfast. The continental breakfast selection did not look up to much but the cooked breakfast was excellent. Then we checked out and listened to a chaps views about using booking sites and how much money they make and if we had booked directly we could have had a free bottle of wine with an evening meal. Right we thought now is the time to remind the hotel of our curtain issue. The chap seemed unaware we had reported the issue the evening before and offered a lukewarm apology, and no more.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 2RichW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    84
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
153
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend the hotel having just visited this weekend. Rooms well equipped for a budget weekend trip and the wine bar and shop well stocked. It was a real pleasure to stay somewhere with good friendly service and a bit of character for a change! Breakfast very good too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peepo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Four of us stayed here for a couple of nights while walking Offa's Dyke path. It's a good place.

Our bedroom was large and very comfortable. The wine bar is informal and fun. A good selection of wine (sadly no draught beer - but it is a wine bar) and some very good food. Good stuff to share for starters and good main courses. The staff were friendly, and it has a great atmosphere. I'm not sure you can book a table, but if you get there reasonably early you should be OK - we were.
They even left a decanter of port in the bedroom - nice touch.
Breakfast was good too.
Car park is a bit of a squeeze.
All in all well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave-and-Pats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We picked this place for a 3 night stay as the reviews were generally good and we like quaint and quirky places to stay. We particularly wanted a room with a bath, so I rang up for advice and settled on rom 16. We were a bit surprised on arrival to find access to the room blocked by boxes, but that was soon sorted. The room was nicely presented, though rather smaller than it had looked in the very clever wide-angle shot on the website. So we had to move an armchair to access the wardrobe - not a major problem. We would also have preferred a 5' bed rather than a standard double plus a single. The bathroom, in contrast, was disappointing. The silicone round the bath was black with mould and the tiling grout in places was not much better. As for toiletries, We appreciate that these are an extra expense for the hotelier, but in a place like this we did expect more than a soap dispenser that was difficult to use, and a shower gel dispenser. However, we were determined to enjoy our stay and that night we had a lovely meal in the wine bar, with a superb wine and friendly service from Pip Gale and the rest of the team. We enjoyed it so much that we changed our plans and ate there again on our second night. The meal was pretty good, though some dishes were less good than the previous night. We were quite happy until we went up to the bar to choose a malt whisky to finish the night off. We were discussing options with the very pleasant barman when the proprietor, Richard Gale, butted in and was gratuitously rude. we had had no previous interaction with him, other than his complimenting my husband on his wine choice, so this came out of the blue. We were too stunned to respond in the way we later wished we had, and attempted to carry on as though nothing had happened. Unfortunately, Richard was again rude and disparaging. We noted that he did not bother to acknowledge other guests who said goodbye as they were leaving, and ignored us as we left. We did not get the opportunity to raise this with him later without other people being present, so we let it go, but it soured our whole experience. We understand from discreet conversations elsewhere that this behaviour has happened before. At the following two breakfasts (OK, but nothing special) Richard was playing the charming host, but we were too annoyed to respond. Such a shame, as the place has a lot going for it, despite needing a bit of attention in certain areas. We won't be back as we don't pay to be insulted.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alec G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here after reading good reviews. On arrival we were given a room on the first floor overlooking the road room no 1, The room was nicely furnished and immaculate ( very squeaky bed) but the street in front looked like it was going to be noisy with a Chinese restaurant and 3 bars in close vicinity. I asked to change rooms and the lady at reception was very accommodating and reeled through all the available rooms, she handed us 3 keys and sent us to choose our own! we chose room no 6, a beautifuly decorated and furnished room at the back of the building, we had a perfect nights sleep on a very comfortable bed. The rooms sit above a lovely wine bar and old fashioned wine shop. I highly recommend this stylish quirky hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room if you want peace and quiet,all rooms are decorated stylishly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie5164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Having read the reviews for Gales we recently opted to stay there for one night and unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations. Yes the building is old and as such you expect quirkiness buy do not expect a low level of cleanliness (cobwebs hanging from the ceiling) and decor (black marks on wallpaper and paintwork). This was added to by a shower which was difficult to regulate and a television that had sound but no picture. This was reported but not sorted out.
The breakfast was good but felt that overall we didn't receive value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mgtstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked online to stay here for the weekend......we got a £99 for 2 deal.
The room was delightfully quaint and quirky..none of the 'cheap and cheerful' decor..it was lovely,,a big old fashioned wooden bed and furniture and a lovely arm chair and writing desk to lift it from a 'bedroom'
The en suite was 'snug' but practical.
The owners and the staff were delightful,,the food in the Wine Bar was delicious as were the breakfasts,,in fact,,the cooked breakfast was massive and at only £5 it was a steal
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'top room' to avoid noisy guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gales Of Llangollen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gales Of Llangollen

Property: Gales Of Llangollen
Address: 18 Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gales Of Llangollen 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gales Of Llangollen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gales Hotel Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing