We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.....”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect.....”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed for one night with my partner - only booked this hotel because couldn't get in to hotel we had wanted - so glad we didn't. Friendly welcome from gentleman on reception, room and bathroom were both immaculately clean. We arrived relatively late in the evening and whilst the radiator in the room was not on (I suspect the heating is on a timer)....... was really impressed that when we entered the room someone had been in and turned on the fan heater to warm the room up - a thoughtful and very welcome "touch". Sometimes it's the little things that are more impressive than the grand gestures. Cannot fault this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the river - lovely outlook but as the weather has been quite stormy and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    168
    106
    47
    32
See reviews for
55
243
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We really enjoyed staying here! The position is fabulous, our room overlooked the river. The room was very spacious with both a bath and a shower, 2 windows, a desk, table and chair, plenty of tea and coffee and biscuits. The bed was comfy (although I would prefer a duvet to blankets) and there was a spare eiderdown in the wardrobe if we needed it - which we didn't!
Breakfast was good and plentiful and eaten overlooking the river.
Yes the floors were creaky and there was a definite slope to our floor but to us that added to the charm! It is an old hotel with character! And all for £59! I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We were in 204 which was quiet and as we were at the top, we didn't suffer creaky floors above u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

What a shame! Fantastic position, on the river. But the hotel is awful. We paid for a premier room. If that was premier I would hate to see the standard rooms. Lumpy bed, blankets no quilt, no light at bedside, phone not working, insufficient heating, toilet seat too small for toilet, no toilet brush and to top it all the breakfast was inedible... no menu, just served up a pre- cooked awful breakfast.
Some positives: location, hot water, good pillows, staff gave us an extra heater.
Would not visit again or recommend.
Shame a chain didnt buy it up and run it properly. Even Premier Inn is better quality and cheaper.

Room Tip: Lovely views of river from premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ances2rsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llangollen hotels

Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel is right by the bridge over the river in the centre of Llangollen and has great views. It is old and a bit creaky but comfortable enough. The car park is about 50 metres away and very busy at times although we always managed to find a space. The room was OK with a decent ensuite. Because there was no double glazing the windows ran with water at times and there was quite a lot of road and nearby church bell noise early in the mornings. The hotel had no lift but the stairs were fairly easy to manage. The staff were friendly and helpful and we had a fresh supply of biscuits in the room each day! Breakfasts were very good. Overall, mainly because of the location, we would stay there again but maybe would ask for a room away from the road.

Room Tip: A room not overlooking the road might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Booked with little notice and got a twin room at the top of the hotel. The floors are creaky and odd but this is old hotel and to be expected. The water pressure was not as good as I would have liked but it was sufficient. The staff were friendly and helpful. The included breakfast in the morning was very good and I could sit at a window overlooking the bridge and falls. I thought this hotel represented good value for money despite the somewhat older décor.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel. The room was comfortable and large with a stunning location and the staff were very friendly but that is about the only positive. The hotel smelt musty, thread bare carpet and the separate car park located 50 metres away was disgraceful , rubbish everywhere and had not been cleaned for months. The response from the proprietor was very casual. Our room was on the corner of the main street and we suffered the noise from drunks returning from the pubs. It needs a major makeover. We checked out at 9am and the staff had to find the proprietor, I think he was still in bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side away from the noisy main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A smashing Hotel right in the middle of Llangollen, next to the river, across the road from the preserved steam railway; the horse drawn and power barges on the canal and right in the middle of beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.2 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 7 Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing