We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run the other way!”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Katy, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Run the other way!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at the Royal Hotel in late June of this year. The place is a d.u.m.p. The beds are horrible and the food and restaurant were pitiful. Hair in the food and floating "particles" in the water. Notice the only photos are outdoors??? They can't show the inside. Old and tired and just plain worn out.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room facing the church across the street. Be advised the church bells toll every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shhgrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    169
    106
    47
    32
See reviews for
56
243
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Romiley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for one night in this really nice hotel. Friendly staff, fabulous breakfast served by attentive waiters. There's a private car park for the hotel across the road. We stayed in room 116 overlooking the river, clean, spacious room and large comfy bed. No complaints at all and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

On arrival we were made very welcome, booking in was simple and access to the car park directions given. car park very close by. Our room was in keeping with the regency style of the overall hotel, Staff were friendly with a gentle quietness that allows for that home from home feeling to be absorbed in the peaceful settings overlooking the river Dee. We were asked if we needed any assistance with bags or familiarity to the area. We arrived as quests and left as friends, a very happy stay we would definitely recommend a visit. Close to local attractions and public nature park.
The dinning area is beautiful clean spacious and regency in style, breakfast is excellent and I would recommend the full English, items like eggs done to order. This Hotel would be great as a stop off during travelling or as a longer holiday stay. Thank you to Ramez and his staff.

Room Tip: Room 109 overlooks the river, it is warm and comfortable with a sunny outlook over the village, larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley-anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Positives. Central location, Good Breakfast, Fairly tidy rooms. good for short stay - 2-3 days.
However for longer I would be looking for something more.
Negatives, Hotel is under-invested in terms of staff and Décoration, indeed it was a job to find staff on occasions,and does need a makeover in certain areas there was a run down feel about the hotel which is not illustrated in the images available.

Not a fault of the hotel - but that bloody town clock!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charismafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I staid here overnight in June, and left feeling quite mixed. The place is clean enough, and has a nice view of the river.

The main problem is that the place feels old. It seems like something that hasn't had a new carpet or any work done since the 70s!

The breakfast was mediocre at best, but sufficient.

What I will say though is that the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, so I thank them for that.

I wouldn't want to stay for more than a night or two though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LR16017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is good for short stays. It has some positives, and negatives.

Positives

Bed was comfortable

View of River Dee was Spectacular

Location is central


Negatives or Improvements

The Room Keys, shouldn't be keys. It would be better if keycards were used.

One of the windows in my room didn't shut all the way, to me it wasn't a big issue but to those who have sleeping problems it might be

Amount of steps. Its not for those who are physically disabled/handicapped.

Other Comments

When I first walked into the wing of the hotel where my room was I felt like I was walking into a scene from the Shining. It gives off that sort of feeling.

Water Pressure in the shower wasn't wonderful

Ask for a room on the River Side (its quieter)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view not a street side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveH1797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Oh how this could be special, but it's not now. On arrival there was confusion about our booking. We couldn't have breakfast when we wanted as the American coach party had been given priority over other guests, we had to wait outside the dining room. The breakfast team were understaffed and the breakfast was poor. The room was adequate given the price point, no porter, no lift, dragged up luggage to second floor. Lovely views of the river. Oh what might have been.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Canny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llangollen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.2 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 7 Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing