We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Quays(Weston Rhyn)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
115
193
123
55
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
193
123
55
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the riverturret suitequeen victorialovely old hotelbit datedthe hotel car parkold buildinghigh streetdouble roomfull englishgood sizebreakfast was excellentstaff were pleasanttop floorwould stay againpiping hotriver dee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
511 - 516 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I don't think it's fair to expect The Ritz in a small village in rural Wales, however I do think that certain standards should be met.
The reception staff were very accommodating and welcoming, and the overall atmosphere was very pleasant. My partner and I stayed in room 106 and we found this to be ideal. Yes it was a little cool in the evenings and first thing in the morning, and the water pressure wasn't fantastic, but the room was nicely presented, with a very comfortable bed, and ample storage space. The TV reception wasn't what you would get a home, but then again you don't really go away to sit in your hotel room and watch TV.
The breakfast was good, and a small, but pleasant selection was offered. We weren't rushed at all and the view over the river from the breakfast room/restaurant was beautiful.
The cleaners could do with paying a little more attention in the rooms, but overall we enjoed out stay at The Royal, and would return on future trips to Llangollen.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lem333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The weekend was for my husband for his 60th birthday and we wanted somewhere special and I don’t think we found it in the Royal Hotel. The room (204) has lovely views over the river and town and was almost worth the climb up several steep stairs. However, the carpets are threadbare and smelt musty and the bathroom really needs updating and when I turned the light on it fused all the others in the room! This was fixed quickly and as we liked the room did not feel inclined to move to another, which in hindsight we should have done. Because the next morning we found that there was no hot water coming out of the inadequate shower but not until one of us was under it! This time we did move to room 203 which had great same great views and from reading previous reviews I see that room 204 has had this problem for a long time. On the plus side the breakfasts were very good and the staff helpful and friendly and, due the age of the building, the floors are not that level and creak which adds to the charm of the place. The public areas are in reasonable decorative order with a large deck overlooking the river but the upper floors with threadbare carpets etc certainly are not. We enjoyed our time in Wales and will go back again but will not be staying in the Royal next time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wakefieldwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We had a long weekend at The Royal in Llangollen in room 201. The room was lovely, much better than we were expecting. It's not modern and the floor creaked a bit, but we had a beautiful view over the river and bridge. There was some noise from the town traffic/people, but the sound of the river meant it wasn't too loud. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the cooked breakfasts were massive - there was no danger of going hungry!

My only complaint about the room would be the mattress on the double bed. I have a bad back and thought the mattress could do with replacing; it did mean I was very achey in the morning.

We went away for a relaxing weekend, and that's just what we got.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Real_Mavis_Crewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Stayed for 2 nights on a 5oth Birthday trip with a group of 10 men.
The room(104) although a decent size with twin beds was dirty. One quilt had a burn mark on it. The room was freezing as where all the others. We ended up going on a raiding party for an electric heater.
Bathroom was small, poor water pressure from the shower and the heated towel rail did not work.
None of the satff were British but I have to say were ok to get on with.
Best part was the full breakfast we had on the two mornings.
Unless you are desperate keep away, location was central but we overlooked a road junction. Other rooms had better views over the river.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelgrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

got in llangollen midday and we were lucky to check in before 2pm. did agree with other reviews, the carpets smelled musty along the hallway. i liked our room, it had a nice view of the river and town centre. we noticed it was cold, but thinking probably the heating was not on yet because we just checked in. we went out for a walk and came back to our room late afternoon to put our feet up, before we go out for our evening meal. the room was freezing, the windows were single glazed. we went out early and when we went to reception to ask about the heating, we were told it will be on at 6pm. we came back to the hotel later on and we had heating on in our room. the next day, the heating was already off by 8AM. disgraceful when it's still winter. noticed too, our room was not clean, we can see crumbs everywhere on the carpet. the bathroom was clean except that it was a nightmare to have a shower. you have to hold the shower on your one hand bec. the holder was broken and while the other hand holding the knob to keep the shower running. the hotel was just okay if you are just staying for one night.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkerbell0977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews