We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worthwhile”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangollen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Squirrels Guest House
Ranked #12 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A lovely clean and warm room, close to the town centre. We were made very welcome and felt like valued customers. Breakfast was just what the doctor ordered. We would definitely use this guest house again, and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

Thanks to other peoples reviews on trip advisor we chose to stay here on our short break to Llangollen. Lilian and Peter run a lovely B & B that cannot be faulted.
The lovely victorian villa is close to the town centre so you can leave your car there and walk to all the attractions. Great when you go out at night to eat, no need to worry about driving back after a glass of wine! The horse drawn canal boats are just behind the house and the scenic railway just in front.
The room we stayed in was Squirrels gallery, right up on the top floor at the front of the house. A nice big room with a view over the hills. Big enough for a sofa and a chair as well as a large desk with the TV on and the tea making tray. The en-suite shower room was bright and had lots of space. Everywhere was impecably clean. Well done to the housekeeper.
Peter's breakfast was perfection - 10/10 and cooked to order. Lovely fruit salad available to start with too.
Very nice guest lounge available which we made full use of with a big TV, so we could watch the international football. Lovely comfy leather reclining sofas. Free wifi too so you can check out the best places to eat and visit on trip advisor whilst your there.
We would happily recommend this B & B to friends and family and will stay again if we visit soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CWilliams236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Warm welcome, a great location - just 2/3 minutes walk into town but in a lovely quiet area, spotless rooms and an excellent cooked breakfast.... What more do you want?
Would definitely recommend and will use again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dellyjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

It started with a warm welcome, followed closely by an exceptional bedroom and finally, the following morning, concluded with a breakfast which could only be described as 5 star.
A little jem of a guest house. We will return

Room Tip: All the rooms are extremely well presented, spotlessly clean and well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gpbirks35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Squirrels is one of those special places - a real find! Best B&B I've ever stayed in and we will be back. My three girls and I had a fantastic stay here and were made to feel so very welcome by the lovely Mrs Speake. The rooms are spacious and immaculate, TVs with DVD player (and free DVD library if required), the full Welsh breakfast was perfectly cooked by Mr Speake, and I genuinely can't fault a single thing, frankly. So worth a visit for the breakfast alone! A truly lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: They are all lovely but the top floor suited three girls and myself beautifully!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have stayed at this lovely Guest House for several years in Eisteddfod Week and always found the hospitality to be second to none.
The breakfasts are out of this world and the beds are lovely and confortable and always hot water available and somewhere to dry our clothes if it is wet.
It is a credit to the owners Lilian and Peter. Looking forward to our stay again this July.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dumpyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

everything was perfect the room the food the location nothing was to much trouble ,this must be the best b&b in llangollen if not all of wales

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
422 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mulberry Inn
The Mulberry Inn
#1 of 26 in Llangollen
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cornerstones Guesthouse
Cornerstones Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Llangollen
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squirrels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squirrels Guest House

Address: Squirrels Abbey Road, Llangollen LL20 8SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Squirrels Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Squirrels Guest House Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing