We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANKS TO TRIP ADVISOR FOR ITS GREAT REVIEWS ON THE SQUIRRELS GUEST HOUSE EXCELLENT EASTER BREAK”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangollen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Squirrels Guest House
Ranked #10 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“THANKS TO TRIP ADVISOR FOR ITS GREAT REVIEWS ON THE SQUIRRELS GUEST HOUSE EXCELLENT EASTER BREAK”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

I picked this guest house from the great reviews from trip advisor and can only agree with what has all ready been written. Friendly and comfortable. We had 3 very good nights sleep and the bedroom was lovely and warm we stayed in bedroom 1 as the weather had been cold and still very heavy snow in Llangollen. Free wifi was also provided . A lovely breakfast cooked to perfection and nice extras provided the bowls of fresh fruit a nice touch.
Everywhere was very clean and everything was to a high standard . Good car parking and situated close to the town everything was with in walking distance canal steam railway and restaurants. Feel like I have had a lovely relaxing break. Especially as they had such bad weather in this part of the country and we had seen photographs in the national newspapers of the heavy snow. We checked before that all the roads were clear and so glad we didn't cancel this trip. Thank you for looking after us.
I would stay here again and would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    13
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Lovely house, tastefully decorated with attractive antique furniture (not cluttered). Dining room is bistro style and very effective. Breakfast good especially the bacon. Room cosy and clean-as is the rest of the house. Their own car park and a guest lounge. Everything you need and to a high standard. Friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smiler1Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A lovely clean and warm room, close to the town centre. We were made very welcome and felt like valued customers. Breakfast was just what the doctor ordered. We would definitely use this guest house again, and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Thanks to other peoples reviews on trip advisor we chose to stay here on our short break to Llangollen. Lilian and Peter run a lovely B & B that cannot be faulted.
The lovely victorian villa is close to the town centre so you can leave your car there and walk to all the attractions. Great when you go out at night to eat, no need to worry about driving back after a glass of wine! The horse drawn canal boats are just behind the house and the scenic railway just in front.
The room we stayed in was Squirrels gallery, right up on the top floor at the front of the house. A nice big room with a view over the hills. Big enough for a sofa and a chair as well as a large desk with the TV on and the tea making tray. The en-suite shower room was bright and had lots of space. Everywhere was impecably clean. Well done to the housekeeper.
Peter's breakfast was perfection - 10/10 and cooked to order. Lovely fruit salad available to start with too.
Very nice guest lounge available which we made full use of with a big TV, so we could watch the international football. Lovely comfy leather reclining sofas. Free wifi too so you can check out the best places to eat and visit on trip advisor whilst your there.
We would happily recommend this B & B to friends and family and will stay again if we visit soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CWilliams236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Warm welcome, a great location - just 2/3 minutes walk into town but in a lovely quiet area, spotless rooms and an excellent cooked breakfast.... What more do you want?
Would definitely recommend and will use again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dellyjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

It started with a warm welcome, followed closely by an exceptional bedroom and finally, the following morning, concluded with a breakfast which could only be described as 5 star.
A little jem of a guest house. We will return

Room Tip: All the rooms are extremely well presented, spotlessly clean and well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gpbirks35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Squirrels is one of those special places - a real find! Best B&B I've ever stayed in and we will be back. My three girls and I had a fantastic stay here and were made to feel so very welcome by the lovely Mrs Speake. The rooms are spacious and immaculate, TVs with DVD player (and free DVD library if required), the full Welsh breakfast was perfectly cooked by Mr Speake, and I genuinely can't fault a single thing, frankly. So worth a visit for the breakfast alone! A truly lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: They are all lovely but the top floor suited three girls and myself beautifully!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.2 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms
0.6 mi away
Cornerstones Guesthouse
Cornerstones Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Llangollen
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squirrels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squirrels Guest House

Property: Squirrels Guest House
Address: Squirrels Abbey Road, Llangollen LL20 8SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Squirrels Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Squirrels Guest House Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing